How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than they could have been. So the occasion is painted bald and we can take advantage of teach them to accept their failures. We can not imagine the great favor that we will be doing if we manage it well.

Why? Because we have a generation of "not resilient" children. The 'word', 'resilience', has become so fashionable that it seems that one has studies in pedagogy or psychology if he is able to link it three times in a conversation. The concept is much simpler than the term. It means that we have to educate our children with the ability to adapt to frustration and get over it. Come on, strong guys who face adversity.


But we are dedicated to doing children 'flojitos', tender, weeping, that sink into misery when something goes wrong and they get desperate and twist when something goes wrong because of them. Unable to accept things as they are. Unable to make the effort to change them for the better.

The problem comes from far away, from a time when the idea that if we generated frustration processes in children triumphed, they would be marked for life. And they sold us the ass that if we shouted in a firm tone: "It's okay, that's not done", maybe they ended up frustrated and turned into a serial killer. And the last thing parents wanted was to be guilty of having generated a serial killer. It is evident that not even Freud is able to relate an accurate domestic amendment with a clearly irrational behavior. But it sounded good and we believed it.


So where we had been given firewood -in the literal or figurative sense of the term- and every suspense brought home had been a real drama accompanied by exemplary punishment for life, now the parents are dedicated to justify the unjustifiable. We do it in all fields, but with the notes it is a horror. Because there is no more sadly objective finding that there is a problem with the child than a negative report card. And we can say mass, but the problem is with the child.


But the loving parents arrive 'antifrustration' and light the dreaded machine of justifications: seemingly plausible arguments that remove all possible weight to the role of the child in suspense.


Here, with a bomb-proof rhetoric, there is practically everything: that if you have too many duties, that you would need to send more for home; that if the school is excessively rigid, that if it lacks discipline; that if the child arrives exhausted and can not study, that if he has excess energy and can not concentrate; that if there is no way out of so many extracurricular activities, if there is a lack of leisure time; that if the parents are on top, if they should pay more attention.


As if that were not enough, they attack the system, which seems to be always to blame for what they have not justified with the previous story: this system is not for him, he has other multiple intelligences that must be discovered -what damage this excuse has made * -, the teacher has mania - as if the teacher had time to have mania to someone - and other similar.

There is no doubt that there will be more than one factor in the hot suspense fresh out of the evaluation meetings, but let us not be fooled, in general, the bulk of the 'fault' lies with the child and we will make his life infinitely better if we manage to transfer him these two ideas: they have done wrong and they can do it well.

When we justify them, we do not realize the terrible hidden message we are instilling in them: "No matter what you do, your effort is worthless, you can not get it unless the others put it on a platter. It's almost better if you do not try. " Is that really the teaching we want to give them? If we want to avoid their true frustration and guarantee their self-esteem, the best we can do is to tell them: "You have suspended, you and nobody else. Work, you and nobody else. "

Video: The Greatest Teacher Failure is


Interesting Articles

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

We have already talked about the bottle warmers, that instrument that for someone without children may seem unimportant ... but who has it! Especially when we go on a trip, true? We do not always...

Sport for preschool children

Sport for preschool children

Accustoming our children to perform different physical activities is not only advisable for their health, but also to entertain and relieve tension. Since they are still very small, preschool sports...

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Traveling is one of the funniest activities we can do as a family when we have young children, but it can also become a nightmare if we do not foresee certain situations in advance, since having...

Wie kann man ihnen beibringen, ihre Fehler zu akzeptieren?

Bevor Weihnachten ankommt, müssen wir ein wichtiges jährliches Verfahren überwinden: das Eintreffen der Schulnoten. Und sie sind nicht immer gut, manchmal sind sie verdammt schlecht oder zumindest schlimmer als sie hätten sein können. Der Anlass ist also kahl gemalt und wir können dies nutzen lehre sie, ihre Fehler zu akzeptieren. Wir können uns nicht den großen Gefallen vorstellen, den wir tun werden, wenn wir es gut schaffen.

Warum? Weil wir eine Generation "nicht widerstandsfähiger" Kinder haben. Das "Wort", "Resilienz", ist so modisch geworden, dass man anscheinend Pädagogik oder Psychologie studiert hat, wenn er es dreimal in einem Gespräch verbinden kann. Das Konzept ist viel einfacher als der Begriff. Es bedeutet, dass wir unsere Kinder mit der Fähigkeit ausbilden müssen, sich an Frustration anzupassen und darüber hinwegzukommen. Komm schon, starke Jungs, die Widrigkeiten gegenüberstehen.


