Key children: the consequences of loneliness

Dad and mom work hard, they want to give their children the best, but maybe they have forgotten that children need to be with them, that is, time. Are "the kids key", those who have the key to the door hung around their neck because when they leave school there is no one at home. A phenomenon so silent that it has not even been sufficiently accounted for.

The specialists call "kids key" to those little ones who, at the end of school, go to their homes where there is nobody, since their parents work. They open with their own key, the food or snack is prepared, or the lunch box that mom has left prepared is heated; they do their homework alone and organize the rest of their time as they wish, until their parents arrive at eight or nine at night.


Difficulties to reconcile family and work

In some cases they are only children, but not always; therefore, sometimes the older one is also responsible for the younger siblings. It is estimated that there are some 400,000 "key children" in Spain, approximately 11% of the total number of boys and girls in between 5 and 13 years; in the United States the figure reaches six million, according to the organization Children's Defense Found.

This situation worsens among the most disadvantaged families, especially among the immigrant population. By not having enough economic resources to hire private care and not having relatives to take care of the children when the parents work, the dimension of the problem has become even more acute.


The Institute for Minors and the Family has warned on several occasions a large percentage of "children of the key" in Spain, who spend the afternoon alone when they arrive from school because of the problems of reconciling work and family life of their parents. The ANAR Foundation receives more than one million calls of minors who do not have parents next to them to attend them to a problem.

Organize schedules: a challenge for many families

It is true that many families today have real problems of reconciling their professional and personal lives: the entry of women into the formal world of work, the lengthening of working hours, the decrease - due to their high cost - of domestic service, The increase in so-called single-parent households, among other reasons, has caused a profound change in the priorities and ambitions of parents, ultimately affecting their family life.


The schedules of nurseries or schools do not match those of the companies what, in some occasions, it is tried to palliate with endless extracurricular activities - that not all the economies can be allowed - and that give place to the so called "children agenda". The parents have spent the first years of the child "placing it" in the homes of grandparents, or of a brother or neighbor, which makes coexistence tense: in reality the parents tell themselves that they are carrying the which is your responsibility to others; think, also, that grandparents get older or die. This is exacerbated if the number of children is greater. The pain is that you end up seeing your own child as a burden and not as a wonderful gift that brings out the best in ourselves, that teaches us to love.

Childhood loneliness and its consequences in behavior problems

The extent of the problem depends on the age and maturity of the child, but also on how much time is left alone. In this sense, it is not the same half an hour, that three or four; or One day a week - for example, "Wednesdays" -, which daily from Monday to Friday. Also, these children assume responsibilities when they are not yet mature enough for it.

The consequence is that they either have behavior problems responding in bad manners or ignoring adults-parents or teachers-or they lock themselves until someone realizes that they are suffering. They often suffer anxiety and depression disorders. Most of the psychological problems that children have are due to lack of affection. Loneliness can have its consequences: the fact of staying alone at home can be frightening for the child. Parents should limit the time that children are alone at home and prepare them in advance towards what they have to face.

When "the key child" arrives home does not find his parents, but he does to television, videogames and computers; In addition, the fridge is available to them without any order or control. When adolescence is reached, these psychological disorders are manifested in aggressiveness, inability to love or show feelings, alcoholism (some, instead of going home they go with their gangs to drink litronas) and delinquency (petty thefts to satisfy their " growing needs ").Likewise, the lack of control and monitoring in the studies of our children can translate into a failure in school. On the other hand, we must also take into account the possible domestic accidents to which they are exposed and, therefore, the physical risks that derive from these when they are not attended at that time by an adult.

In short, being alone can create situations of anxiety and of depression, feeling of abandonment, of not feeling loved, that incapacitates you to love or show feelings. Affective-emotional instability occurs. Appear rebellious behavior, rebelliousness and indiscipline, or states of isolation, sadness and in many cases produces a strong lack of self-esteem.

That dad or mom is at home makes them feel important

Only the fact of "being", of having renounced other activities for them -for helping them, accompanying them and educating them- conveys the importance that we grant them. The end of childhood, from seven to ten years, it is a stage that is characterized by its balance, it is considered the "golden age" of education. With our presence we help them to set ambitious goals, to strive to achieve them, which requires discipline, perseverance, tenacity, namely to say no; to take responsibility, commit and be faithful to the given word; to be the owner of himself and not get carried away by the "I want".

