Shareting, when parents do not understand the limits of the internet

That a father feels proud of his son is normal. What doubt fits the feeling What can cause the achievements of these people who were educated at the time? Before, it was usual that when one parent met another in the supermarket queue, both shared the exploits of their children.

However, with the passage of time this action has evolved. Now, the arrival of new technologies and social networks this pride is sometimes shown through photos and publications on these platforms. A content that practically makes the children's lives exposed on the internet by skipping the recommended limits in the web world.


Digital identity

This situation is defined as shareting, a term that combines "share" and "parenting" (parenting). This word refers to how many parents show through social networks the process of raising their offspring. This ends up causing the smallest of the house to have created a digital identity before they can even manage these platforms.

Journalist Nancy Jo Sales states in her book 'American Girls: Social Media and the Secret Life of Teenagers'that currently 92% of minors in the United States have an identity created in social networks. This lack of privacy means that since the birth of the children several hundred photos of them have already been published. It is curious that when one of these little ones learns to manage these technologies, it is already present in them without their consent.


The problem is that many parents are unaware of the impact that a photograph published on the Internet can have, which does not stay in these pages, but in a matter of seconds you can end up at the other end of the world. It is worth remembering the dimensions of the web world and the dangers of skipping privacy.

The feeling of "like"

Stacey B. Steinberg, professor of the Faculty of Law at the University of Florida, has also addressed this issue in one of her studies. In this work he has deepened in the reasons that lead parents to share all this information of their children in social networks. Of all the causes, the one that stands out the most is the feeling of receiving a positive comment from other parents.

This feeling after receiving a "like"by another person is what makes an adult feel in the power to continue making these publications forgetting the possible dangers of this situation:


"Cyberspace offers many positive feelings to the parents. When they comment on their children, they receive positive responses and this makes them feel supported. But this takes to the extreme of feeding the ego and exhibitionism can be a risk that distorts reality and makes it difficult to think beyond oneself, including the protection of one's own child, "explains Professor Steinberg.

Therefore parents are reminded of the need to keep privacy in social networks and in the web world. Especially it is recommended not to publish any photo of your children on these platforms while your children are underage, and if these are over 18 years old, there must always be a prior consent to the approval.

Damián Montero

Video: Are you a sharenter?


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Shareting, wenn Eltern die Grenzen des Internets nicht verstehen

Dass ein Vater stolz auf seinen Sohn ist, ist normal. Welcher Zweifel passt das Gefühl Was kann die Leistungen dieser Menschen bewirken, die zu dieser Zeit ausgebildet wurden? Früher war es üblich, dass, wenn ein Elternteil einen anderen in der Warteschlange des Supermarkts traf, beide die Taten ihrer Kinder teilten.

Im Laufe der Zeit hat diese Aktion jedoch zugenommen entwickelt. Das Aufkommen neuer Technologien und sozialer Netzwerke zeigt diesen Stolz manchmal durch Fotos und Veröffentlichungen auf diesen Plattformen. Ein Inhalt, der das Leben der Kinder praktisch im Internet sichtbar macht, indem die empfohlenen Grenzen in der Webwelt übersprungen werden.


Digitale Identität

Diese Situation wird als definiert Teilungein Begriff, der "share" und "parenting" (Elternschaft) kombiniert. Dieses Wort bezieht sich darauf, wie viele Eltern über soziale Netzwerke zeigen, wie sie ihren Nachwuchs erhöhen können. Dies führt dazu, dass die Kleinsten des Hauses eine digitale Identität geschaffen haben, bevor sie überhaupt diese Plattformen verwalten können.

Die Journalistin Nancy Jo Sales schreibt in ihrem Buch:American Girls: Social Media und das geheime Leben von Teenagern'dass derzeit 92% der Minderjährigen in den Vereinigten Staaten eine Identität haben, die in sozialen Netzwerken geschaffen wird. Dieser Mangel an Privatsphäre bedeutet, dass seit der Geburt der Kinder bereits mehrere hundert Fotos veröffentlicht wurden. Es ist merkwürdig, dass, wenn einer dieser Kleinen lernt, mit diesen Technologien umzugehen, diese bereits ohne deren Einverständnis vorhanden sind.


Das Problem ist, dass viele Eltern nicht wissen, welche Auswirkungen ein im Internet veröffentlichtes Foto haben kann, das nicht darin verbleibt Seiten, aber in wenigen Sekunden können Sie am anderen Ende der Welt enden. Es lohnt sich, an die Dimensionen der Web-Welt und die Gefahren des Überspringens der Privatsphäre zu denken.

Das Gefühl von "wie"

Stacey B. Steinberg, Professorin der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der University of Florida, hat sich auch in einer ihrer Studien mit diesem Thema befasst. In dieser Arbeit hat er die Gründe vertieft, die Eltern dazu bringen, all diese Informationen ihrer Kinder in sozialen Netzwerken zu teilen. Unter allen Ursachen zeichnet sich das Gefühl aus, einen positiven Kommentar von anderen Eltern zu erhalten.

Dieses Gefühl nach dem Empfang eines "wie"Bei einer anderen Person fühlt sich ein Erwachsener in der Lage, diese Veröffentlichungen fortzusetzen und die möglichen Gefahren dieser Situation zu vergessen:


"Cyberspace bietet viele positive Gefühle zu den Eltern. Wenn sie ihre Kinder kommentieren, erhalten sie positive Antworten und fühlen sich dadurch unterstützt. Dies bedeutet jedoch, dass das Füttern des Egos extrem ist, und der Exhibitionismus kann ein Risiko sein, das die Realität verzerrt und es schwierig macht, über das eigene Denken hinaus zu denken, einschließlich des Schutzes des eigenen Kindes ", erklärt Professor Steinberg.

Eltern werden daher an die Notwendigkeit erinnert, die Privatsphäre in sozialen Netzwerken und in der Web-Welt zu wahren. Insbesondere wird empfohlen, keine Fotos Ihrer Kinder auf diesen Plattformen zu veröffentlichen, solange Ihre Kinder es sind minderjährigund wenn diese über 18 Jahre alt sind, muss immer eine vorherige Zustimmung der Genehmigung vorliegen.

Damián Montero

Video: Los peligros del "shareting" en las redes sociales


Interessante Artikel

Spiele, um den Schnee mit den Kindern zu genießen

Spiele, um den Schnee mit den Kindern zu genießen

Der Winter bringt die Kälte mit sich und manchmal der Schnee. An Orten, an denen wir nicht sehr gewöhnt sind, wenn ein Sturz gut ist Nutzen Sie den Schnee und spielen Sie besser. Es gibt viele...