ADHD, the challenge of making friends

What is different always causes something of fear. Leaving the comfort zone and knowing something different costs a lot and that is why when a child does not adjust to the normal canon, he can be rejected by the rest of his classmates. An example is children with Attention Deficit Disorder, ADHD, who may encounter problems when making friends and strengthen them.

Not only because being different provokes the rejection of others, but because of the problems of the ADHD. Therefore, Mark Griffin, founder and director of Eagle Hill School, a school for children with specific learning disabilities, explains some basic notions for parents of children with these disorders. Some tips with which aims to promote the social development of these children.


Difficulties of ADHD

A child with ADHD has difficulties making friends because these children may lack self-control and be extremely assets. These small can cause a fatigue in their interlocutors to talk a lot and say things without thinking. At the same time they can also provoke the anger of their peers by not paying attention to what other people are saying and for example not knowing the rules of a game and doing it wrong.

In addition these students have more likely of:

- Not to be accepted easily by their peers

- Being socially left out by their teachers and classmates


- Being seen by their teachers as lacking in social skills

- Not being chosen for school plays or to join group activities

- Be more willing to give in to the pressure that their colleagues impose

However, these difficulties do not mean that they can not have friends. Simply that children with ADHD need more time to adapt in this regard and support from parents and educators. In this way you will contribute to your self-esteem to be maintained and also learn to deal with the problems related to this disorder.

Help the child with ADHD

The first step to help a child with ADHD is to talk with the children's teachers. Teachers spend many hours with children in a social environment such as school, where the child with this disorder is related to other companions. Therefore they can find ways to create groups where this student feels integrated, in addition to explaining to the rest that this is one more and someone to have fun with if given the opportunity.


At home the parents of the child with ADHD can work to change the behavior of these children to teach them how to maintain the calm and to be able to maintain the attention in the moments of game with his companions. They can also encourage children to create social events such as snacks at home or trips to the movies with their classmates.

Parents also have to teach their children to deal with their emotions and the feelings that cause them to see themselves without friends. Encouraging children to talk about these topics will help to reinforce the children's confidence and encourage them to seek new friendships, not to give up because they feel different.

Damián Montero

Video: ADHD and Friendships: How to Play the Social Game!


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

ADHS, die Herausforderung, Freunde zu finden

Was anders ist, verursacht immer etwas Angst. Die Komfortzone zu verlassen und etwas anderes zu wissen, kostet viel. Deshalb kann ein Kind, das sich nicht an den normalen Kanon gewöhnt, von den anderen Klassenkameraden abgelehnt werden. Ein Beispiel sind Kinder mit Aufmerksamkeitsdefizitsyndrom, ADHS, die Probleme haben können, wenn sie Freunde finden und sie stärken.

Nicht nur, weil das Anderssein die Ablehnung anderer hervorruft, sondern auch wegen der Probleme der ADHS. Daher erklärt Mark Griffin, Gründer und Direktor der Eagle Hill School, einer Schule für Kinder mit spezifischen Lernschwierigkeiten, einige grundlegende Vorstellungen für Eltern von Kindern mit diesen Erkrankungen. Einige Tipps, mit denen die soziale Entwicklung dieser Kinder gefördert werden soll.


Schwierigkeiten bei ADHS

Ein Kind mit ADHS hat Schwierigkeiten, Freunde zu finden, da diesen Kindern die Selbstkontrolle fehlt und sie extrem sind Vermögenswerte. Diese kleinen Personen können bei ihren Gesprächspartnern ermüden, viel zu reden und Dinge zu sagen, ohne zu denken. Gleichzeitig können sie auch die Wut ihrer Kollegen provozieren, indem sie nicht darauf achten, was andere Leute sagen, und zum Beispiel die Regeln eines Spiels nicht kennen und es falsch machen.

Dazu haben diese Studenten wahrscheinlicher von:

- Nicht leicht von ihren Kollegen akzeptiert zu werden

- von ihren Lehrern und Klassenkameraden sozial ausgeschlossen werden


- von ihren Lehrern als mangelnde soziale Fähigkeiten wahrgenommen werden

- Nicht für Schulspiele oder Gruppenaktivitäten ausgewählt

- Seien Sie eher bereit, dem Druck ihrer Kollegen nachzugeben

Diese Schwierigkeiten bedeuten jedoch nicht, dass sie keine Freunde haben können. Einfach, dass Kinder mit ADHS mehr Zeit brauchen, um sich in dieser Hinsicht anzupassen und Unterstützung von Eltern und Erziehern zu erhalten. Auf diese Weise tragen Sie dazu bei, dass Ihr Selbstwertgefühl erhalten bleibt und Sie lernen, mit den damit verbundenen Problemen umzugehen Unordnung.

Helfen Sie dem Kind mit ADHS

Der erste Schritt, einem Kind mit ADHS zu helfen, besteht darin, mit den LehrerInnen der Kinder zu sprechen. Lehrer verbringen viele Stunden mit Kindern in einer sozialen Umgebung wie der Schule, in der das Kind mit dieser Störung verwandt ist andere Gefährten. Aus diesem Grund können sie Wege finden, Gruppen zu erstellen, in denen sich der Schüler als integriert fühlt, und den anderen erklären, dass dies eine weitere Person ist, mit der man Spaß haben kann, wenn sie die Gelegenheit dazu hat.


Zu Hause können die Eltern des Kindes mit ADHS daran arbeiten, das Verhalten dieser Kinder zu ändern, um ihnen beizubringen, wie sie das Kind behandeln ruhig und in der Lage sein, die Aufmerksamkeit in den Momenten des Spiels mit seinen Gefährten aufrechtzuerhalten. Sie können Kinder auch dazu ermutigen, gesellschaftliche Veranstaltungen wie Snacks zu Hause oder Ausflüge mit ihren Klassenkameraden in die Filme zu gestalten.

Eltern müssen ihren Kindern auch beibringen, mit ihren Kindern umzugehen Emotionen und die Gefühle, die sie dazu bringen, sich selbst ohne Freunde zu sehen. Die Ermutigung von Kindern, über diese Themen zu sprechen, wird dazu beitragen, das Vertrauen der Kinder zu stärken und sie zu ermutigen, neue Freundschaften zu suchen, nicht aufzugeben, weil sie sich anders fühlen.

Damián Montero

Video: How to Help Someone who has ADHD


Interessante Artikel

Heilmittel gegen Langeweile von Kindern

Heilmittel gegen Langeweile von Kindern

Die Ferien kommen und mit ihnen die begehrte Freizeit. Unsere Kleinen freuen sich auf die Feiertage, wenn die Zeit reif ist Langeweile ist das dominierende Tonikum in diesen Tagen.Ihre Aktivität...