Learning to eat: how to educate the senses

Normally, we consider that food is a matter of taste, but it is much more. It is clear that we all have preferences for some flavors, for a type of food, or for a particular style of food. Children from very young also have their tastes and they enjoy more with some foods than with others.

But if we were based on taste, probably their diet would be reduced to four foods, generally, those easier to eat with a certain sweet touch, such as yogurt or chocolate. So it is clear that not only do we have to rely on the child's taste for their food, but also we must educate the sense of taste.


Educate the senses: indispensable to learn to eat

This means showing them different flavors, textures, smells, so they can see, smell, touch and taste. This initial approach can be considered as the key for children to learn to eat everything.

We must leave time for them to discover the flavors and experience them. The initial reaction is usually rejection because it is something new that they do not know, but this does not mean that they do not like it, but that they find it strange. You have to give them time, insist again without forcing. For this moment it is good to generate play activities, in short, to give it a more playful touch.

It is interesting to organize this test of new dishes and flavors in moments that do not always have to be linked to your food. They eat what they have to do, but we can give to try new foods, which may be from our plate, which usually arouses their interest.


We must take advantage of any request that they make towards a food to give it to them and constantly have in our mouth the option of "do you want to try?", "Do you feel like it?", "Look how good". This phase is usually prolonged in time because it is not automatic to try a food and that you like. You have to try several times until we see that it They are accustomed to the flavors, textures, smells and want to eat it. That's when we can put him in his usual diet.

From here, as we continue to offer certain foods, children will develop their tastes and we will discover them. There will be things that you like more than others.

Try new foods: the sooner the better

The opportunities to try the foods have to occur at very early ages, it is not a necessary condition that they have teeth to be able to try and discover many of the foods. In many occasions the introduction of solid foods for convenience is delayed, since the mashed potatoes eat it very fast, or for fear of being rejected. This delay is not positive for the development of the child.


The sooner you are able to chew, the sooner you will not only eat solid foods, but also develop important physical and cognitive abilities for other future activities such as position of the mouth when speaking or the physical ability to produce a blow in a musical instrument. It's more than just learning to eat.

Therefore, it is important to highlight the fundamental role we have for children to achieve good eating and nutritional habits. It is advisable to give them to try all kinds of food from small, accustom them to eat everything, not refuse food and have a balanced diet that promotes their nutritional development. All this we have to achieve while we teach them to behave in an appropriate way at the table and, at the same time, they learn to enjoy food as a moment of social relationship and family contact.

María Campo Director NClic-Kimba

It may interest you:

- Complementary feeding of the baby

- Flavors for your baby: stimulates your sense of taste

- Table of introduction of food in the baby

- The introduction of food in the baby

Video: Blippi Learns the 5 Senses at a Play Place | Educational Toddler Videos


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Essen lernen: Wie die Sinne erzogen werden

Normalerweise betrachten wir das Essen als Geschmackssache, aber es ist viel mehr. Es ist klar, dass wir alle Vorlieben für einige Geschmacksrichtungen, für eine bestimmte Art von Essen oder für eine bestimmte Art von Essen haben. Kinder von sehr jung haben auch ihren Geschmack und Sie genießen mehr mit einigen Lebensmitteln als mit anderen.

Aber wenn wir auf Geschmack basierten, würde sich ihre Ernährung wahrscheinlich auf vier Nahrungsmittel reduzieren, im Allgemeinen solche, die mit einer gewissen süßen Note leichter zu essen sind, wie Joghurt oder Schokolade. Es ist also klar, dass wir uns nicht nur auf den Geschmack des Kindes für sein Essen verlassen müssen, sondern auch Wir müssen den Geschmackssinn erziehen.


Erziehen Sie die Sinne: Unverzichtbar für das Essen lernen

Dies bedeutet, ihnen unterschiedliche Aromen, Texturen und Gerüche zu zeigen, damit sie sehen, riechen, berühren und schmecken können. Dieser erste Ansatz kann als Schlüssel für Kinder angesehen werden, um zu lernen, alles zu essen.