The human virtues develop day by day, with the sum of small constant acts over time until, as habits, they are part of our being. And there the presence of the father or the mother is always necessary. They feel loved, they know that we seek their good and we fight together to achieve it. It is the best preparation we can give them for a balanced adolescence, to conquer their maturity.

On the other hand, we must bear in mind that it is at the moment of arriving home and having a snack when the children are more inclined to tell everything that has happened to them during the day. And that eagerness to "let go of what they have inside" goes off throughout the afternoon. When the parents arrive around 8 or 9 o'clock in the evening, they are the ones who have to enter the son's room and ask "how's the day" and the son will tell what he wants, according to the desire he has in that moment and what he is doing. Therefore, we can not reduce the problem to the simple fact of leaving them alone, but to the absence of education at crucial moments for the lives of our children.

Maria Lucea
Advice: Miryam Peña. Degree in Pedagogy. Family Counselor

It may interest you:

- What are the rights of work and family reconciliation in Spain

- The behavior of children: problems and disorders that are difficult to manage

- Extracurricular activities

- Educate in the order: the orders

Video: The impact of divorce on children: Tamara D. Afifi at TEDxUCSB


Interesting Articles

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

We have already talked about the bottle warmers, that instrument that for someone without children may seem unimportant ... but who has it! Especially when we go on a trip, true? We do not always...

Sport for preschool children

Sport for preschool children

Accustoming our children to perform different physical activities is not only advisable for their health, but also to entertain and relieve tension. Since they are still very small, preschool sports...

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Traveling is one of the funniest activities we can do as a family when we have young children, but it can also become a nightmare if we do not foresee certain situations in advance, since having...

Schlüsselkinder: die Folgen der Einsamkeit

Papa und Mutter arbeiten hart, sie wollen ihren Kindern das Beste geben, aber vielleicht haben sie vergessen, dass Kinder bei ihnen sein müssen, das heißt Zeit. Sie sind "der Kinderschlüssel"Diejenigen, die den Schlüssel zur Tür haben, hingen um ihren Hals, denn wenn sie die Schule verlassen, ist niemand zu Hause. Ein Phänomen, das so leise ist, dass es nicht ausreichend berücksichtigt wurde.

Die Spezialisten rufen an "Kinderschlüssel" für die Kleinen, die am Ende der Schule zu ihren Häusern gehen, wo niemand ist, da ihre Eltern arbeiten. Sie öffnen sich mit ihrem eigenen Schlüsselwird das Essen oder der Snack zubereitet oder die Lunchbox, die Mutter zubereitet hat, wird erhitzt; Sie machen ihre Hausaufgaben alleine und organisieren den Rest ihrer Zeit nach Belieben, bis ihre Eltern nachts um acht oder neun Uhr ankommen.


Schwierigkeiten, Familie und Beruf in Einklang zu bringen

In einigen Fällen sind sie nur Kinder, aber nicht immer. daher ist manchmal auch der ältere für die jüngeren Geschwister verantwortlich. Es wird geschätzt, dass In Spanien gibt es etwa 400.000 "Schlüsselkinder"ungefähr 11% der Gesamtzahl der Jungen und Mädchen in zwischen 5 und 13 Jahren; In den Vereinigten Staaten sind es laut Organisation sechs Millionen Kinderverteidigung gefunden.

Diese Situation verschlechtert sich unter den am stärksten benachteiligten Familienvor allem unter der Einwanderungsbevölkerung. Durch das Fehlen von ausreichenden wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen für die Einstellung privater Pflege und der Angehörigen, die sich um die Kinder kümmern, wenn die Eltern arbeiten, ist die Dimension des Problems noch akuter geworden.


Das Institut für Minderjährige und die Familie hat mehrfach gewarnt ein großer Prozentsatz der "Kinder des Schlüssels" in Spanien, die den Nachmittag alleine verbringen, wenn sie von der Schule kommen, weil sie Probleme haben, Beruf und Familie ihrer Eltern miteinander in Einklang zu bringen. Die ANAR-Stiftung erhält mehr als eine Million Anrufe von Minderjährigen, die keine Eltern neben sich haben, um sich um ein Problem zu kümmern.

