Digital natives: 5 golden rules to educate your children

Do you remember a viral video in which a child of about two years old tried to make the same movement of fingers on a television as one does on a tablet? It is a fact that the environment in which our children develop has changed surprisingly in the last fifty years and parents, although we are not digital natives like them, we must accompany them and participate in this change.

Parental involvement in technological change

The problem of the language of digital natives is that it supposes for us as parents and digital immigrants a greater effort on our part.

1. We need is to lose the fear of new technologies. Internet is just a channel, not a message, so the Internet is not good in bad in itself, it is as good or bad as paper, capable of containing the best resources for children and also the greatest atrocities. A good way to lose these fears of the unknown is to try to show our digital native children some of these resources and check their effectiveness. In the Primary stage, surprising results will be discovered.


2. Worry about obtaining specific training in the subject. Prensky emphasizes the need for parents to have a proactive attitude towards the use of new technologies. Because the usual thing is to avoid any information on the question that can come to us on the basis that this does not go with us, we are not familiar and it is alien to us. This circumstance, very frequent, supposes a neglect of functions in our task of educating, since our children will demand from us that we understand the language in which they express themselves and in which they are required to express themselves.

3. Interested in finding suitable content to support our children in the different aspects of their training. Luckily, searching is one of the capabilities of digital natives that immigrants have learned before. If we are able to navigate to find the perfect apartment for holidays, look at the billboard or compare the features of a car, it will not be difficult for us to access the numerous websites that offer learning resources in various areas. There is abundant free material available.


4. The use of the Internet in minors requires a greater presence of parents. In the previous generation, a child who leafed through a history book with more or less interest had no risk of receiving inappropriate material in parallel, such as an adult magazine.

However, if we leave our primary school only with a video that explains the food pyramid with fun drawings, the rich offer of Youtubo will take it from there to other contents, some of them suitable for him but not formative, and others, simply inadequate. It forces us to a greater vigilance even in children of these ages who will not have the adolescent's tendency to search for contents that are decidedly forbidden.

Five golden rules to educate your digital native children

1. Interested: we have to avoid the apathy that ignorance can generate us. You have to ask our children what technologies they use and try to understand how they work.


2. Learn: Our commitment includes asking experts in pedagogy, our children's tutors and other parents, for the most appropriate ages for each type of content. We have to know the rhythm that they follow in school and that of other classmates.

3. Actively search for suitable resources: get informed in specialized magazines in education, in blogs, through the advice that the school provides, in the press and in the search engines.

4. Be present to guide: Children between 6 and 12 years old have a healthy curiosity that will help them to discover new materials, but we must be available to guide their selections and prevent them from being inadequate.

5. Be part of your world: we have to learn, even with an accent, the digital language because otherwise we will be excluded from a fundamental part of the world of our children. This can have serious consequences for the whole family.

It may interest you:

- Digital natives: a different generation of children

- Competences that digital natives no longer develop

- New technologies in the school, its benefits

- Computers in class do not improve student grades

Video: Common Sense Tips for Digital Generation Parents


Interesting Articles

The decision-making dilemma, and what would you do?

The decision-making dilemma, and what would you do?

The main ingredient of the art of accompanying children in the process of becoming healthy and emotionally strong, able to risk choosing and taking responsibility for their decisions is the affective...

The complexes of teenage girls

The complexes of teenage girls

It is very common for teenage girls have physical complexes Some are dissatisfied with the size or shape of their nose; others feel too flat; others complain about their holsters, their silhouette,...

Learning to eat: how to educate the senses

Learning to eat: how to educate the senses

Normally, we consider that food is a matter of taste, but it is much more. It is clear that we all have preferences for some flavors, for a type of food, or for a particular style of food. Children...

The benefits of the school canteen in children

The benefits of the school canteen in children

That our children eat in the school dining room It is often an obligation, especially when we have difficulties to reconcile work and personal life. But not only are they good for parents'...

Digitale Eingeborene: 5 goldene Regeln zur Erziehung Ihrer Kinder

Erinnern Sie sich an ein virales Video, in dem ein etwa zweijähriges Kind auf einem Fernsehgerät die gleichen Fingerbewegungen versuchte wie auf einem Tablet? Es ist eine Tatsache, dass sich das Umfeld, in dem sich unsere Kinder entwickeln, in den letzten fünfzig Jahren und den Eltern überraschend verändert hat, obwohl dies nicht der Fall ist Digital Natives Wie sie müssen wir sie begleiten und an dieser Veränderung teilnehmen.

Elterliche Beteiligung am technologischen Wandel

Das Problem der Sprache von Digital Natives ist das, was es für uns als voraussetzt Eltern und digitale Einwanderer eine größere Anstrengung von unserer Seite.

