The more myopic the more they grow

The lifestyle of developed countries, sedentary, in urban environments, with many hours of exposure to the screens, is causing havoc in the eyes of children. The myopia indexes are getting higher and the future, not very encouraging. As they develop it before, they are likely to end up with a large number of diopters when they are adults and may have other, much more serious vision problems. That is why it is fundamental to deal with myopia in childhood.

Spain will be seriously short-sighted for the year 2020. 33% of young people will see badly from afar. This is clear from the recent study presented by the Holden Vision Institute Brien. Among the causes of this systematic proliferation of myopia in the most developed countries are those derived from changes in our lifestyle. You spend less time outdoors, more in closed spaces, so the eye is in less situations to look away.


Adds the abuse of sight "up close", as it happens with the computer and other digital devices, and exposure to the television screen does not help either. In addition, the data shows that they are developing vision problems earlier. And this circumstance supposes a true sanitary risk to which attention must be paid.

The risks of high myopia in adulthood

Some myopic children from their earliest childhood have high chances of becoming very short-sighted adults, with problems of great short-sightedness and other medical consequences arising from this situation. Thus, several scientific studies relate a high myopia with other serious problems such as risk of retinal detachment, which is multiplied by four in the nearsighted, and reaches up to ten in the cases of large myopic patients, and with added complications in such everyday situations today as a cataract operation or glaucoma.


So addressing child myopia is not just a matter of improving the quality of life of the child, but a real investment in the health of the future adult. However, society is not sufficiently aware of the risks of childhood myopia. As Dr. Dimitry S. Mirsayafov, of the Dr. Lens clinic in Madrid, explains, this lack of awareness is compounded by the gap that exists between ophthalmologists specializing in pediatrics and those dedicated to adults, so that this idea is not perceived. set of how a childhood myopia, which in principle does not represent a complication, can pose a serious ophthalmological disorder in adulthood. "In some countries around us, the problem is beginning to be given more importance", adds this specialist with extensive experience in Russia.

Myopic when they grow older

For this specialist, it is necessary to take action on the matter as soon as possible. The first motivation is the well-being of the person. But there is also another foundation of a social nature: a population afflicted by vision problems that produce high myopia will have to face greater social and health costs. And how myopia every time they start at a younger age, the possibilities of having a future marked by a large number of great myopic people are multiplying.


The solution is not simple. The idea of ​​changing our lifestyle habits, going back to the field, abandoning technology and limiting study time does not seem feasible, nor necessarily desirable. So we must count on that increase in cases of childhood myopia. When it arrives, there are not many possibilities for intervention either. The optimal situation is to discover the vision problem as soon as possible.

Although the view is included in some of the Reviews of the healthy child of public health services, the truth is that many parents do not find out about their children's problem until they begin to have difficulties in the classroom when attending the blackboard. By then, myopia may already have been progressing quite a lot without the parents noticing.

Except for cases with added pathologies, in children and adolescents the option of surgery is completely ruled out, since natural growth causes the eye to have not finished developing. The glasses and contact lenses will play a key role in improving the quality of life of the child. Even some systems, such as the so-called "night lenses" or ortho K (orthokeratology), have proven effective in slowing the progression of myopia, a major challenge to avoid major problems in adulthood.

It's myopic, what do we do?

At the time of making the diagnosis is essential the intervention of an ophthalmologist, since the measurement of diopters in children always requires dilation of the pupil, and it is not enough with the result obtained in an optician. From here, the parents, with the advice of the specialists, will have to choose the most appropriate correction system.

In very young children, under six or seven years, the usual is resort to glasses. Now they are manufactured with resistant materials and nothing dangerous. In older children, the use of contact lenses can be considered, with which myopia affects less in the child's daily life. The traditional contact lenses, which are worn all day, have some problems in children, since they are not always handled properly and can generate episodes of conjunctivitis and other infections if they are not always clean.

The recourse to contact lenses at night, a system with more than 20 years of experience, is a comfortable option for children. These are hard lenses that, while the child is sleeping, mold their cornea. When you take them off in the morning, see perfectly, and the effect lasts one day, so you do not lose vision during the day. Although not all eyes admit this type of lens, they are especially comfortable because children do not wear any type of correction during the day and can live with the tranquility and carelessness typical of their age. It is the parents who monitor its correct use at night.

Marina Berrio
Advice: Dr. Dimitry S. Mirsayafov, from the Dr. Lens clinic in Madrid

Video: Special glasses developed to treat nearsightedness


Interesting Articles

The top 10 of the master's degrees

The top 10 of the master's degrees

Nowadays the master is astudy necessary for academic preparation, because due to the high level of demand and competitiveness that exists in the labor market, a university career is not enough to...

