Back to school, how to calm the anxiety of children

The vacations of the smallest are ending. The end of summer is approaching and the back to school. A shock for many children who have to face, after several months of rest and free time, a return to the early morning routine and the absence of travel, leisure activities and a lot of free time. It is not surprising that there is therefore a feeling of anxiety among the little ones.

But we must not allow children to let themselves be overcome by this situation and parents can help their children to face these moments calmly. From the Child Mind Institute a series of tips are offered to prevent the smallest of the house from immersing themselves in this feeling of anxiety.


Do not leave everything for the last moment

In many occasions this anxiety occurs when you realize that soon you will start again school. That is to say, the child lived in a bubble that prevented him from remembering that soon his holidays were going to end and suddenly he sees a day of resuming classes and saying goodbye to the summer. There is little assimilation time and this causes these sensations.

For this reason it is recommended not to leave everything for the last moment. Before September arrives you can remember the back to school, without overwhelming the children too much. A good example is to propose to the students a brief review before the course begins, challenge them as a game to remember everything they learned the previous year and point out how much they will know this new academic year.


You can also start preparing the return to school gradually. For this you can spend a day to check what material is reusable for this new course and which is not. In this way, the school will be integrated gradually into the mind of the child who will internalize through these activities his return to the classroom next September.

Do not insist

It should be noted that we must not insist on these activities, simply integrate them gradually into the smallest ones. Constantly reminding them of their return to school can have the opposite effect: awakening a feeling of anxiety because everything is perfect and even feeling guilty for not doing anything as the date approaches.

You have to remember that children are still on vacation. A time of break deserved and that should be taken advantage of until the last moment. This disconnection must be respected, but without resting on its laurels. Finding the middle ground between responsibility and free time is the key to letting anxiety disappear from children in one way or another.


If in spite of everything the child keeps showing symptom of anxiety that are increasing as the date of return to the classroom approaches, parents can go to talk with teachers to warn them of this situation. In this way, once the course is started, these students will receive extra support from the teaching staff that will help them to return to this routine quickly.

Damián Montero

Video: How to Help Your Child with Back to School Anxiety


Interesting Articles

How to extract and preserve breast milk

How to extract and preserve breast milk

There are various reasons that can lead a mother to require Take your own milk to give to your baby through the bottle. This decision, whether taken by first-time mothers or already experienced,...

We have couple problems, why are they slow to solve?

We have couple problems, why are they slow to solve?

When the problems of coexistence appear in the first years of marriage, we have two possibilities. The first and natural is usually to be scared, to despair, to think that everything will go badly...

Positive rebellion

Positive rebellion

Recently I heard a mother and friend encouraging us to another group of mothers to question everything. He assured that those people who do not look for the whys of life, of their beliefs, of the...

Zurück zur Schule, wie man die Angst der Kinder beruhigt

Die Ferien der Kleinsten sind zu Ende. Das Ende des Sommers naht und der zurück in die schule. Ein Schock für viele Kinder, die nach mehrmonatiger Ruhe und Freizeit eine Rückkehr in den frühen Morgenlauf und das Fehlen von Reisen, Freizeitaktivitäten und viel Freizeit erleben müssen. Es ist nicht verwunderlich, dass daher unter den Kleinen Angstgefühle herrschen.

Aber wir dürfen nicht zulassen, dass sich Kinder von dieser Situation überwinden lassen, und Eltern können ihren Kindern helfen, diesen Momenten in Ruhe zu begegnen. Aus dem Child Mind Institute Es gibt eine Reihe von Tipps, um zu verhindern, dass sich die Kleinsten des Hauses in dieses Gefühl der Angst eintauchen.


Lassen Sie nicht alles für den letzten Moment

In vielen Fällen tritt diese Angst auf, wenn Sie feststellen, dass Sie bald wieder von vorne anfangen werden College. Das Kind lebte also in einer Blase, die ihn daran hinderte, sich daran zu erinnern, dass bald seine Ferien enden würden, und plötzlich sieht er einen Tag, an dem er den Unterricht fortsetzen und sich vom Sommer verabschieden kann. Es gibt wenig Assimilationszeit und dies verursacht diese Empfindungen.

Aus diesem Grund wird empfohlen, nicht alles für den letzten Moment zu lassen. Bevor der September kommt, können Sie sich an das erinnern zurück in die schule, ohne die Kinder zu sehr zu überfordern. Ein gutes Beispiel ist, den Schülern vor Beginn des Kurses eine kurze Rezension vorzuschlagen, sie als Spiel herauszufordern, sich an alles zu erinnern, was sie im letzten Jahr gelernt haben, und darauf hinzuweisen, wie viel sie dieses neue akademische Jahr kennen.


Sie können auch schrittweise die Rückkehr in die Schule vorbereiten. Dafür können Sie einen Tag verbringen, um zu prüfen, welches Material für diesen neuen Kurs wiederverwendbar ist und welches nicht. Auf diese Weise wird die Schule allmählich in das Bewusstsein des Kindes integriert, das durch diese Aktivitäten seine Rückkehr zum Klassenzimmer nächsten September verinnerlichen wird.

Bestehen Sie nicht darauf

Es sei darauf hingewiesen, dass wir darauf nicht bestehen dürfen Aktivitäten, integrieren Sie sie einfach nach und nach in die kleinsten. Wenn sie ständig an die Rückkehr in die Schule erinnert werden, kann dies den gegenteiligen Effekt haben: ein Gefühl der Angst zu wecken, weil alles perfekt ist, und sich sogar schuldig fühlen, wenn sie sich dem Datum nicht nähern.

Sie müssen bedenken, dass Kinder noch im Urlaub sind. Eine Zeit von brechen verdient und das sollte bis zum letzten Moment ausgenutzt werden. Diese Trennung muss respektiert werden, ohne sich jedoch auf den Lorbeeren auszuruhen. Den Mittelweg zwischen Verantwortung und Freizeit zu finden, ist der Schlüssel, um die Angst von Kindern auf die eine oder andere Weise verschwinden zu lassen.


Wenn trotz allem das Kind immer zeigt Symptome Mit zunehmender Angst vor der Rückkehr in den Unterricht können Eltern mit Lehrern sprechen, um sie vor dieser Situation zu warnen. Auf diese Weise erhalten diese Studenten nach Beginn des Kurses eine zusätzliche Unterstützung durch das Lehrpersonal, die ihnen hilft, schnell zu dieser Routine zurückzukehren.

Damián Montero

Video: Angst mit Mut begegnen


Interessante Artikel

Fünf günstige Babybadewannen, ideal zum Kaufen

Fünf günstige Babybadewannen, ideal zum Kaufen

Das Baby kommt an und plötzlich merkt man die Menge neue Objekte, die Sie zu Hause benötigen: die Wiege, der Wickeltisch, der Kinderwagen und natürlich die Badewanne für das Badritual. Wissen Sie...

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar Es ist eine Art von Gewalt mit sehr ernsten und gefährlichen Folgen, die normalerweise selbst für die Missbrauchten, die sich schuldig fühlen, entwertet usw....

9 Schlüssel, um den Schlaf des Babys zu verbessern

9 Schlüssel, um den Schlaf des Babys zu verbessern

Es ist logisch, dass wir, obwohl unser Sohn sehr klein ist, ihn daran gewöhnen wollen, während der Ruhezeiten ruhig zu bleiben. Es ist anstrengend, die Nächte wach zu verbringen, daher kommt es zu...