Aber wir sind engagiert Kinder "Flojitos", zärtlich, weinend, das versinkt im Elend, wenn etwas schief geht und sie verzweifelt werden und sich verdrehen, wenn etwas schief geht. Kann die Dinge nicht so akzeptieren, wie sie sind. Kann sich nicht bemühen, sie zum Besseren zu verändern.

Das Problem kommt von weit her, aus einer Zeit, als der Gedanke, dass, wenn wir bei Kindern Frustrationsprozesse auslösten, sie für das Leben prägen würden. Und sie haben uns den Arsch verkauft, dass, wenn wir in einem festen Ton rufen würden: "Es ist okay, das ist noch nicht geschehen", waren sie vielleicht frustriert und wurden zum Serienmörder. Und das letzte, was Eltern wollten, war, einen Serienmörder erzeugt zu haben. Es ist offensichtlich, dass nicht einmal Freud eine genaue inländische Änderung mit einem eindeutig irrationalen Verhalten in Beziehung setzen kann. Aber es klang gut und wir glaubten es.


Wenn wir also Brennholz im buchstäblichen oder bildlichen Sinn des Begriffs erhalten hatten und jede nach Hause gebrachte Spannung ein echtes Drama war, das von einer vorbildlichen Bestrafung des Lebens begleitet wurde, widmen sich die Eltern nun der Rechtfertigung des Unberechtigten. Wir machen es auf allen Gebieten, aber mit den Notizen ist es ein Horror. Denn es gibt keine traurigere objektive Feststellung, dass ein Problem mit dem Kind vorliegt, als eine negative Zeugniskarte. Und wir können Masse sagen, aber das Problem liegt beim Kind.


Aber die liebevollen Eltern kommen zu einer „Antifrustration“ und entzünden die gefürchtete Maschine der Rechtfertigung: Scheinbar plausible Argumente, die der Rolle des Kindes in der Spannung alles mögliche abnehmen.


Mit einer bombensicheren Rhetorik gibt es hier praktisch alles: Wenn Sie zu viele Pflichten haben, müssten Sie mehr nach Hause schicken; Wenn die Schule übermäßig starr ist, fehlt ihr die Disziplin. wenn das Kind erschöpft ankommt und nicht lernen kann, dass es übermäßig viel Energie hat und sich nicht konzentrieren kann; wenn es keinen Ausweg aus so vielen außerschulischen Aktivitäten gibt, wenn es an Freizeit mangelt; Wenn die Eltern oben sind, sollten sie mehr aufpassen.


Als ob das nicht genug wäre, greifen sie das System an, was immer daran schuld zu sein scheint, was sie mit der vorherigen Geschichte nicht gerechtfertigt haben: Dieses System ist nichts für ihn, er hat andere multiple Intelligenzen, die entdeckt werden müssen - welchen Schaden diese Entschuldigung angerichtet hat * -, der Lehrer hat Manie - als hätte der Lehrer Zeit, jemanden zu manieieren - und ähnliches.

Es besteht kein Zweifel, dass die heiße Spannung, die aus den Evaluierungssitzungen hervorgerufen wird, mehr als einen Faktor hat, aber lassen Sie uns nicht täuschen. Im Allgemeinen liegt der Großteil der "Schuld" beim Kind, und wir werden sein Leben unendlich verbessern, wenn wir es schaffen, ihm diese zu übertragen zwei ideen: sie haben falsch gemacht und können es gut machen.

Wenn wir sie rechtfertigen, erkennen wir nicht die schreckliche verborgene Botschaft, die wir ihnen geben: "Egal was Sie tun, Ihre Anstrengung ist wertlos, Sie können sie nicht bekommen, wenn die anderen sie nicht auf einen Teller legen. Es ist fast besser, wenn Sie es nicht versuchen. " Ist das wirklich der Unterricht, den wir ihnen geben wollen? Wenn wir ihre wahre Frustration vermeiden und ihr Selbstwertgefühl garantieren wollen, können wir ihnen am besten sagen: "Du hast dich und sonst niemand suspendiert. Arbeit, du und niemand sonst. "

Video: So lernst du dich ganz zu akzeptieren


Interessante Artikel

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Ab welchem ​​Alter wird empfohlen, diesen wöchentlichen Lohn zu zahlen? Wann kann das Kind mit dieser wirtschaftlichen Autonomie ausgestattet werden, um seine Ausgaben zu bezahlen? Diese Entscheidung...