What to eat and drink at Christmas if you are breastfeeding your baby

Celebrating Christmas with a newborn baby makes these dates even more special in which meals and dinners with friends and family take place. However, if you are breastfeeding your baby, you may have many doubts about what you should or should not eat and, of course, what you should and should not drink.

To fully enjoy Christmas meals and dinners is posbie. If you still have recent dietary limitations of pregnancy, now with breastfeeding you should not worry because the restrictions are much less than you think. The feeding of the mother in breastfeeding is very important for both you and your baby, and if your goal is to enjoy these holidays breastfeeding your baby with a little common sense it will be that easy.


What to eat or not eat at Christmas if you are breastfeeding your baby

Christmas lunches and dinners are usually more plentiful than usual. Everything is celebrated around the table and it seems that we are chaining one food with another, what should you keep in mind? Alba Padró, international lactation consultant and co-founder of LactApp, offers the following tips for mothers who are breastfeeding to enjoy the holidays:

1. There are no prohibited foods when you breastfeed your baby. Not the garlic, nor the vegetables, nor any type of vegetable. All foods modify the taste of breast milk, but not only nothing happens, but it is good that the baby is accustomed to different flavors, it will be good when you stop breastfeeding exclusively and start taking other foods.


2. If your baby is allergic to any food, you should go with special care. Remember that many times, when we cook, we can forget the presence of some ingredients so you have to be very sure of what you are going to eat. When in doubt, it is better to have a specific meal, not because of being a nursing mother, but to avoid allergic reactions in the baby.

3. As you already know, you do not need to eat for two. But one day is a day, so despite the fact that to breastfeed you only need about 500 extra daily calories, if you exceed a meal, do not worry. Remember that breastfeeding will help you get rid of all those calories you do not need.

4. Eat as healthy as possible, as you do all year, especially for your health. The norm is the same for everyone, whether you are a nursing mother or not. As long as you do not have any type of allergy or intolerance, a healthy diet consists mainly of fruits, vegetables and legumes, avoiding empty calories and precooked foods. .


5. Even if your diet is not perfect, your milk will be the most appropriate and optimal for your baby. The body always prepares the ideal recipe for your child and the diet you follow at Christmas, will not change its quality.

What to drink or not drink if you are breastfeeding your baby

You know if breastfeeding the baby you can have a glass of wine or a beer is the main concern of mothers who are breastfeeding their baby during the holidays. Can a nursing mother drink alcohol? If you can avoid drinking alcohol, much better. But does something happen if, exceptionally, you drink a glass of wine, for example, or a beer, even if you are breastfeeding? While during pregnancy is totally discouraged, breastfeeding is a completely different situation.

It is not known how much alcohol the nursing mother can take to make it safe for the baby. Therefore, the official indications in this regard are correct in recommending that the mother not drink alcohol during breastfeeding. The problem with this recommendation is that limiting the mother with such strict indications about her diet ends up causing her to decide to wean earlier than she would like, with the consequent damage to the baby's health.

Therefore, although alcohol is never healthy or recommended, for the health of the baby it is preferable that the mother take a drink at Christmas and continue breastfeeding to abandon breastfeeding for not being able to toast during the holidays. Obviously, if your baby is less than one month old, premature or sick, you must take extreme precautions and avoid any alcohol consumption.
Regarding other drinks, such as drinks with gas or juices, it is widely known that they are not healthy, but they will not affect your milk or the baby, so if you want to drink more than water during these holidays, you can drink it perfectly while you are breastfeeding. .

If what worries you is caffeine, calm, you can make a moderate consumption of coffee and tea without affecting your child. If you have taken more than usual and you notice that you are very irritable or find it hard to fall asleep, it is for that reason and in a few hours it will pass. But most likely, the changes and the fuss of the parties do not make much fun.

Patricia Ranilla
Advice: Alba Padró, international lactation consultant and co-founder of LactApp

It may interest you:

- How to care for the premature baby

- Breastfeeding crisis, how to overcome them according to the AEP

- Maternal nutrition during lactation

- Breast milk during lactation

Video: Breastfeeding NICU Preemies, Step 4: Getting Better at Breastfeeding


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Was Sie zu Weihnachten essen und trinken können, wenn Sie Ihr Baby stillen

Das Feiern von Weihnachten mit einem Neugeborenen macht diese Termine noch spezieller, an denen Mahlzeiten und Abendessen mit Freunden und Familie stattfinden. Wenn Sie Ihr Baby jedoch stillen, haben Sie möglicherweise viele Zweifel, was Sie essen sollen oder was nicht und was Sie natürlich nicht trinken sollten.

Weihnachtsessen und Abendessen in vollen Zügen genießen, ist posbie. Wenn Sie in der letzten Zeit immer noch Einschränkungen in der Ernährung während der Schwangerschaft haben, sollten Sie sich jetzt keine Sorgen mehr machen, da die Einschränkungen viel geringer sind, als Sie denken. Das Stillen der Mutter ist sowohl für Sie als auch für Ihr Baby sehr wichtig, und wenn Sie diese Ferien mit etwas gesundem Menschenverstand genießen möchten, wird es so einfach sein.


Was Sie zu Weihnachten essen oder nicht essen, wenn Sie Ihr Baby stillen

Weihnachtsessen zum Mittag- und Abendessen sind normalerweise reichlicher als üblich. Alles wird rund um den Tisch gefeiert und es scheint, dass wir ein Essen mit einem anderen ketten. Was sollten Sie beachten? Alba Padró, internationaler Stillberater und Mitbegründer von LactApp, bietet die folgenden Tipps für stillende Mütter, um die Feiertage zu genießen:

1. Es gibt keine verbotenen Nahrungsmittel, wenn Sie Ihr Baby stillen. Nicht der Knoblauch, das Gemüse oder irgendeine Art von Gemüse. Alle Lebensmittel verändern den Geschmack von Muttermilch, aber nicht nur, dass nichts passiert, aber es ist gut, dass sich das Baby an verschiedene Geschmacksrichtungen gewöhnt. Es ist gut, wenn Sie ausschließlich mit dem Stillen aufhören und andere Lebensmittel einnehmen.


