The Zika virus and the 10 global epidemics that haunt us

The Director General of the World Health Organization (WHO), Dr. Margaret Chan, has stated that the Zika virus it is an "epublic health mergency of international importance (ESPII). "The symptoms of this disease are very similar to those of the flu.

The first meeting of the Emergency Committee convened by the Director General of WHO to discuss the increase in cases of microcephaly and its possible relationship with the parallel expansion of Zika virus, took place by videoconference. After Brazil, France, the United States and El Salvador provided information on the association between microcephaly and Guillain-Barré syndrome with the Zika virus, and the Committee making a series of recommendations, Dr. Margaret Chan declared that the Zika is an ESPII Emergency of Public Health of International Importance.


The Zika virus: what it is and how to confront it

Although the disease caused by the Zika virus is in 'boom', is not the first time it appears in the radars of health organizations. The CDC, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, has already declared an alert for the virus in May 2014 due to the alarming outbreak of the Zika that French Polynesia suffered from October 2013. Although the symptoms are not too different from those of the common flu, it is the possible connection of the virus with cases of microcephaly that worries the health authorities.

The disease is transmitted exclusively through the bite of the Aedes aegypti mosquito (cousin of the Tigre mosquito, which is present in our country). The main symptoms, which can last between 2 and 7 days, are mild fever, muscle and headaches, rashes, and conjunctivitis. There is no cure or vaccine and, as with the flu, the only thing that can be done is to treat the symptoms until they disappear. The difference with the flu is that people affected by Zika do not transmit the disease, and only one in four have the symptoms.


As was already observed in the 2013 Zika outbreak in French Polynesia, the health authorities of Brazil in 2015 reported an increase in Guillain-Barré syndrome, an autoimmune disease associated with the spread of the virus. 80% of those affected by the syndrome recover.

The risk of the Zika virus for Spain and its prevention

As already mentioned, the Zika virus is transmitted by the bite of a mosquito of the genus Aedes, which is not found on the European continent. However, the Tigre mosquito, of the same genus, is an invasive species that has been established in Spain in Levante, Catalonia and the Basque Country. This deadly mosquito is a vector of diseases such as dengue fever, yellow fever, Chikungunya fever, or West Nile virus disease. Furthermore, in the event that biting an affected person, it would also be a Zika vector.

According to the Ministry of Health, in 2014 almost 800,000 Spaniards traveled to Latin America and more than one and a half million foreign tourists who visited our country in the same year came from this continent. Given that 75% of the population affected by the Zika virus does not present symptoms, the risk that one of them travels to any of the 14 Spanish provinces where the Tigre mosquito is found is real, although very low during the months of winter.


The WHO believes that trade or travel with countries affected by the Zika virus should not be restricted (although it does not recommend it in the case of pregnant women, to prevent possible microcephaly in the fetus), but warns that they should be Take measures to prevent transmission. The Institute of Integral Dermatology reports that it is most effective to prevent bites by using repellents containing Icaridine, IR3535, or DEET.

If you have to travel to affected countries (or you are in one of the provinces 'colonized' by the Tigre mosquito), in addition to the use of appropriate repellents, you must take another series of measures such as wearing light-colored clothing that covers the largest possible body part and avoid the perfume (so as not to attract mosquitoes); Do not go out without repellent in the early hours or at dusk; close doors and windows and sleep with mosquito netting; avoid areas of standing water and cover any container where water can accumulate.

Other potential epidemics

Although now it is the Zika virus that holds the most headlines, not long ago it was the Ebola virus the protagonist of the media landscape. Along with those caused by Zika and Ebola, eight more diseases are at risk of escalation to the category of epidemics:

- Chikunguya fever
- Nipah virus disease
- Lassa fever
- Marburg virus disease
- Crimean-Congo haemorrhagic fever
- Respiratory syndromes due to corovirus MERS and SARS
- Rift Valley fever (RVF)
- Severe fever with thrombocytopenia (SFTSV)

All these diseases have a series of factors in common that make them perfect candidates for future epidemics. All are viral diseases, most have high mortality rates and there is no known vaccine against them. Symptoms can vary from fever and headache (Ebola and Chikunguya and Rift Valley fevers, among others) to breathing difficulties (MERS and SARS, and Nipah virus) and hemorrhages (Maburg virus and Crimean fever) -Congo).

