Less screen and more walking to improve memory

Summer is here and the heat seems to hit people to the sofa. The high temperatures outside and the coolness that is at home make the desire of many children to stay at home with their phones, playing video games or watching a series on television. In short, spend their time stuck a screen and do not invest this time of leisure in other activities.

A practice not recommended, not only for health problems resulting from sedentary lifestyle such as overweight or obesity. But because as explained by University of Michigan, staying home is not a good thing for memory. On the other hand, walking in a natural and open environment does favor the development of this intellectual capacity.


Benefits of open space

The researchers of this work had the participants perform a task during 35 minutes which included the repetition of random numbers that should be retransmitted to the experimenter. After this special cognitive work they had to take a walk. One of the groups around a space full of trees and the other on a street in the city. Upon his return, the subjects repeated the memory test.

The results showed that the performance of the people in the test improved almost 20% after wandering among the trees. On the contrary, the subjects who did the same in a busy street did not improve their memory results in this test. In a second part of this investigation it was demonstrated that the mere exposure of individuals to images of natural environments already helped to improve their cognitive abilities.


A test that shows that it is always better to manage in a natural environment than to stay at home surrounded by 4 walls, not only because of the dangers involved in sedentary lifestyle, but because of the benefits it has for the memory of those who practice them. A good excuse to put on the right shoes and go to the open spaces to spend the day.

Tips for field trip

Determined to go to the field of excursion? Well, but remember that all activity requires its preparation and this is no less. Here are some tips to spend a great family day in this natural environment:

1. Appropriate footwear and clothing. Wear transpire T-shirts and comfortable shoes for long walks is essential for activities such as hiking. Never forget that although it is not an exercise like going for a run, it is a physical activity.


2. Sunscreen. Even if you are on the beach, you are going to spend hours under the Astro Rey during which burns may occur if the proper measures are not taken. Always carry cream factor that best suits the tone of your skin.

3. A map indicating the route you are going to follow. It never hurts to know where you are treading and what direction you should take. In this sense it is also recommended to carry the mobile phone in case you need to make an emergency call at some point.

4. Hydration. Do not forget that we are in summer and that a physical activity is being carried out. For this reason water should always be present to stay hydrated, especially if you are going with children.

5. Mosquito repellents since these are very present in this environment. Especially in areas near streams and rivers. So as not to return with bites to the house, having these lotions against small suckers is essential.

Damián Montero

Video: 10 STEPS TO IMPROVE YOUR MEMORY - Jim Kwik | London Real


Interesting Articles

How to extract and preserve breast milk

How to extract and preserve breast milk

There are various reasons that can lead a mother to require Take your own milk to give to your baby through the bottle. This decision, whether taken by first-time mothers or already experienced,...

We have couple problems, why are they slow to solve?

We have couple problems, why are they slow to solve?

When the problems of coexistence appear in the first years of marriage, we have two possibilities. The first and natural is usually to be scared, to despair, to think that everything will go badly...

Positive rebellion

Positive rebellion

Recently I heard a mother and friend encouraging us to another group of mothers to question everything. He assured that those people who do not look for the whys of life, of their beliefs, of the...

Weniger Bildschirm und mehr Gehen, um das Gedächtnis zu verbessern

Der Sommer ist da und die Hitze scheint die Leute auf das Sofa zu schlagen. Die hohen Außentemperaturen und die Kühle, die zu Hause herrscht, veranlassen viele Kinder dazu, mit ihren Telefonen zu Hause zu bleiben, Videospiele zu spielen oder eine Serie im Fernsehen anzusehen. Kurz gesagt, verbringe ihre Zeit mit einem Bildschirm und stecke diese Zeit nicht in andere Aktivitäten.

Eine Praxis, die nicht empfohlen wird, nicht nur für Gesundheitsprobleme, die durch sitzende Lebensweise wie Übergewicht oder Fettleibigkeit entstehen. Aber weil wie erklärt von Universität von MichiganZuhause zu bleiben ist keine gute Sache für Gedächtnis. Auf der anderen Seite begünstigt das Gehen in einer natürlichen und offenen Umgebung die Entwicklung dieser intellektuellen Kapazität.