Cabify offers child restraint seats

Cabify offers child restraint seats

The safety and protection of the smallest is a subject of great concern in public and private urban transport. Traffic accidents are the main cause of death among children under 14, with 40% of cases...

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Our life is a constant search for happiness. On many occasions, we think that the only way to reach it is to lead a life full of successes and recognitions and this is a real mistake. It is important...

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

Goodbyes they are never simple, say goodbye It can become very complicated and painful. However, farewells are part of life, we can not avoid them, and that is why we must learn to say goodbye and in...

Je mehr kurzsichtig, desto mehr wachsen sie

Die Lebensweise der Industrieländer, die in städtischen Umgebungen sesshaft sind und viele Stunden den Bildschirmen ausgesetzt sind, führt zu Verwüstungen in den Augen von Kindern. Die Myopieindizes werden immer höher und die Zukunft nicht sehr ermutigend. Bei ihrer Entwicklung entwickeln sie wahrscheinlich eine große Anzahl von Dioptrien, wenn sie erwachsen sind, und haben möglicherweise andere, viel ernstere Sehprobleme. Deshalb ist es wichtig, damit umzugehen Kurzsichtigkeit in der Kindheit.

Spanien wird sein ernsthaft kurzsichtig für das Jahr 2020. 33% der Jugendlichen werden aus der Ferne schlecht sehen. Dies geht aus der aktuellen Studie des Holden Vision Institute Brien hervor. Zu den Ursachen dieser systematischen Verbreitung von Kurzsichtigkeit in den am stärksten entwickelten Ländern gehören solche, die sich aus Veränderungen unseres Lebensstils ergeben. Sie verbringen weniger Zeit im Freien, mehr in geschlossenen Räumen, sodass das Auge in weniger Situationen wegschauen kann.


Es summiert sich der Sehfehler "aus nächster Nähe", wie es mit dem Computer geschieht und andere digitale Geräte und die Belichtung des Fernsehbildschirms hilft auch nicht. Darüber hinaus zeigen die Daten, dass sie früher Sehprobleme entwickeln. Und dieser Umstand setzt ein wahres gesundheitliches Risiko voraus, auf das man achten muss.

Die Risiken einer hohen Kurzsichtigkeit im Erwachsenenalter

Einige kurzsichtige Kinder haben von Anfang an große Chancen, sehr kurzsichtige Erwachsene zu werden, wobei Probleme mit großer Kurzsichtigkeit und anderen medizinischen Konsequenzen aus dieser Situation resultieren. Mehrere wissenschaftliche Studien beziehen daher eine hohe Kurzsichtigkeit mit anderen schwerwiegenden Problemen wie z Gefahr der Netzhautablösung, die in der Kurzsichtigkeit mit vier multipliziert wird und bei großen myopischen Patienten bis zu zehn beträgt, und in solchen Alltagssituationen mit zusätzlichen Komplikationen wie einer Kataraktoperation oder einem Glaukom.


Die Behandlung von Myopie bei Kindern ist nicht nur eine Frage der Verbesserung der Lebensqualität des Kindes, sondern eine echte Investition in die Gesundheit des zukünftigen Erwachsenen. Die Gesellschaft ist sich jedoch der Risiken der Myopie im Kindesalter nicht ausreichend bewusst. Wie Dr. Dimitry S. Mirsayafov von der Klinik Dr. Lens in Madrid erklärt, wird dieser Mangel an Bewusstsein durch die Kluft zwischen Ophthalmologen, die auf Pädiatrie spezialisiert sind, und solchen, die sich mit Erwachsenen befassen, verstärkt, so dass diese Idee nicht wahrgenommen wird. festgelegt, wie eine Myopie im Kindesalter, die im Prinzip keine Komplikation darstellt, im Erwachsenenalter eine schwere ophthalmologische Störung darstellen kann. "In einigen Ländern gewinnt das Problem zunehmend an Bedeutung", fügt dieser Spezialist mit umfangreicher Erfahrung in Russland hinzu.

Kurzsichtig, wenn sie älter werden

Für diesen Spezialisten ist es notwendig, dies so schnell wie möglich zu tun. Die erste Motivation ist das Wohlbefinden der Person. Es gibt aber auch eine andere Grundlage sozialer Natur: Eine Bevölkerung, die von Visionsproblemen mit hoher Kurzsichtigkeit betroffen ist, muss mit höheren Sozial- und Gesundheitskosten konfrontiert sein. Und wie Myopie jedes Mal, wenn sie in einem jüngeren Alter beginnenDie Möglichkeiten, eine Zukunft zu haben, die von einer großen Anzahl großartiger kurzsichtiger Menschen geprägt wird, vervielfachen sich.


