New findings on the origin of depression in children

Childhood is usually a time of joy and fun. The first years of a person in this world are usually quiet, however there are times when it is not. There are minors who, due to various problems, suffer from diseases such as depression that we believe is restricted to the world of adults.

Understand how the depression in children it could help to help the little ones in these cases. For this reason, the findings are important, such as those obtained by a group of researchers from the University of Washington in St. Louis, United States. These scientists have tried to find out if it is possible that the same mechanisms that trigger these problems in adults and adolescents also do so in children.


Reward process

One of the effects of depression in adolescents and adults is the alteration of the reward circuit. People with this type of problem do not feel the same way when, after an effort, they get something good. A healthy person after getting something positive, tries to work to obtain it again and for that he is more motivated and eager to improve himself.

However, people with depression do not feel the reward and therefore this motivation does not appear, so they are left in a state of sadness and not wanting to try. Could it happen the same in young children? To try to answer this question, the researchers analyzed the cases of 84 children under 3 to 7 years old. Brains were analyzed to respond to their moods.


This group of children was proposed a computer game while analyzing their brains. In this game they had to choose between two doors, one gave points and the other left. In case of getting a good result, they could choose a toy while otherwise they were left without a prize. Children without depression were very enthusiastic every time they chose well and were frustrated every time they scored.

On the contrary, the depressive children showed little cerebral activity in both cases. Whether they failed as if they had a good score, the reward circuit remained the same. They were not even shown more anxious for trying hard and choosing the door that could give them a toy.

Early treatments

The fact of having discovered that the process of depression in minors is similar to that of adults can help initiate treatments from early ages. Initiating therapies done by the elderly in young children with this problem could significantly improve their quality of life over the years.


The next step of the group of researchers will be to find out which treatments work best in the case of children. To do this, they will copy therapies used in adults with depression and try to find out their success in the minors by assessing whether the reward circuit has changed in some aspect and if there is a greater motivation than in the previous study.

The researchers also explain that search motivations in children it could help. Finding something that makes them strive and get what they want can cause the reward circuit to reactivate, causing one of the causes of depression to disappear, thus improving the mood of the children.

Damián Montero

Video: Depression & Epilepsy in Children and Adolescents


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

Neue Erkenntnisse zur Entstehung von Depressionen bei Kindern

Kindheit ist normalerweise eine Zeit der Freude und des Spaßes. Die ersten Jahre eines Menschen auf dieser Welt sind normalerweise ruhig, es gibt jedoch Zeiten, in denen dies nicht der Fall ist. Es gibt Minderjährige, die aufgrund verschiedener Probleme an Krankheiten leiden, wie z Depression dass wir glauben, ist auf die Welt der Erwachsenen beschränkt.

Verstehen, wie das Depression Bei Kindern könnte es helfen, den Kleinen in diesen Fällen zu helfen. Aus diesem Grund sind die Erkenntnisse wichtig, wie sie beispielsweise von einer Gruppe von Forschern aus der EU erzielt wurden Universität von Washington in St. Louis, USA. Diese Wissenschaftler haben versucht herauszufinden, ob es möglich ist, dass dieselben Mechanismen, die diese Probleme bei Erwachsenen und Jugendlichen auslösen, auch bei Kindern auftreten.


Belohnungsprozess

Eine der Auswirkungen von Depressionen bei Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen ist die Veränderung des Belohnungskreislaufs. Menschen mit dieser Art von Problemen fühlen sich nicht so, wenn sie nach einer Anstrengung bekommen etwas Gutes. Ein gesunder Mensch, nachdem er etwas Positives erlangt hat, versucht zu arbeiten, um es wieder zu erlangen, und dafür ist er motivierter und möchte sich verbessern.

Menschen mit Depressionen fühlen sich jedoch nicht belohnt und daher erscheint diese Motivation nicht Zustand der Trauer und nicht versuchen wollen. Könnte es bei kleinen Kindern genauso sein? Um diese Frage beantworten zu können, analysierten die Forscher die Fälle von 84 Kindern unter 3 bis 7 Jahren und Gehirne wurden analysiert, um auf ihre Stimmungen zu reagieren.


Diese Gruppe von Kindern wurde vorgeschlagen a Computerspiel während sie ihre Gehirne analysieren. In diesem Spiel mussten sie zwischen zwei Türen wählen, eine gab Punkte und die andere verließ sie. Wenn ein gutes Ergebnis erzielt werden soll, können sie sich für ein Spielzeug entscheiden, ansonsten bleiben sie ohne Gewinn. Kinder ohne Depressionen waren jedes Mal sehr enthusiastisch, wenn sie sich gut entschieden hatten, und waren jedes Mal frustriert, wenn sie einen Treffer erzielten.

Im Gegenteil, die depressiven Kinder zeigten in beiden Fällen wenig Hirnaktivität. Ob sie versagten, als ob sie einen guten Score hätten, der Belohnungskreislauf blieb gleich. Sie wurden nicht einmal gezeigt ängstlicher für das Bemühen, die Tür zu wählen, die ihnen ein Spielzeug geben könnte.

Frühzeitige Behandlungen

Die Tatsache, entdeckt zu haben, dass der Depressionsprozess bei Minderjährigen ähnlich ist wie bei Erwachsenen, kann dazu beitragen, Behandlungen auszulösen frühes Alter. Das Einleiten von Therapien, die ältere Menschen bei jungen Kindern mit diesem Problem durchführen, könnte ihre Lebensqualität im Laufe der Jahre erheblich verbessern.


Der nächste Schritt der Forschergruppe besteht darin, herauszufinden, welche Behandlungen bei Kindern am besten funktionieren. Zu diesem Zweck werden sie Therapien kopieren, die bei Erwachsenen mit Depressionen angewendet werden, und versuchen, ihren Erfolg bei den Minderjährigen anhand der Bewertung des Belohnungskreislaufs herauszufinden hat sich geändert in einem bestimmten Aspekt und wenn es eine größere Motivation als in der vorherigen Studie gibt.

Die Forscher erklären auch diese Suche Motivationen bei kindern könnte es helfen. Wenn Sie etwas finden, das sie zum Streben bringt und das bekommt, was sie wollen, kann sich der Belohnungskreislauf reaktivieren, wodurch eine der Ursachen der Depression verschwindet und die Stimmung der Kinder verbessert wird.

Damián Montero

Video: Depression - Neue Hoffnung? (2017)


Interessante Artikel

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Die dritte Generation des Touran beträgt 13 Zentimeter länger als die vorherige Version, hat sieben Sitze Serie und hat eine Größerer Kofferraum Es stellt sich heraus a Familienauto Dies muss für...