A continuous assessment is more important than the rating mode, according to experts

How to know that the student is meeting school expectations? The notes they are the best tool for parents to know their child's progress in the classroom. Suspense, approved, notable, outstanding, or a numerical system that covers from 0 to 10. However, some people believe that these mechanisms have been obsolete and propose their withdrawal, in the case of the Catalan Government's Teaching Department, who for the 2018-2019 academic year has eliminated grades from 0 to 10 in secondary education.

A measure that in the opinion of experts such as Anna Espasa, professor of Psychology and Education Sciences, and Nati Cabrera, assistant director of Teaching and professor of the same Studies, should not be the center of the debate. From his point of view what should really be relevant is the continuous evaluation that closely follows the performance and the acquisition of competences by the student.


Communication with the student

Both experts of the Open University of Catalonia they wonder what it means for the student to get a 3, a 4.7 or an 8.2. From your point of view you have to question what message is sent to the student when he is given these qualifications and how it can help him in his academic success. In this course, secondary education in Catalonia will offer its students the following grades: excellent achievement, remarkable achievement, satisfactory achievement and non-existent achievement.

In any case, the debate should focus on the progression of the student and the accompaniment that the latter receives from the teacher. Teachers should monitor how the student is progressing and what they can do differently to improve their current situation. In short, be by your side so that the message transmitted to you allows your developing and do not stay in telling him how he is doing in a certain subject.


The key is a continuous assessment and that allows the continuous formation throughout the student life. This system must be able to detect the problems presented by the student and help him overcome them. A feedback that allows the increase of the capacities of young people, a consolidated progress between the teachers and their pupils where they are told "how is progressing and what can do differently or better to keep moving forward".

Evaluation and rating

The debate between evaluation and qualification has already appeared. María del Carmen Ruiz Córdoba, expert in education, difference in one of its publications between both terms. From his point of view, the second of these words refers to the assessment of the student's progress, that is, a qualitative or quantitative expression of the student's activity.


For its part, the evaluation It has to focus on the collection of information, accompanied by a subsequent interpretation according to certain desirability patterns. In this way, a value judgment is issued that allows the orientation that has the purpose of making decisions about the student. A formula to make decisions about student performance that allows for improvement.

Both processes must be part of the same mechanism that allows both the student and the teacher to know how the student is doing in the school year. From the notes that are provided with the qualification the evaluation must be exercised and to detect what has happened so that this situation has been reached. Well because the student has reached the objectives in an excellent way, and therefore it is necessary to maintain this situation, or because the opposite situation has occurred and action must be taken in this regard.

Damián Montero

Video: READING COMPREHENSION in Exams, Tests - Strategies, Tips and Tricks - Building Reading Skills


Interesting Articles

Adaptation to the nursery: the first day

Adaptation to the nursery: the first day

The first day of daycare It is a difficult time for parents and children since it is the first time that both are separated. The day in which the child enters the world of school lives an important...

Young people's interest in politics grows

Young people's interest in politics grows

In the last six years has increased from 27 to 41 percent the percentage of young people who declare themselves quite and very interested in politics, according to the Reina Sofia Center. This is the...

The importance of crawling for the baby

The importance of crawling for the baby

The moment your baby starts to crawl, you can discover the world when and how you want it. This new feat is more important than we imagine for its future physical and intellectual development. In...

Rotavirus, the enemy of children

Rotavirus, the enemy of children

During the first years of life, it is very common for children and infants to suffer episodes of gastroenteritis. The small ones are a perfect target for bacteria and viruses, since their immune...

Eine kontinuierliche Bewertung ist laut Experten wichtiger als der Bewertungsmodus

Wie kann man wissen, dass der Schüler die Erwartungen der Schule erfüllt? Die Notizen Sie sind das beste Werkzeug für Eltern, um den Fortschritt ihres Kindes im Klassenzimmer zu erfahren. Suspense, genehmigt, bemerkenswert, ausstehend oder ein numerisches System, das 0 bis 10 abdeckt. Einige Menschen glauben jedoch, dass diese Mechanismen überholt sind, und schlagen im Falle der Unterrichtsabteilung der katalanischen Regierung ihren Rückzug vor. der für das akademische Jahr 2018-2019 im Sekundarbereich die Noten 0 bis 10 beseitigt hat.

Eine Maßnahme, die nach Ansicht von Experten wie Anna Espasa, Professorin für Psychologie und Erziehungswissenschaften, und Nati Cabrera, stellvertretender Direktor der Lehre und Professorin derselben Studien, nicht im Mittelpunkt der Debatte stehen sollte. Aus seiner Sicht sollte das, was wirklich relevant sein sollte, die ständige Bewertung sein, die sich eng an das System anschließt Leistung und den Erwerb von Kompetenzen durch den Studenten.