Many of these diseases are already endemic in their continents of origin, such as Lassa fever in West Africa and Crimean-Congo fever in Africa, the Balkans, the Middle East and Asia, below 50º north latitude. Currently, the continents most affected by epidemics are Africa, Asia and America, which coincides with those affected by these new threats.

Marga Wesolowski

Video: Bill Gates Just Warned a New Bioweapon Will Wipe Out 30 Million


Interesting Articles

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

12 ideas that help you educate children

12 ideas that help you educate children

Education is a science and an art. An art because there are no fixed rules and each case is different, each circumstance is unique, because people are unrepeatable. But, in turn, it is a science and...

Das Zika-Virus und die 10 globalen Epidemien, die uns verfolgen

Die Generaldirektorin der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO), Dr. Margaret Chan, hat erklärt, dass die Zika-Virus es ist ein "eöffentliche Gesundheitsdienste von internationaler Bedeutung (ESPII). "Die Symptome dieser Krankheit sind denen der Grippe sehr ähnlich.

Die erste Sitzung des Dringlichkeitsausschusses, die vom Generaldirektor der WHO einberufen wurde, um die Zunahme der Mikrozephalie und seine mögliche Beziehung zur parallelen Erweiterung von Zika-Virusfand durch Videokonferenz statt. Nachdem Brasilien, Frankreich, die Vereinigten Staaten und El Salvador Informationen über den Zusammenhang zwischen Mikrozephalie und Guillain-Barré-Syndrom mit dem Zika-Virus geliefert hatten und der Ausschuss eine Reihe von Empfehlungen machte, erklärte Dr. Margaret Chan dass der Zika ein ESPII-Notfall der öffentlichen Gesundheit von internationaler Bedeutung ist.


Das Zika-Virus: was es ist und wie man es bekämpfen kann

Obwohl die Krankheit durch die Zika-Virus ist in "boom", ist es nicht das erste Mal, dass es in den Radars von Gesundheitsorganisationen erscheint. Das CDC, die US-amerikanischen Zentren für Krankheitsbekämpfung und Prävention, hat bereits im Mai 2014 wegen des alarmierenden Ausbruchs des Virus einen Alarm für das Virus gemeldet Zika Französisch-Polynesien litt seit Oktober 2013. Obwohl sich die Symptome nicht zu sehr von denen der Grippe unterscheiden, ist es die mögliche Verbindung des Virus mit Mikrozephalie, die die Gesundheitsbehörden beunruhigt.

Die Krankheit wird ausschließlich durch den Biss der Aedes aegypti-Stechmücke übertragen (Cousin der Tigre-Mücke, die in unserem Land vorkommt). Die Hauptsymptome, die zwischen 2 und 7 Tagen andauern können, sind mildes Fieber, Muskel- und Kopfschmerzen, Hautausschläge und Konjunktivitis. Es gibt kein Heilmittel oder Impfstoff, und wie bei der Grippe können nur die Symptome behandelt werden, bis sie verschwinden. Der Unterschied zur Grippe ist, dass die von Zika betroffenen Menschen die Krankheit nicht übertragen, und nur jeder Vierte hat die Symptome.


Wie bereits beim Zika-Ausbruch 2013 in Französisch-Polynesien beobachtet wurde, meldeten die brasilianischen Gesundheitsbehörden 2015 einen Anstieg des Guillain-Barré-Syndroms, einer Autoimmunerkrankung, die mit der Ausbreitung des Virus zusammenhängt. 80% der Betroffenen erholen sich.

Das Risiko des Zika-Virus für Spanien und seine Prävention

Wie bereits erwähnt, wird das Zika-Virus durch den Biss einer Mücke der Gattung Aedes übertragen, die auf dem europäischen Kontinent nicht zu finden ist. Die Tigre-Mücke derselben Gattung ist jedoch eine invasive Art, die in Spanien in Levante, Katalonien und im Baskenland gegründet wurde. Diese tödliche Moskito ist ein Vektor von Krankheiten wie Dengue-Fieber, Gelbfieber, Chikungunya-Fieber oder West-Nil-Virus. Darüber hinaus wäre es für den Fall, dass eine betroffene Person beißt, auch ein Zika-Vektor.