2. Wenn Ihr Baby auf Lebensmittel allergisch reagiert, sollten Sie besonders vorsichtig sein. Denken Sie daran, dass wir beim Kochen oft die Anwesenheit einiger Zutaten vergessen können. Sie müssen also sehr sicher sein, was Sie essen möchten. Im Zweifelsfall ist es besser, eine bestimmte Mahlzeit zu sich zu nehmen, nicht um stillende Mutter zu sein, sondern um allergische Reaktionen beim Baby zu vermeiden.

3. Wie Sie bereits wissen, müssen Sie nicht zu zweit essen. Aber ein Tag ist ein Tag. Trotz der Tatsache, dass Sie zum Stillen nur etwa 500 zusätzliche tägliche Kalorien benötigen, wenn Sie eine Mahlzeit übersteigen, machen Sie sich keine Sorgen. Denken Sie daran, dass das Stillen Ihnen hilft, all die Kalorien zu beseitigen, die Sie nicht brauchen.

4. Essen Sie so gesund wie möglich wie Sie das ganze Jahr tun, vor allem für Ihre Gesundheit. Die Norm ist für alle gleich, unabhängig davon, ob Sie stillende Mutter sind oder nicht. Solange Sie keine Art von Allergie oder Intoleranz haben, besteht eine gesunde Ernährung hauptsächlich aus Obst, Gemüse und Hülsenfrüchten, wodurch leere Kalorien und vorgekochte Speisen vermieden werden. .


5. Selbst wenn Ihre Ernährung nicht perfekt ist, ist Ihre Milch für Ihr Baby am besten geeignet und optimal. Der Körper bereitet immer das ideale Rezept für Ihr Kind zu und die Ernährung, die Sie zu Weihnachten einhalten, ändert nichts an der Qualität.

Was trinken oder nicht trinken, wenn Sie Ihr Baby stillen

Sie wissen, wenn Sie stillen möchten, können Sie ein Glas Wein oder ein Bier trinken. Dies ist das Hauptanliegen von Müttern, die ihr Baby während der Ferien stillen. Kann eine stillende Mutter Alkohol trinken? Wenn du vermeiden kannst, Alkohol zu trinken, viel besser. Aber passiert etwas, wenn Sie ausnahmsweise zum Beispiel ein Glas Wein oder ein Bier trinken, auch wenn Sie stillen? Während während der Schwangerschaft völlig entmutigt wird, ist das Stillen eine völlig andere Situation.

Es ist nicht bekannt, wie viel Alkohol die stillende Mutter einnehmen kann, um das Baby sicher zu machen. Daher sind die offiziellen Hinweise in dieser Hinsicht zutreffend, da sie empfehlen, dass die Mutter während des Stillens keinen Alkohol trinken sollte. Das Problem bei dieser Empfehlung ist, dass die Einschränkung der Mutter mit so strikten Hinweisen auf ihre Ernährung dazu führt, dass sie sich dazu entschließt, früher abzunehmen, als sie möchte, was die Gesundheit des Babys beeinträchtigt.

Obwohl Alkohol nie gesund ist oder empfohlen wird, ist es für die Gesundheit des Babys vorzuziehen, dass die Mutter zu Weihnachten ein Getränk nimmt und das Stillen fortsetzt, um das Stillen aufzugeben, da sie in den Ferien nicht anstoßen kann. Wenn Ihr Baby weniger als einen Monat alt ist, zu früh oder krank ist, müssen Sie natürlich extreme Vorsichtsmaßnahmen treffen und jeglichen Alkoholkonsum vermeiden.
In Bezug auf andere Getränke, wie z. B. Getränke mit Gas oder Säften, ist allgemein bekannt, dass sie nicht gesund sind. Sie wirken sich jedoch nicht auf Ihre Milch oder Ihr Baby aus. Wenn Sie also in diesen Ferien mehr als Wasser trinken möchten, können Sie es während der Stillzeit perfekt trinken. .

Wenn Sie sich Sorgen um Koffein machen, können Sie ruhig Kaffee und Tee trinken, ohne Ihr Kind zu beeinträchtigen. Wenn Sie mehr als üblich eingenommen haben und feststellen, dass Sie sehr gereizt sind oder schwer einschlafen können, ist dies der Grund und in wenigen Stunden wird es vergehen. Aber höchstwahrscheinlich machen die Veränderungen und der Lärm der Parteien nicht viel Spaß.

Patricia Ranilla
Hinweis: Alba Padró, internationaler Stillberater und Mitbegründer von LactApp

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Wie man sich um das Frühgeborene kümmert

- Stillkrise, wie sie laut AEP überwunden werden können

- Mutterernährung während der Stillzeit

- Muttermilch während der Stillzeit

Video: Stillprobleme I Zu wenig Milch I Hebammentips zum Stillen I Baby nimmt nicht gut zu


Interessante Artikel

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Was ist das beste Alter, um zu bezahlen?

Ab welchem ​​Alter wird empfohlen, diesen wöchentlichen Lohn zu zahlen? Wann kann das Kind mit dieser wirtschaftlichen Autonomie ausgestattet werden, um seine Ausgaben zu bezahlen? Diese Entscheidung...