Vorteile von Freiflächen

Die Forscher dieser Arbeit ließen die Teilnehmer eine Aufgabe ausführen 35 Minuten Dazu gehörte die Wiederholung von Zufallszahlen, die erneut an den Experimentator übermittelt werden sollten. Nach dieser besonderen kognitiven Arbeit mussten sie einen Spaziergang machen. Eine der Gruppen um einen Platz voller Bäume und die andere auf einer Straße in der Stadt. Bei seiner Rückkehr wiederholten die Probanden den Gedächtnistest.

Die Ergebnisse zeigten, dass sich die Leistung der Testpersonen nahezu verbesserte 20% nach dem Wandern zwischen den Bäumen. Im Gegenteil, die Probanden, die in einer belebten Straße das Gleiche taten, verbesserten ihre Erinnerungsergebnisse in diesem Test nicht. In einem zweiten Teil dieser Untersuchung wurde gezeigt, dass die bloße Exposition von Individuen mit Bildern der natürlichen Umwelt bereits zur Verbesserung ihrer kognitiven Fähigkeiten beigetragen hat.


Ein Test, der zeigt, dass es immer besser ist, sich in einer natürlichen Umgebung zurechtzufinden, als sich von vier Mauern umgeben zu Hause zu halten, nicht nur wegen der Gefahren, die ein sitzender Lebensstil mit sich bringt, sondern auch wegen der Vorteile, die dies bringt Gedächtnis von denen, die sie praktizieren. Eine gute Ausrede, die richtigen Schuhe anzuziehen und in die freien Räume zu gehen, um den Tag zu verbringen.

Tipps für die Exkursion

Entschlossen, zum Feld von zu gehen Ausflug? Nun, aber denken Sie daran, dass jede Aktivität seine Vorbereitung erfordert und dies ist nicht weniger. Hier sind einige Tipps, um einen schönen Familientag in dieser natürlichen Umgebung zu verbringen:

1. Angemessene Schuhe und Kleidung. Das Tragen von Transpire-T-Shirts und bequemen Schuhen für lange Spaziergänge ist für Aktivitäten wie Wandern unerlässlich. Vergessen Sie nie, dass es sich nicht um eine Übung wie einen Lauf handelt, sondern um eine körperliche Aktivität.


2. Sonnencreme. Selbst wenn Sie am Strand sind, werden Sie Stunden unter dem Astro Rey verbringen, wobei Verbrennungen auftreten können, wenn die entsprechenden Maßnahmen nicht getroffen werden. Tragen Sie immer einen Cremefaktor, der am besten zu Ihrer Hautfarbe passt.

3. Eine Karte mit der Route, der Sie folgen werden. Es schmerzt nie, zu wissen, wohin Sie gehen und in welche Richtung Sie gehen sollen. In diesem Sinne ist es auch empfehlenswert, das Mobiltelefon bei sich zu tragen, falls Sie einmal einen Notruf tätigen müssen.

4. Hydratation Vergessen Sie nicht, dass wir im Sommer sind und eine körperliche Aktivität ausgeführt wird. Aus diesem Grund sollte immer Wasser vorhanden sein, um hydratisiert zu bleiben, insbesondere wenn Sie mit Kindern reisen.

5. Moskitoabwehrmittel, da diese in dieser Umgebung sehr präsent sind. Besonders in Bereichen in der Nähe von Bächen und Flüssen. Um nicht mit Bissen ins Haus zurückzukehren, ist es wichtig, diese Lotionen gegen kleine Sauger zu haben.

Damián Montero

Video: Besser Schlafen in 6 Minuten


Interessante Artikel

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Die Depression Es ist eine der schlimmsten Situationen, die eine Person durchmachen kann. Ein ständiges Gefühl der Traurigkeit, das scheinbar kein Ende zu haben scheint und diejenigen, die diese...

Zehn häufige Fehler der Eltern

Zehn häufige Fehler der Eltern

Die Ausbildung der Kinder ist voll von Unsicherheit und nicht wenigen Ängsten bei den Eltern. Mache ich es richtig, benutze ich die richtige Methode, werde ich zu weich? Psychologen und Pädagogen...