Termine organisieren: eine Herausforderung für viele Familien

Es ist richtig, dass viele Familien heutzutage echte Probleme haben, Beruf und Privatleben miteinander in Einklang zu bringen: der Eintritt von Frauen in die formelle Arbeitswelt, die Verlängerung der Arbeitszeit, die Abnahme der Hausdienste aufgrund ihrer hohen Kosten, Die Zunahme der sogenannten Alleinerziehendenhaushalte hat unter anderem zu einer tiefgreifenden Änderung der Prioritäten und Ambitionen der Eltern geführt, was sich letztlich auf ihr Familienleben auswirkt.


Die Zeitpläne für Kindergärten oder Schulen stimmen nicht mit denen der Unternehmen überein In manchen Fällen wird versucht, mit endlosen außerschulischen Aktivitäten zu lindern - dass nicht alle Volkswirtschaften zugelassen werden können - und das der so genannten "Kinderagenda" Platz macht. Die Eltern verbrachten die ersten Jahre des "Kindes" in den Häusern von Großeltern oder in einem Bruder oder Nachbarn, wodurch das Zusammenleben angespannt wird: In Wirklichkeit sagen sich die Eltern, dass sie die Kinder tragen was ist deine Verantwortung gegenüber anderen; Denken Sie auch, dass die Großeltern älter werden oder sterben. Dies wird verschlimmert, wenn die Anzahl der Kinder größer ist. Der Schmerz ist, dass du dein eigenes Kind als Last empfindest und nicht als wundervolles Geschenk, das das Beste in uns hervorbringt, das uns die Liebe lehrt.

Einsamkeit in der Kindheit und ihre Folgen bei Verhaltensproblemen

Das Ausmaß des Problems hängt vom Alter und der Reife des Kindes, aber auch davon ab Wie viel Zeit bleibt übrig? In diesem Sinne Es ist nicht die gleiche halbe Stunde, die drei oder vier; o Ein Tag in der Woche - zum Beispiel "Mittwochs" - und täglich von Montag bis Freitag. Diese Kinder übernehmen auch Verantwortung, wenn sie noch nicht reif genug sind.

Die Folge ist, dass sie entweder haben Verhaltensprobleme auf schlechte Manieren reagieren oder Erwachsene, Eltern oder Lehrer ignorieren oder Sie sperren sich bis jemand erkennt, dass sie leiden. Sie leiden oft Angst- und Depressionsstörungen. Die meisten psychischen Probleme, die Kinder haben, sind auf mangelnde Zuneigung zurückzuführen. Einsamkeit kann Konsequenzen haben: Die Tatsache, dass Sie alleine zu Hause bleiben, kann für das Kind erschreckend sein. Eltern sollten die Zeit einschränken, in der Kinder allein zu Hause sind, und sie im Voraus auf das vorbereiten, was sie zu tun haben.

Wann "Das Schlüsselkind" kommt nach Hause, findet seine Eltern nicht, aber er macht Fernsehen, Videospiele und Computer; Außerdem steht ihnen der Kühlschrank ohne Reihenfolge und Kontrolle zur Verfügung. Wenn die Pubertät erreicht ist, manifestieren sich diese psychischen Störungen in Aggressivität, Unfähigkeit, Gefühle zu zeigen oder zu zeigen, Alkoholismus (einige gehen, anstatt nach Hause zu gehen, mit ihren Banden Litronas zu trinken) und Delinquenz (Kleindiebstähle zur Befriedigung ihrer wachsende Bedürfnisse ").Ebenso kann die mangelnde Kontrolle und Überwachung in den Studien unserer Kinder zu einem Misserfolg in der Schule führen. Auf der anderen Seite müssen wir auch die möglichen häuslichen Unfälle berücksichtigen, denen sie ausgesetzt sind, und daher die körperlichen Risiken, die sich daraus ergeben, wenn sie zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht von einem Erwachsenen besucht werden.

