Gestational diabetes may cause postpartum depression in first-time mothers

Pregnancy is a beautiful stage on which there is still much to investigate. There are many risks that the mother goes through and that is why it is very important to follow a strict health control in pregnancy. Little by little the specialists discover new causes and treatments for the most frequent problems of pregnancy that help to prevent them and take this moment in the best possible way.

Now a group of specialists from the Icahn School of Medicine, New York, and the Karolinska Institute, Sweden, has found a relationship between gestational diabetes and the subsequent postpartum depression in first-time mothers.

Sugar in pregnancy

The gestational diabetes It is not related to common diabetes. It is a condition in mothers who have high concentrations of sugar during pregnancy. This process affects few pregnancies and usually presents discrete symptoms, however it can cause serious harm to both the mother and the baby. Some problems that could be more than previously thought.


This was what this group of researchers wanted to find out that it was proposed to find out if there was any factor explaining the appearance of postpartum depression in women. For this they analyzed a group of close 700,000 women pregnant women to try to know their characteristics during pregnancy and if there was some kind of problem after delivery.

After collecting the data of these women, the specialists found that those women who had presented higher levels of blood sugar during pregnancy were more likely to suffer from postpartum depression. In particular the probability of suffering from this problem after delivery multiplied by 70.


"Most specialists think they are two isolated and very different conditions, but now we see that gestational diabetes and postpartum depression should be considered together," explains Dr. Michael E. Silverman, lead author of this research.

Other risk factors for postpartum depression

The specialists not only discovered that gestational diabetes was causative of postpartum depression. Other factors also influenced the development of this problem after the birth of the child. In particular having suffered one of these mood episodes during pregnancy also makes a mother more likely to relapse.

For the authors of this research, the discovery of all these factors is good news because it can mean the programming of more effective treatments against postpartum depression before time. "There is a reason why doctors always ask if you smoke, they know that smokers are 20 times more likely to have cancer (...) Now, gynecologists and obstetricians can do the same with a history of gestational diabetes or depression before pregnancy, and intervene before the unborn baby, "concludes the doctor. Silverman.


Damián Montero

Video: The Postpartum Brain: Baby Blues vs. Depression


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

Gestationsdiabetes kann bei Erstmüttern eine Depression nach der Geburt verursachen

Die Schwangerschaft ist eine schöne Bühne, auf der es noch viel zu untersuchen gibt. Es gibt viele Risiken, denen die Mutter ausgesetzt ist. Aus diesem Grund ist es sehr wichtig, eine strenge Gesundheitskontrolle in der Schwangerschaft einzuhalten. Nach und nach entdecken die Spezialisten neue Ursachen und Behandlungen für die häufigsten Probleme der Schwangerschaft, die ihnen helfen, sie zu verhindern und diesen Moment optimal zu nutzen.

Nun eine Gruppe von Spezialisten aus dem Icahn School of Medicine in New Yorkund das Karolinska Institute, Schweden, hat eine Beziehung zwischen gefunden Schwangerschaftsdiabetes und die nachfolgende postpartale Depression bei erstmaligen Müttern.

Zucker in der Schwangerschaft

Die Schwangerschaftsdiabetes Es steht nicht im Zusammenhang mit allgemeinem Diabetes. Es ist eine Erkrankung bei Müttern, die während der Schwangerschaft hohe Zuckerkonzentrationen haben. Dieser Prozess wirkt sich auf wenige Schwangerschaften aus und ist in der Regel mit einzelnen Symptomen verbunden, kann jedoch sowohl Mutter als auch Baby schwer schädigen. Einige Probleme, die mehr sein könnten als bisher gedacht.


Diese Gruppe wollte herausfinden, dass vorgeschlagen wurde, herauszufinden, ob es einen Faktor gibt, der das Auftreten von Depressionen bei Frauen nach der Geburt erklärt. Dazu analysierten sie eine Gruppe von Nahem 700.000 Frauen Schwangere versuchen, ihre Eigenschaften während der Schwangerschaft zu erfahren und ob es nach der Entbindung Probleme gab.

Nach der Erhebung der Daten dieser Frauen fanden die Spezialisten heraus, dass Frauen, die während der Schwangerschaft einen höheren Blutzuckerspiegel gezeigt hatten, häufiger an einer Depression nach der Geburt litten. Insbesondere die Wahrscheinlichkeit, nach der Lieferung an diesem Problem zu leiden multipliziert mit 70.


"Die meisten Spezialisten glauben, dass es sich um zwei isolierte und sehr unterschiedliche Zustände handelt, aber jetzt sehen wir, dass Gestationsdiabetes und postpartale Depression zusammen betrachtet werden sollten", erklärt Dr. Michael E. Silverman, Hauptautor dieser Studie.

Andere Risikofaktoren für eine Depression nach der Geburt

Die Spezialisten entdeckten nicht nur, dass Schwangerschaftsdiabetes war ursächlich der postpartalen Depression. Andere Faktoren beeinflussten auch die Entwicklung dieses Problems nach der Geburt des Kindes. Insbesondere wenn eine dieser Stimmungsschwankungen während der Schwangerschaft erlitten hat, erhöht sich auch die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Rückfalls der Mutter.

Für die Autoren dieser Forschung ist die Entdeckung all dieser Faktoren eine gute Nachricht, da dies die Programmierung wirksamerer Therapien gegen postpartale Depression vor der Zeit bedeuten kann. "Es gibt einen Grund, warum Ärzte immer fragen, ob Sie rauchen. Sie wissen, dass Raucher 20-mal häufiger an Krebs leiden (...) Gynäkologen und Geburtshelfer können dasselbe mit einer Schwangerschaftsdiabetes oder Depression vor der Schwangerschaft tun und vor dem ungeborenen Kind eingreifen ", schließt der Arzt. Silverman.


Damián Montero

Video: Blutzucker senken-Ernährungstipps für normale Blutzuckerwerte


Interessante Artikel

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Die Geburt unseres Sohnes wird uns mit Freude erfüllen, aber auch Zweifel daran, ob es günstiger ist, zu stillen oder zu trinken. Die unbestreitbaren Vorteile des Stillens lassen jedoch keinen...