1. Wir müssen die Angst vor neuen Technologien verlieren. Internet ist nur ein Kanal, keine Nachricht, also ist das Internet an sich nicht gut, es ist so gut oder schlecht wie Papier und kann die besten Ressourcen für Kinder und die größten Grausamkeiten enthalten. Ein guter Weg, um diese Ängste vor dem Unbekannten zu verlieren, besteht darin, unseren digital geborenen Kindern einige dieser Ressourcen zu zeigen und ihre Wirksamkeit zu überprüfen. In der Primärphase werden überraschende Ergebnisse entdeckt.


2. Sorgen Sie sich um eine spezifische Ausbildung in diesem Fach. Prensky betont, dass die Eltern eine proaktive Haltung gegenüber dem Einsatz neuer Technologien einnehmen müssen. Denn es ist üblich, Informationen über die Frage zu vermeiden, die sich aus dem Grund ergeben können, dass dies nicht zu uns passt, wir sind nicht vertraut und uns fremd. Dieser sehr häufige Umstand setzt eine Vernachlässigung von Funktionen in unserer Erziehungsaufgabe voraus, da unsere Kinder von uns verlangen werden, dass wir die Sprache verstehen, in der sie sich ausdrücken und in der sie sich ausdrücken müssen.

3. Interessiert an der Suche nach geeigneten Inhalten unsere Kinder in den verschiedenen Aspekten ihrer Ausbildung zu unterstützen. Glücklicherweise ist das Suchen eine der Fähigkeiten von Digital Natives, die Zuwanderer zuvor gelernt haben. Wenn wir in der Lage sind, die perfekte Wohnung für den Urlaub zu finden, die Werbetafel zu sehen oder die Merkmale eines Autos zu vergleichen, wird es für uns nicht schwer sein, auf die zahlreichen Websites zuzugreifen, die Lernressourcen in verschiedenen Bereichen bieten. Es steht reichlich kostenloses Material zur Verfügung.


4. Die Nutzung des Internets bei Minderjährigen erfordert eine stärkere Präsenz der Eltern. In der vorherigen Generation hatte ein Kind, das mit mehr oder weniger Interesse ein Geschichtsbuch durchblätterte, kein Risiko, parallel unangemessenes Material zu erhalten, wie beispielsweise eine Erwachsenenzeitschrift.

Wenn wir unsere Grundschule jedoch nur mit einem Video verlassen, in dem die Ernährungspyramide mit lustigen Zeichnungen erklärt wird, wird das reichhaltige Angebot von Youtubo von dort auf andere Inhalte verweisen, von denen einige für ihn geeignet sind, aber nicht formativ und andere einfach unzureichend. Es zwingt uns zu größerer Wachsamkeit, auch bei Kindern dieser Altersstufen, die nicht die Tendenz des Jugendlichen haben, nach Inhalten zu suchen, die entschieden verboten sind.

Fünf goldene Regeln, um Ihre digitalen Kinder zu erziehen

1. Interessiert: Wir müssen die Apathie vermeiden, die Unwissenheit uns erzeugen kann. Sie müssen unsere Kinder fragen, welche Technologien sie verwenden, und versuchen zu verstehen, wie sie funktionieren.


2. lernen: Unser Engagement umfasst die Befragung von Pädagogikexperten, unserer Tutoren für Kinder und anderer Eltern nach dem am besten geeigneten Alter für jede Art von Inhalt. Wir müssen den Rhythmus kennen, den sie in der Schule und den Klassenkameraden verfolgen.

3. Aktiv nach geeigneten Ressourcen suchen: Informieren Sie sich in Fachzeitschriften im Bildungswesen, in Blogs, durch die Ratschläge der Schule, in der Presse und in den Suchmaschinen.

4. Seien Sie anwesend, um zu führen: Kinder zwischen 6 und 12 Jahren haben eine gesunde Neugier, die ihnen dabei hilft, neue Materialien zu entdecken. Wir müssen jedoch zur Verfügung stehen, um ihre Auswahl zu lenken und zu verhindern, dass sie unzureichend sind.

5. Sei ein Teil deiner Welt: Wir müssen selbst mit einem Akzent die digitale Sprache lernen, weil wir sonst von einem grundlegenden Teil der Welt unserer Kinder ausgeschlossen werden. Dies kann schwerwiegende Folgen für die ganze Familie haben.

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Digital Natives: eine andere Generation von Kindern

- Kompetenzen, die Digital Natives nicht mehr entwickeln

- Neue Technologien in der Schule, ihre Vorteile

- Computer im Unterricht verbessern die Schülerleistungen nicht

Video: Luzides Träumen - Die Traumcharaktere in Deinen Träumen


Interessante Artikel

Dekalog für einen Sommer mit Kindern

Dekalog für einen Sommer mit Kindern

Die Feiertage dienen der Erholung, aber nichts zu tun. Daher sind sie eine gute Zeit für Kinder, um zu Hause mit dem Helfen zu beginnen, die Gewohnheit des Lesens zu fördern, ihnen das Gefühl zu...