Kommunikation mit dem Studenten

Beide Experten der Offene Universität von Katalonien Sie fragen sich, was es für den Schüler bedeutet, eine 3, eine 4,7 oder eine 8,2 zu bekommen. Aus Ihrer Sicht müssen Sie sich fragen, welche Botschaft an den Studenten gesendet wird, wenn er diese Qualifikationen erhalten hat und wie er ihm bei seinem akademischen Erfolg helfen kann. In diesem Kurs bietet die Sekundarstufe in Katalonien ihren Schülern folgende Noten an: hervorragende Leistungen, bemerkenswerte Leistungen, zufriedenstellende Leistungen und nicht vorhandene Leistungen.

In jedem Fall sollte sich die Debatte auf den Fortschritt des Schülers und die Begleitung konzentrieren, die dieser vom Lehrer erhält. Lehrer sollten überwachen, wie der Schüler Fortschritte macht und was er anders tun kann, um seine aktuelle Situation zu verbessern. Kurz gesagt, seien Sie an Ihrer Seite, damit die an Sie übermittelte Nachricht Ihnen erlaubt Entwicklung und bleiben Sie nicht dabei, ihm zu sagen, wie es ihm in einem bestimmten Thema geht.


Der Schlüssel ist a kontinuierliche Bewertung und das ermöglicht die kontinuierliche Ausbildung während des gesamten Studentenlebens. Dieses System muss in der Lage sein, die Probleme des Schülers zu erkennen und ihm zu helfen, diese zu überwinden. Ein Feedback, das die Steigerung der Fähigkeiten junger Menschen ermöglicht, ein konsolidierter Fortschritt zwischen den Lehrern und ihren Schülern, wo ihnen gesagt wird, "wie es weitergeht und was anders oder besser tun kann, um weiter voranzukommen".

Bewertung und Bewertung

Die Debatte zwischen Evaluation und Qualifikation ist bereits erschienen. Maria del Carmen Ruiz Córdoba, Bildungsexperte, unterscheidet sich in einer seiner Publikationen zwischen beiden Begriffen. Aus seiner Sicht bezieht sich das zweite dieser Wörter auf die Beurteilung des Lernfortschritts des Studenten, dh einen qualitativen oder quantitativen Ausdruck der Aktivität des Studenten.


Für den Teil, der Bewertung Es muss sich auf die Sammlung von Informationen konzentrieren, begleitet von einer anschließenden Interpretation gemäß bestimmten Wunschmustern. Auf diese Weise wird ein Werturteil abgegeben, das die Orientierung ermöglicht, die Entscheidungen über den Studenten treffen soll. Eine Formel, um Entscheidungen über die Schülerleistung zu treffen, die Verbesserungen ermöglicht.

Beide Prozesse müssen Teil des gleichen Mechanismus sein, der es dem Schüler und dem Lehrer ermöglicht, zu wissen, wie es dem Schüler in der EU geht Schuljahr. Von den Anmerkungen, die mit der Qualifikation geliefert werden, muss die Bewertung durchgeführt werden und um festzustellen, was passiert ist, um diese Situation zu erreichen. Nun, weil der Schüler die Ziele auf hervorragende Weise erreicht hat, und deshalb ist es notwendig, diese Situation aufrechtzuerhalten, oder weil die entgegengesetzte Situation eingetreten ist und diesbezüglich Maßnahmen ergriffen werden müssen.

Damián Montero

Video: Orpheus SpendControl - SmallBusiness


Interessante Artikel

Die Bedeutung und Risiken der Familie in Krisenzeiten

Die Bedeutung und Risiken der Familie in Krisenzeiten

In Zeiten der Wirtschaftskrise die Familie in unserer Gesellschaft weiterhin an erster Stelle stehen, mit starken familiären Bindungen, um einander zu helfen. Also, Die Bedeutung der Familie in...

5 Naturparks in Spanien für Kinder

5 Naturparks in Spanien für Kinder

Jedes Jahr am 24. Mai Europäischer Tag der Naturparks, ein großartiger Termin, um sich daran zu erinnern, wie wichtig es ist, diese Lebensräume zu erhalten und sie unseren Kindern zu zeigen. In...

Magnetresonanztomographie der Brust zur Früherkennung

Magnetresonanztomographie der Brust zur Früherkennung

Heute sind sowohl in der Behandlung als auch in der Behandlung große Fortschritte zu verzeichnen Frühe Diagnose von Brustkrebs. Medizinische Tests liefern zunehmend bessere Ergebnisse, die nützliche...

Mobbing steigt in Spanien um 20% pro Jahr

Mobbing steigt in Spanien um 20% pro Jahr

In Spanien steigt die Zahl der Fälle von Mobbing jedes Jahr um 20%, wobei im letzten Jahr insgesamt 1.475 Fälle registriert wurden. Diese Situation ist in den letzten Jahren in Bezug auf Prävention,...