Laut dem Gesundheitsministerium reisten im Jahr 2014 fast 800.000 Spanier nach Lateinamerika, und mehr als eineinhalb Millionen ausländische Touristen, die unser Land im selben Jahr besuchten, kamen von diesem Kontinent. Angesichts der Tatsache, dass 75% der vom Zika-Virus betroffenen Bevölkerung keine Symptome aufweisen, besteht das Risiko, dass einer von ihnen in eine der 14 spanischen Provinzen reist, in denen sich die Tigre-Mücke befindet, obwohl sie in den Monaten 2000 sehr gering ist Winter


Die WHO ist der Ansicht, dass der Handel oder die Reise mit Ländern, die vom Zika-Virus betroffen sind, nicht eingeschränkt werden sollte (obwohl dies bei schwangeren Frauen nicht empfohlen wird, um mögliche Mikrozephalie beim Fötus zu verhindern), warnt jedoch, dass dies der Fall sein sollte Maßnahmen ergreifen, um die Übertragung zu verhindern. Das Institute of Integral Dermatology berichtet, dass es am effektivsten ist, Bisse zu verhindern, indem Repellentien verwendet werden, die Icaridin, IR3535 oder DEET enthalten.

Wenn Sie in die betroffenen Länder reisen müssen (oder sich in einer der von der Tigre-Mücke "kolonisierten" Provinzen befinden), müssen Sie zusätzlich zu den entsprechenden Abwehrmitteln andere Maßnahmen ergreifen, z. B. helle Kleidung tragen, die die größte bedeckt mögliches Körperteil und vermeiden Sie das Parfüm (um keine Moskitos anzuziehen); Gehen Sie in den frühen Morgenstunden oder in der Abenddämmerung nicht ohne Abwehrmittel aus. Schließen Sie Türen und Fenster und schlafen Sie mit Moskitonetzen. Vermeiden Sie stehende Wasserflächen und bedecken Sie jeden Behälter, in dem sich Wasser ansammeln kann.

Andere mögliche Epidemien

Obwohl jetzt das Zika-Virus die meisten Schlagzeilen macht, war es vor kurzem der Ebola-Virus, der Protagonist der Medienlandschaft. Zusammen mit denen, die durch verursacht wurden Zika und Ebola, Acht weitere Krankheiten sind dem Risiko einer Eskalation in die Kategorie der Epidemien ausgesetzt:

- Chikunguya-Fieber
- Nipah-Viruserkrankung
- Lassa-Fieber
- Marburg-Viruserkrankung
- hämorrhagisches Krim-Kongo-Fieber
Respiratorische Syndrome durch Corovirus MERS und SARS
- Rift Valley Fieber (RVF)
- Schweres Fieber mit Thrombozytopenie (SFTSV)

Alle diese Krankheiten haben eine Reihe von Faktoren gemeinsam, die sie zu idealen Kandidaten für zukünftige Epidemien machen. Alle sind Viruserkrankungen, die meisten haben eine hohe Sterblichkeitsrate und es ist kein Impfstoff gegen sie bekannt. Die Symptome können von Fieber und Kopfschmerzen (ua Ebola- und Chikunguya- und Rift-Valley-Fieber) bis zu Atembeschwerden (MERS und SARS und Nipah-Virus) und Blutungen (Maburg-Virus und Krimfieber) variieren. -Congo).

Viele dieser Krankheiten sind in ihren Ursprungskontinenten bereits endemisch, wie das Lassa-Fieber in Westafrika und das Krim-Kongo-Fieber in Afrika, der Balkan, der Nahe Osten und Asien unterhalb des 50. nördlichen Breitengrades. Derzeit sind Afrika, Asien und Amerika die am stärksten von Epidemien betroffenen Kontinente, was mit den von diesen neuen Bedrohungen Betroffenen zusammenfällt.

Marga Wesolowski

Video: After the Tribulation


Interessante Artikel

Olivenöl, gesundheitliche Vorteile

Olivenöl, gesundheitliche Vorteile

Die Vorteile des Olivenölkonsums, die für unsere mediterrane Ernährung so charakteristisch sind, sind zahlreich. Deshalb ist es gesund, sie in unsere Ernährung aufzunehmen. Olivenöl und insbesondere...