Do you give away toys? Give emotions

Did you know that memory gives priority to emotional memories? That's right, memory is selective and stores preferentially positive memories and those that have captivated us emotionally for various reasons. To arrive to the heart It is the best way to give to children and the rest of the family this Christmas.

Memories of emotional events-especially positive ones-involve more sensory details (visual, auditory, olfactory) linked to context (place, date) than neutral events. The emotional images resist better the passage of time in the memory and being more consolidated, they are better preserved in the long term. Emotions structure our memory acting as a zoom or a filter and some studies on the subject ensure that memory gives preference to some memories depending on the state of mind in which we find ourselves.


One of them is the one carried out, in the seventies, by the cognitive psychologist Gordon H. Bower, whoHe conducted research on our way of storing and evoke memories depending on the state of mind. He asked a series of people to memorize lists of words going through different moods. Then, he observed their differences when remembering these words, while also passing through various moods.

Conclusionfound that we tend to remember more easily memorize the elements or events in a similar mood which we have at the moment of evoking them.

Why give emotions to children?

The happiness of the children is not proportional to the amount of gifts they receive, whether at Christmas, birthdays or any other special celebration.


It is the time of the year when children are more excited than ever, they are excited, but ... if we were to ask ourselves what makes them so excited, the answer would be easy, the toys! And it seems that Christmas has two faces, the charm of the values ​​that characterize it as generosity, hope, love ... and consumerism, where the important thing is the gifts we receive.

We have all seen how the material gifts, over time have been passed to oblivion and along with them their "emotional" meaning if it had it. But nevertheless, the experiences and emotions associated with them are not forgotten. The reality is that we have a habit of giving away things without thinking too much about real needs, the meaning they have, the values ​​we want to convey.

This year you can make it different, you can take advantage of these dates to start transmitting to your children that the important thing is not the things but the moments lived. So we can introduce at home the values ​​that, as a family, you want them to develop.


Emotions to give with the heart

1. Give away surprises. Unexpected events, related to people, friends and family, have a lot of emotional impact. For children, turning on the light in their room and seeing their 3 or 4 best friends there, their grandparents, their cousins ​​... to spend the afternoon together, can be exciting.

2. Dream activities. Some activities such as horse riding, sledding, ice skating, watching a live musical or magic show ... can be a dream for many children. Mix the surprise factor and make your dream come true. He will not forget it.

3. Give time together. In this busy society and with so little free time the best gift for our children is to spend time with them, quality time. Make a parenthesis and plan to do something together like decorating the house with family, an afternoon of movies and popcorn, a game with them, etc. You will see how they will thank you so much more than any other gift.

4. Letter of thanks. It is time to teach them to value what they have and nothing better than to put it in writing. The recipients of the Letter can be the Three Kings, a relative, friends ... In the letter they can express their feelings towards others, and in this way we help to develop the value of gratitude.

5. Help them to share. Children have a hard time leaving their things to others, one way to help them become less selfish is to teach them to share, this can be done through games, instead of giving away individual games, giving away group games, where they can develop also their social skills, empathy ...

6. Teach them to get rid of and give away. These dates are a good time for all those toys that no longer use to give them to other children who may need them, so we help them to promote generosity and compassion towards others. And if they can deliver them themselves, and see the happy face of the one who receives it, better!

The danger of giving away toys only

If we observe our surroundings we will realize that each child already has his toys magazine where he has marked everything he would like to have, surely they will have already written the letter to the Magi putting what they want this year to give them, yes, As long as they have behaved well!

And history repeats itself. The long-awaited day arrives and we see how the youngest, get up excited, start opening gifts, one after another without paying too much attention, it seems that the important thing is to open and see that this is all they have asked for, with luck there may be one that retains its attention a little more, but a few days later we see how the rooms fill toys and more toys that are abandoned once Christmas is over and adults end up with a bittersweet feeling.

And so, without hardly realizing and with the best of intentions, we are transmitting to our children that the important thing is material things, that if they behave well during the year, in the end they will have their reward; the toys, doing this way that they do not value the things neither the effort that supposes to obtain them.

Rocío Navarro Psychologist Director of Psicolari, integral psychology

Video: This had to be done... (emotional)


Interesting Articles

The mistake of prolonging the children's childhood

The mistake of prolonging the children's childhood

"You have to let them grow." This slogan of an ad in defense of smaller fish could also be applied to children in an ambivalent society that makes them older for some things - like new technologies...

The family, key to reducing illiteracy in the world

The family, key to reducing illiteracy in the world

758 million adults and 115 million young people in the world they do not know how to read. These are the figures that are considered by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural...

How to prepare children to stay alone

How to prepare children to stay alone

The ANAR Foundation receives more than one million calls from minors who do not have parents next door at home to help them with a problem. If you have no choice but to leave your child alone in the...

6 tips to make children responsible

6 tips to make children responsible

Educate in responsibility Children involve letting them make decisions, but it is essential that they are appropriate to their age and degree of emotional maturity. It is convenient to start by...

Gibst du Spielzeug weg? Emotionen geben

Wussten Sie das? Gedächtnis gibt emotionalen Erinnerungen Priorität? Das ist richtig, das Gedächtnis ist selektiv und speichert bevorzugt positive Erinnerungen und solche, die uns aus verschiedenen Gründen emotional gefesselt haben. Das Herz erreichen Dies ist der beste Weg, den Kindern und dem Rest der Familie dieses Weihnachten zu schenken.

