Ideas to educate children without rewards or punishments

If we want happy children we must educate children in freedom and responsibility. That means that parents should not punish, and that we must explain the consequences of the acts to the children; The good and bad. They with their freedom must choose; thus, it is the children themselves who punish or not, or rather freely decide to perform good or bad acts. This is one of the keys for children to carry the reins of their lives from childhood. Parents accompany in the task of life.

If we have already begun the education of our children with rewards and punishments, we still have time to correct ourselves and educate in responsibility. It is a matter of time, quality and quantity, hours of communication. The luck with the children is worked, it is not a lottery; to be or not to be important and much.


Generally, we set the rules and limits in advance but what do we do if someone has exceeded a norm that we had not raised? For example, what do we do if a child raises a father's hand? The limits are different at each age, with each child, in each circumstance of our lives.

Although there are rules that have not been raised to the children yet, that does not mean that they should not be respected. If they did not have prior notice, the first time is explained, they are encouraged to apologize and the consequences of this act are notified for later times. If it happens again, we are firm in the consequences, without being disturbed, simply by being faithful to the given word of the consequences of repeating said act.


The Self-control is essential to succeed in education, it is desirable for children and also for their parents; even if it's just for not throwing stones on our own roof, let's grit our teeth before such threats, take a deep breath and act accordingly.

Keys to educate in responsibility

1. Establish norms: Behavior guidelines are established from the beginning. They have to be appropriate at each age and very specific. For example, it is difficult for a young child to assimilate something as generic as "being ordered", but he can understand that the toys have to be in place and the clothes are left in the agreed place. A teenager can not be asked to "be a good student" but he can complete all his tasks before going out to the park with friends.

2. Set limits: they are given by the norms and they are the borders that should not be crossed.


3. Teach to look for consequences: When a limit is passed and a rule is breached, we must have previously determined what consequence it will have. The consequence can not be a punishment, but a commitment that involves an effort and that is directly aimed at improving compliance with the rule violated. If a young person has arrived home later than the committed time, the consequence may be to arrive before another day to learn the value of punctuality, responsibility and commitment. When they are small, the consequences are difficult to negotiate, but when they are older, it is convenient that they handle them alone, under the premise that they serve to improve.

Educate without rewards and punishments: if everything goes wrong ...

- If we have already begun to educate according to the model of punishment or, on the contrary, without rules: any moment is good to correct us, to apologize to our children and to start over.

- If a child violates a rule or exceeds such a serious limit that we had not previously established: we act immediately and we explain that the behavior is very serious. But if we find that our reaction is driven by passion, it is good to mark well that we are angry but to postpone the establishment of a consequence until a moment when we are more relaxed.

- In the face of constant faults: There are ages, such as adolescence, in which it is worthwhile to overlook the transgressions of limits on some specific occasions to avoid excessive deterioration of relationships. We were all teenagers.

- Faced with a clear lack of responsibility: It is advisable to always go to a specialist. The schools usually have good orientation teams. You can also use a family counseling office to solve problems involving all members of the household and recover the means of communication.

Alicia Gadea

Video: Parenting Without Punishment or Rewards with Alfie Kohn


Interesting Articles

The top 10 of the master's degrees

The top 10 of the master's degrees

Nowadays the master is astudy necessary for academic preparation, because due to the high level of demand and competitiveness that exists in the labor market, a university career is not enough to...

Cabify offers child restraint seats

Cabify offers child restraint seats

The safety and protection of the smallest is a subject of great concern in public and private urban transport. Traffic accidents are the main cause of death among children under 14, with 40% of cases...

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Our life is a constant search for happiness. On many occasions, we think that the only way to reach it is to lead a life full of successes and recognitions and this is a real mistake. It is important...

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

Goodbyes they are never simple, say goodbye It can become very complicated and painful. However, farewells are part of life, we can not avoid them, and that is why we must learn to say goodbye and in...

Ideen zur Erziehung von Kindern ohne Belohnung oder Strafe

Wenn wir glückliche Kinder wollen, müssen wir Kinder in Freiheit und Verantwortung erziehen. Das bedeutet, dass Eltern nicht bestrafen dürfen, und dass wir den Kindern die Folgen der Taten erklären müssen; die guten und die schlechten. Sie müssen mit ihrer Freiheit wählen; es sind also die Kinder selbst, die bestrafen oder nicht oder sich frei entscheiden, gute oder schlechte Taten auszuführen. Dies ist einer der Schlüssel für Kinder, um die Zügel ihres Lebens von Kindheit an zu tragen. Eltern begleiten bei der Aufgabe des Lebens.

Wenn wir bereits mit der Ausbildung unserer Kinder begonnen haben Belohnungen und Strafen, wir haben noch Zeit, uns zu korrigieren und in der Verantwortung erziehen. Es ist eine Frage von Zeit, Qualität und Quantität, Stunden der Kommunikation. Das Glück mit den Kindern ist in Arbeit, es ist keine Lotterie; wichtig oder viel zu sein oder nicht.