Kurz gesagt: Alleinsein kann zu Angstzuständen führen und von Depressionen, Gefühl der Verlassenheit, dass Sie sich nicht geliebt fühlen, kann Sie nicht lieben oder Gefühle zeigen. Affektiv-emotionale Instabilität tritt auf. Erscheinen Sie rebellisches Verhalten, Rebellie und Indisziplin oder Isolationszustände, Traurigkeit und in vielen Fällen einen starken Mangel an Selbstwertgefühl.

Dass Vater oder Mutter zu Hause sind, fühlt sie sich wichtig

Nur die Tatsache des "Seins", der Verzicht auf andere Aktivitäten - ihnen zu helfen, sie zu begleiten und zu erziehen - vermittelt die Wichtigkeit, die wir ihnen einräumen. Das Ende der Kindheit Von sieben bis zehn Jahren ist es eine Etappe, die sich durch ihr Gleichgewicht auszeichnet und als "goldenes Zeitalter" der Bildung gilt. Mit unserer Präsenz helfen wir ihnen dabei, ehrgeizige Ziele zu setzen und danach zu streben, was Disziplin, Ausdauer und Beharrlichkeit erfordert, nämlich Nein zu sagen; Verantwortung übernehmen, dem gegebenen Wort treu sein und ihm treu sein; der Besitzer seiner selbst sein und sich nicht vom "ich will" hinreißen lassen.

Die menschlichen Tugenden entwickeln sich Tag für Tag mit der Summe kleiner konstanter Handlungen über die Zeit, bis sie als Gewohnheiten Teil unseres Wesens sind. Und da ist immer die Anwesenheit des Vaters oder der Mutter notwendig. Sie fühlen sich geliebt, sie wissen, dass wir ihr Gut suchen, und wir kämpfen gemeinsam dafür. Es ist die beste Vorbereitung, die wir ihnen für eine ausgewogene Adoleszenz geben können, um ihre Reife zu erobern.

Auf der anderen Seite müssen wir bedenken, dass es gerade der Moment ist, wenn Sie nach Hause kommen und einen Imbiss nehmen, wenn die Kinder eher dazu neigen, alles zu erzählen, was ihnen während des Tages passiert ist. Und dieser Eifer, "das loszulassen, was sie drinnen haben", geht den ganzen Nachmittag über los. Wenn die Eltern gegen 8 oder 9 Uhr abends ankommen, müssen sie das Zimmer des Sohnes betreten und fragen "Wie ist der Tag", und der Sohn wird sagen, was er will, je nach Wunsch dieser Moment und was er tut. Daher können wir das Problem nicht auf die bloße Tatsache beschränken, sie allein zu lassen, sondern auf das Fehlen von Bildung in entscheidenden Momenten für das Leben unserer Kinder.

Maria Lucea
Hinweis: Miryam Peña. Abschluss in Pädagogik. Familienberater

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Welches sind die Rechte auf Arbeit und Familienausgleich in Spanien?

- Das Verhalten von Kindern: Probleme und Störungen, die schwer zu handhaben sind

- Außerschulische Aktivitäten

- Erziehen Sie in der Reihenfolge: die Bestellungen

Video: BIOSHOCK INFINITE: BURIAL AT SEA [WQHD] #002 - Der Ursprung allen Übels ★ Let's Play Burial At Sea


Interessante Artikel

Fünf günstige Babybadewannen, ideal zum Kaufen

Fünf günstige Babybadewannen, ideal zum Kaufen

Das Baby kommt an und plötzlich merkt man die Menge neue Objekte, die Sie zu Hause benötigen: die Wiege, der Wickeltisch, der Kinderwagen und natürlich die Badewanne für das Badritual. Wissen Sie...

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar Es ist eine Art von Gewalt mit sehr ernsten und gefährlichen Folgen, die normalerweise selbst für die Missbrauchten, die sich schuldig fühlen, entwertet usw....

9 Schlüssel, um den Schlaf des Babys zu verbessern

9 Schlüssel, um den Schlaf des Babys zu verbessern

Es ist logisch, dass wir, obwohl unser Sohn sehr klein ist, ihn daran gewöhnen wollen, während der Ruhezeiten ruhig zu bleiben. Es ist anstrengend, die Nächte wach zu verbringen, daher kommt es zu...