Wir müssen ihnen Zeit lassen, um die Aromen zu entdecken und sie zu erfahren. Die anfängliche Reaktion ist normalerweise Ablehnung, weil sie etwas Neues ist, das sie nicht kennen. Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass sie es nicht mögen, sondern dass sie es seltsam finden. Sie müssen ihnen Zeit geben, darauf bestehen, ohne zu zwingen. Für diesen Moment ist es gut, Spielaktivitäten zu generieren, um es spielerischer zu gestalten.

Es ist interessant, diesen Test für neue Gerichte und Aromen in Momenten zu organisieren, die nicht immer mit Ihrem Essen in Verbindung stehen müssen. Sie essen, was sie tun müssen, aber wir können geben, um neue Lebensmittel auszuprobieren, was von unserer Platte sein kann, die normalerweise ihr Interesse weckt.


Wir müssen jede Bitte, die sie an ein Essen richten, nutzen, um es ihnen zu geben, und ständig in unserem Mund die Option "Möchten Sie es versuchen?", "Haben Sie Lust darauf?", "Wie gut aussehen". Diese Phase verlängert sich in der Regel, da es nicht automatisch ist, ein Lebensmittel zu probieren, das Sie mögen. Du musst es mehrmals versuchen, bis wir das sehen Sie sind an die Aromen, Texturen und Gerüche gewöhnt und möchten sie essen. Dann können wir ihn in seine gewohnte Diät bringen.

Wenn wir weiterhin bestimmte Lebensmittel anbieten, werden Kinder ihren Geschmack entwickeln und wir werden sie entdecken. Es wird Dinge geben, die Sie mehr mögen als andere.

Probieren Sie neue Lebensmittel: Je früher, desto besser

Die Möglichkeiten, die Lebensmittel auszuprobieren, müssen in sehr jungen Jahren vorkommen, es ist keine notwendige Bedingung, dass sie Zähne haben, um viele der Lebensmittel ausprobieren zu können. In vielen Fällen verzögert sich die Einführung fester Lebensmittel aus Bequemlichkeitsgründen, da die Kartoffelpüree dies sehr schnell verzehrt oder aus Angst davor, abgelehnt zu werden. Diese Verzögerung wirkt sich nicht positiv auf die Entwicklung des Kindes aus.


Je früher Sie kauen können, desto eher werden Sie nicht nur feste Nahrungsmittel zu sich nehmen, sondern auch wichtige körperliche und kognitive Fähigkeiten für andere zukünftige Aktivitäten wie z Mundposition beim Sprechen oder die körperliche Fähigkeit, einen Schlag in einem Musikinstrument zu erzeugen. Es ist mehr als nur das Essen lernen.

Daher ist es wichtig, die grundlegende Rolle hervorzuheben, die wir für Kinder spielen müssen gute Ess- und Ernährungsgewohnheiten. Es ist ratsam, ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, alle Arten von Lebensmitteln aus kleinen Mengen auszuprobieren, sie daran zu gewöhnen, alles zu essen, keine Speisen zu verweigern und eine ausgewogene Ernährung zu haben, die ihre Ernährungsentwicklung fördert. All dies müssen wir erreichen, während wir ihnen beibringen, sich angemessen am Tisch zu verhalten und gleichzeitig lernen sie, das Essen als Moment der sozialen Beziehung und des Familienkontakts zu genießen.

María Campo Direktor NClic-Kimba

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- ergänzende Fütterung des Babys

- Geschmacksrichtungen für Ihr Baby: stimuliert Ihren Geschmackssinn

- Tabelle der Einführung von Lebensmitteln in das Baby

- Die Einführung von Lebensmitteln in das Baby

Video: Diese 8 Dinge solltest du deinem Kind nicht beibringen


Interessante Artikel

Spiele, um den Schnee mit den Kindern zu genießen

Spiele, um den Schnee mit den Kindern zu genießen

Der Winter bringt die Kälte mit sich und manchmal der Schnee. An Orten, an denen wir nicht sehr gewöhnt sind, wenn ein Sturz gut ist Nutzen Sie den Schnee und spielen Sie besser. Es gibt viele...