Im Allgemeinen setzen wir die Regeln und Grenzen im Voraus, aber was tun wir, wenn jemand eine Norm überschritten hat, die wir nicht erhoben haben? Was tun wir zum Beispiel, wenn ein Kind die Hand eines Vaters erhebt? Die Grenzen unterscheiden sich in jedem Alter, mit jedem Kind, in jeder Situation unseres Lebens.

Obwohl es Regeln gibt, die den Kindern noch nicht auferlegt wurden, heißt das nicht, dass sie nicht respektiert werden sollten. Wenn sie nicht vorher informiert wurden, wird das erste Mal erklärt, sie werden aufgefordert, sich zu entschuldigen, und die Konsequenzen dieses Gesetzes werden für spätere Zeitpunkte angezeigt. Wenn dies erneut geschieht, sind wir fest in den Folgen, ohne gestört zu werden, indem wir einfach dem gegebenen Wort der Folgen der Wiederholung der besagten Handlung treu sind.


Die Selbstkontrolle ist wichtig für den Erfolg in der Ausbildungist es wünschenswert für Kinder und auch für ihre Eltern; Auch wenn es nur darum geht, keine Steine ​​auf unser eigenes Dach zu werfen, lasst uns vor solchen Bedrohungen die Zähne zusammenbeißen, durchatmen und entsprechend handeln.

Schlüssel, um in Verantwortung zu erziehen

1. Normen festlegen: Verhaltensrichtlinien werden von Anfang an festgelegt. Sie müssen in jedem Alter angemessen und sehr spezifisch sein. Zum Beispiel ist es für ein kleines Kind schwierig, sich an so etwas Generisches wie "befohlen" zu gewöhnen, aber er kann verstehen, dass das Spielzeug vorhanden sein muss und die Kleidung an dem vereinbarten Ort gelassen wird. Ein Teenager kann nicht gebeten werden, "ein guter Schüler zu sein", er kann jedoch alle seine Aufgaben erledigen, bevor er mit Freunden in den Park geht.

2. Grenzen setzen: Sie sind durch die Normen vorgegeben und es sind die Grenzen, die nicht überschritten werden dürfen.


3. Lehre, nach Konsequenzen zu suchen: Wenn ein Limit überschritten und eine Regel verletzt wird, müssen wir vorher festgelegt haben, welche Konsequenzen es hat. Die Folge kann keine Strafe sein, sondern eine Verpflichtung, die eine Anstrengung erfordert und die direkt darauf abzielt, die Einhaltung der verletzten Regel zu verbessern. Wenn ein Jugendlicher später als zur festgesetzten Zeit nach Hause gekommen ist, kann es vorkommen, dass er vor einem anderen Tag ankommt, um den Wert von Pünktlichkeit, Verantwortung und Engagement zu erfahren. Wenn sie klein sind, sind die Konsequenzen schwer zu verhandeln, aber wenn sie älter sind, ist es zweckmäßig, dass sie alleine damit umgehen, unter der Prämisse, dass sie der Verbesserung dienen.

Ohne Belohnung und Bestrafung erziehen: Wenn alles schief geht ...

- Wenn wir bereits begonnen haben, nach dem Modell der Bestrafung zu erziehen oder im Gegenteil ohne Regeln: Jeder Moment ist gut, um uns zu korrigieren, sich bei unseren Kindern zu entschuldigen und neu zu beginnen.

- Wenn ein Kind gegen eine Regel verstößt oder diese Grenze überschreitet Das hatten wir vorher nicht festgestellt: Wir handeln sofort und erklären, dass das Verhalten sehr ernst ist. Wenn wir jedoch feststellen, dass unsere Reaktion von Leidenschaft geprägt ist, ist es gut, gut zu wissen, dass wir wütend sind, aber die Etablierung einer Konsequenz bis zu einem Moment zu verschieben, in dem wir entspannter sind.

- Bei ständigen Fehlern: Es gibt Zeitalter, wie zum Beispiel die Pubertät, in denen es sich lohnt, die Grenzüberschreitungen bei bestimmten Gelegenheiten zu übersehen, um eine übermäßige Verschlechterung der Beziehungen zu vermeiden. Wir waren alle Teenager.

- Angesichts eines offensichtlichen Mangels an Verantwortung: Es ist ratsam, immer zu einem Spezialisten zu gehen. Die Schulen haben normalerweise gute Orientierungsteams. Sie können auch eine Familienberatungsstelle verwenden, um Probleme mit allen Mitgliedern des Haushalts zu lösen und die Kommunikationsmittel wiederherzustellen.

Alicia Gadea

Video: 12 schädliche Dinge, die du ohne es zu merken deinen Hund antust


Interessante Artikel

Junge Haut mit ästhetischer Medizin

Junge Haut mit ästhetischer Medizin

Eine junge Haut mit ästhetischer Medizin zu genießen, hat viele Vorteile im Hinblick auf den Spiegel und auch bei der Operation. Ästhetische Medizinbehandlungen wie die Laser-Fotoverjüngung und das...