Die Lösung ist nicht einfach. Die Idee, unsere Lebensgewohnheiten zu ändern, zum Feld zurückzukehren, die Technologie aufzugeben und die Lernzeit zu beschränken, erscheint weder realisierbar noch zwangsläufig wünschenswert. Deshalb müssen wir bei Myopie im Kindesalter mit dieser Zunahme rechnen. Wenn es ankommt, gibt es auch nicht viele Interventionsmöglichkeiten. Die optimale Situation ist, das Sehproblem so schnell wie möglich zu entdecken.

Obwohl die Ansicht in einigen der enthalten ist Bewertungen des gesunden Kindes der öffentlichen GesundheitsdiensteDie Wahrheit ist, dass viele Eltern das Problem ihrer Kinder erst erfahren, wenn sie im Klassenraum Schwierigkeiten haben, wenn sie an die Tafel kommen. Bis dahin hat sich die Myopie möglicherweise schon ziemlich weit entwickelt, ohne dass die Eltern dies bemerken.

Mit Ausnahme von Fällen mit zusätzlichen Pathologien ist bei Kindern und Jugendlichen die Option einer Operation vollständig ausgeschlossen, da das Auge durch natürliches Wachstum noch nicht vollständig entwickelt ist. Die Brille und Kontaktlinsen spielen eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Verbesserung der Lebensqualität des Kindes. Sogar einige Systeme, wie die sogenannten "Nachtlinsen" oder Ortho-K (Orthokeratologie), haben sich beim Verlangsamen des Fortschreitens von Myopie als eine große Herausforderung erwiesen, um große Probleme im Erwachsenenalter zu vermeiden.

Es ist kurzsichtig, was machen wir?

Zum Zeitpunkt der Diagnosestellung ist der Eingriff eines Augenarztes unerlässlich, da die Messung von Dioptrien bei Kindern immer eine Erweiterung der Pupille erfordert und es nicht ausreicht, um das Ergebnis bei einem Optiker zu erhalten. Von hier aus müssen die Eltern mit dem Rat der Spezialisten das am besten geeignete Korrektursystem wählen.

Bei sehr jungen Kindern unter sechs oder sieben Jahren ist dies üblich auf Gläser zurückgreifen. Jetzt werden sie mit widerstandsfähigen Materialien hergestellt und nichts Gefährliches. Bei älteren Kindern kann die Verwendung von Kontaktlinsen in Betracht gezogen werden, mit denen Myopie im täglichen Leben des Kindes weniger beeinträchtigt wird. Die traditionellen Kontaktlinsen, die den ganzen Tag über getragen werden, haben einige Probleme bei Kindern, da sie nicht immer richtig gehandhabt werden und Konjunktivitis und andere Infektionen verursachen können, wenn sie nicht immer sauber sind.

Die nachts auf Kontaktlinsen zurückgreifenEin System mit mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung ist eine komfortable Option für Kinder. Dies sind harte Linsen, die, während das Kind schläft, ihre Hornhaut formen. Wenn Sie sie morgens abnehmen, sehen Sie perfekt, und die Wirkung hält einen Tag an, damit Sie während des Tages die Sicht nicht verlieren. Obwohl nicht alle Augen diesen Objektivtyp zugeben, sind sie besonders komfortabel, weil Kinder tagsüber keine Korrektur tragen und mit der für ihr Alter typischen Ruhe und Nachlässigkeit leben können. Es sind die Eltern, die nachts den korrekten Gebrauch überwachen.

Marina Berrio
Hinweis: Dr. Dimitry S. Mirsayafovvon der Klinik Dr. Lens in Madrid

Video: Kurzsichtigkeit wegbekommen- 3 Säulen der Augengesundheit


Interessante Artikel

Spielzeug für Kinder von 18 bis 24 Monaten

Spielzeug für Kinder von 18 bis 24 Monaten

Wenn das Kind 18 Monate alt ist, hat es eine vollständige Mobilität, die ihm neue Erkundungsmöglichkeiten in Bezug auf seine Umgebung und größere Unabhängigkeit bietet. Es wird also sein in der Lage,...

Fairplay im Fußball: Freundschaft und Kameradschaft

Fairplay im Fußball: Freundschaft und Kameradschaft

Fußball ist ein Mannschaftssport, der Leidenschaften weckt und Millionen Anhänger auf der ganzen Welt hat. Die FIFA war sich der Popularität dieses Sports bewusst und entwickelte ein Programm mit dem...