Hypertension, the silent disease: 4 million undiagnosed

The hypertension does not produce symptoms, hence there are up to 4 million hypertensive patients undiagnosed. In Spain, there are 14 million people with high blood pressure, which represents approximately 50% of those over 55 years.

"The main problem is that of the 14 million patients with the disease, 4 million does not know and another 9 million does not have it controlled", explains Dr. Antonio Álvarez-Viéitez, clinical cardiologist at the Hospital La Milagrosa.

It is established that a person has arterial hypertension when the elevation of blood pressure above 135/85 mm Hg. It is desirable that it be below 125/80 mm Hg. We must also forget the old concept of compensated and decompensated blood pressure because it has been seen that this does not mean an increase in risk.


Symptoms and causes of hypertension

Hypertension does not produce symptoms, the main fact of underdiagnosis. "When there are severe headaches and dizziness, sometimes the tension rises but it is not a symptom, but a cause." The same happens when there are spills in the eyes or nosebleeds (epistaxis), which is anxiety that causes the rise in tension ", explains the cardiologist at the Hospital La Milagrosa.

In 95% of cases, The cause of high blood pressure is unknown (called essential hypertension) where they can influence for example inheritance, obesity, sedentary lifestyle, the intake of drugs and some medications (anti-inflammatory), or sleep apnea.


Risks of high blood pressure

High blood pressure affects the heart causing the thickness of its walls to increase (left ventricle hypertrophy) causing decreased myocardial risk, heart failure and arrhythmias.

It can affect the blood vessels producing micro-trauma in the inner layer of the arteries (endothelium) and here attach cells (platelets) and begin to form plaque of atheroma and obstruction of the arteries. It can affect all the arteries: coronary (heart attacks), cerebral (strokes), those of the retina and those of the kidney (renal insufficiency).

Another risk is that when the pressure increases, bleeding occurs when an artery ruptures (hemorrhagic stroke).

How to make the diagnosis of hypertension?

It is advisable to perform taking blood pressure every 6 months after age 40 and more frequently if you have a tendency to hypertension. "In hypertensive patients, I recommend that they take the stress themselves, in order to avoid the anxiety component of going to the doctor (white coat hypertension)," explains Dr. Álvarez-Viéitez. Blood pressure should always be measured with a cuff placed on the arm, because wrist devices are much less reliable.


The definitive diagnosis is made with an ambulatory pressure monitoring for 24 hours (voltage Holter). With this device you can see the voltage peaks, the percentages of hypertension and the pressure during sleep.

What is the best treatment for high blood pressure?

It is recommended avoid the three eses: sedentary lifestyle, overweight and salt. A pharmacological treatment is almost always necessary if this is not achieved.

According to the cardiologist at La Milagrosa Hospital, "the treatments are based on decreasing the circulating fluid (diuretics), decreasing the strength and frequency of contraction of the heart (beta-blockers) and increasing the arterial continent (vasodilators)".

Marina Berrio
Advice:Dr. Antonio Álvarez-Viéitez, clinical cardiologist at the Hospital La Milagrosa.

Video: High Blood Pressure- The Silent Killer Pt1


Interesting Articles

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

We have already talked about the bottle warmers, that instrument that for someone without children may seem unimportant ... but who has it! Especially when we go on a trip, true? We do not always...

Sport for preschool children

Sport for preschool children

Accustoming our children to perform different physical activities is not only advisable for their health, but also to entertain and relieve tension. Since they are still very small, preschool sports...

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Traveling is one of the funniest activities we can do as a family when we have young children, but it can also become a nightmare if we do not foresee certain situations in advance, since having...

Hypertonie, die stille Krankheit: 4 Millionen nicht diagnostiziert

Die Bluthochdruck verursacht keine SymptomeDaher werden bis zu 4 Millionen Patienten mit Bluthochdruck undiagnostiziert. In Spanien gibt es 14 Millionen Menschen mit hohem Blutdruck, was etwa 50% derjenigen über 55 Jahre entspricht.

"Das Hauptproblem ist das der 14 Millionen Patienten mit der Krankheit, 4 Millionen wissen es nicht und weitere 9 Millionen haben es nicht kontrolliert", erklärt Dr. Antonio Álvarez-Viéitez, klinischer Kardiologe am Krankenhaus La Milagrosa.

Es steht fest, dass eine Person dies hat Bluthochdruck wenn die Erhöhung des Blutdrucks über 135/85 mm Hg liegt. Es ist wünschenswert, dass es unter 125/80 mm Hg liegt. Wir müssen auch das alte Konzept des kompensierten und dekompensierten Blutdrucks vergessen, da sich gezeigt hat, dass dies keine Erhöhung des Risikos bedeutet.


Symptome und Ursachen von Bluthochdruck

Hypertonie verursacht keine Symptome, die Hauptursache der Unterdiagnose. "Wenn es starke Kopfschmerzen und Schwindel gibt, steigt manchmal die Anspannung, aber es ist kein Symptom, sondern eine Ursache." Das Gleiche geschieht, wenn es in den Augen Nasenbluten oder Nasenbluten (Epistaxis) gibt, was zu Angstzuständen führt Die Spannungen steigen ", erklärt der Kardiologe im Krankenhaus La Milagrosa.

In 95% der Fälle Die Ursache für Bluthochdruck ist unbekannt (genannt essentieller Bluthochdruck), wo sie beispielsweise Erbschaft, Fettleibigkeit, sitzende Lebensweise, die Einnahme von Medikamenten und einigen Medikamenten (entzündungshemmend) oder Schlafapnoe beeinflussen können.


Risiken für hohen Blutdruck

Ein zu hoher Blutdruck wirkt sich auf das Herz aus, wodurch die Dicke seiner Wände zunimmt (Hypertrophie im linken Ventrikel), wodurch das Herzmuskelrisiko, Herzversagen und Arrhythmien verringert werden.

Es kann sich auf die Blutgefäße auswirken, die ein Mikrotrauma in der inneren Schicht der Arterien (Endothel) erzeugen, und hier werden Zellen (Blutplättchen) angeheftet und es beginnt sich Plaque von Atherom und eine Verstopfung der Arterien zu bilden. Sie kann alle Arterien betreffen: Koronar (Herzinfarkt), Gehirn (Schlaganfall), die Netzhaut und die der Niere (Niereninsuffizienz).

Ein weiteres Risiko besteht darin, dass bei Druckanstieg Blutungen auftreten, wenn eine Arterie bricht (hämorrhagischer Schlaganfall).

Wie kann man die Diagnose Hypertonie stellen?

Es ist ratsam, durchzuführen Blutdruckabnahme alle 6 Monate nach dem 40. Lebensjahr und häufiger, wenn Sie zu Hypertonie neigen. "Bei Bluthochdruckpatienten empfehle ich, dass sie den Stress selbst tragen, um die Angstkomponente des Arztbesuchs zu vermeiden (Weißer Bluthochdruck)", erklärt Dr. Álvarez-Viéitez. Der Blutdruck sollte immer mit einer Manschette am Arm gemessen werden, da Handgelenksgeräte viel weniger zuverlässig sind.


Die definitive Diagnose erfolgt mit einer ambulanten Drucküberwachung für 24 Stunden (Spannungs- Holter). Mit diesem Gerät können Sie die Spannungsspitzen, den Prozentsatz der Hypertonie und den Druck während des Schlafes sehen.

Was ist die beste Behandlung bei Bluthochdruck?

Es wird empfohlen Vermeiden Sie die drei Esse: sitzende Lebensweise, Übergewicht und Salz. Wenn dies nicht erreicht wird, ist fast immer eine pharmakologische Behandlung erforderlich.

Dem Kardiologen des La Milagrosa Hospital zufolge "basieren die Behandlungen auf einer Verringerung der zirkulierenden Flüssigkeit (Diuretika), einer Verringerung der Stärke und Häufigkeit der Kontraktion des Herzens (Betablocker) und der Erhöhung des arteriellen Kontinents (Vasodilatatoren)".

Marina Berrio
Hinweis:Dr. Antonio Álvarez-Viéitezklinischer Kardiologe am Krankenhaus La Milagrosa.

Video: Bluthochdruck: Ohne Medikamente den Blutdruck senken?


Interessante Artikel

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

Sicherlich hatten Sie während Ihrer Schulzeit einen Partner, der immer Hausaufgaben verließ, keine unterschriebenen Prüfungen mitbrachte, Bücher verlor, im Unterricht redete oder oft in den...