Erinnerungen an emotionale Ereignisse - besonders positive - beinhalten mehr sensorische Details (visuell, auditiv, olfaktorisch), die mit dem Kontext (Ort, Datum) verknüpft sind, als neutrale Ereignisse. Die emotionalen Bilder widerstehen dem Lauf der Zeit im Gedächtnis besser und sind konsolidierter, sie bleiben auf lange Sicht besser erhalten. Emotionen strukturieren unser Gedächtnis als Zoom oder Filter, und einige Studien zu diesem Thema stellen sicher, dass das Gedächtnis einigen Erinnerungen den Vorzug gibt, abhängig von dem Zustand, in dem wir uns befinden.


Eine davon ist die, die in den siebziger Jahren vom kognitiven Psychologen Gordon H. Bower durchgeführt wurdeEr untersuchte, wie wir Erinnerungen speichern und evozieren, je nach Gemütszustand. Er bat eine Reihe von Leuten, sich Listen von Wörtern zu merken, die unterschiedliche Stimmungen durchlaufen. Dann beobachtete er ihre Unterschiede, wenn er sich an diese Worte erinnerte, während er verschiedene Stimmungen durchging.

Zum SchlussWir haben festgestellt, dass wir uns die Elemente oder Ereignisse in ähnlicher Stimmung leichter merken können die wir im Moment haben, um sie zu beschwören.

Warum den Kindern Emotionen geben?

Das Glück der Kinder ist nicht proportional zu der Anzahl der Geschenke, die sie erhalten, sei es zu Weihnachten, zu Geburtstagen oder zu anderen besonderen Feierlichkeiten.


Es ist die Zeit des Jahres, in der Kinder aufgeregter sind als je zuvor, sie sind aufgeregt, aber ... wenn wir uns fragen würden, was sie so aufgeregt macht, wäre die Antwort leicht, das Spielzeug! Und es scheint, dass Weihnachten zwei Gesichter hat, den Charme der Werte, die es als Großzügigkeit, Hoffnung, Liebe ... und Konsumismus charakterisieren, wobei das Wichtigste die Geschenke sind, die wir erhalten.

Wir haben alle gesehen, wie die materiellen Gaben im Laufe der Zeit in Vergessenheit geraten sind und zusammen mit ihnen ihre "emotionale" Bedeutung haben, wenn sie es hätte. Jedoch Die damit verbundenen Erfahrungen und Emotionen werden nicht vergessen. Die Realität ist, dass wir die Gewohnheit haben, Dinge zu verschenken, ohne zu viel über die wirklichen Bedürfnisse nachzudenken, über die Bedeutung, die sie haben und welche Werte wir vermitteln wollen.

In diesem Jahr können Sie es anders machen, Sie können diese Daten nutzen, um Ihren Kindern das mitzuteilen Das Wichtigste sind nicht die Dinge, sondern die gelebten Momente. So können wir zu Hause die Werte einführen, die Sie als Familie entwickeln möchten.


Emotionen mit dem Herzen zu geben

1. Überraschungen verschenken. Unerwartete Ereignisse, die sich auf Menschen, Freunde und Familie beziehen, wirken sich sehr emotional aus. Für Kinder, die das Licht in ihrem Zimmer einschalten und ihre drei oder vier besten Freunde dort sehen, ihre Großeltern, ihre Cousins ​​... den Nachmittag gemeinsam zu verbringen, kann aufregend sein.

2. Traumaktivitäten. Einige Aktivitäten wie Reiten, Rodeln, Schlittschuhlaufen, Live-Musical oder Zaubershow ... können für viele Kinder ein Traum sein. Mischen Sie den Überraschungsfaktor und verwirklichen Sie Ihren Traum. Er wird es nicht vergessen.

3. Gib Zeit zusammen. In dieser geschäftigen Gesellschaft und mit so wenig Freizeit ist es das beste Geschenk für unsere Kinder, Zeit mit ihnen zu verbringen. Machen Sie eine Klammer und planen Sie, etwas gemeinsam zu machen, z. B. das Haus mit der Familie zu dekorieren, einen Nachmittag mit Filmen und Popcorn, ein Spiel mit ihnen usw. Sie werden sehen, wie sie Ihnen so viel mehr danken werden als jedes andere Geschenk.

4. Dankesbrief Es ist an der Zeit, ihnen beizubringen, zu schätzen, was sie haben, und nichts besseres, als es schriftlich niederzulegen. Die Empfänger des Briefes können die Heiligen Drei Könige sein, ein Verwandter, Freunde ... In dem Brief können sie ihre Gefühle gegenüber anderen ausdrücken und auf diese Weise helfen wir, den Wert der Dankbarkeit zu entwickeln.

5. Helfen Sie ihnen zu teilen. Kindern fällt es schwer, ihre Sachen anderen zu überlassen. Eine Möglichkeit, sie dabei zu unterstützen, weniger selbstsüchtig zu werden, ist das Unterrichten, indem sie ihnen das Teilen vermittelt. Dies kann durch Spiele geschehen, anstatt einzelne Spiele zu verschenken, Gruppenspiele zu verschenken, wo sie sich entwickeln können auch ihre sozialen Fähigkeiten, Empathie ...

6. Bringe ihnen bei, sich zu befreien und wegzugeben. Diese Termine sind eine gute Zeit für all die Spielsachen, die nicht mehr verwendet werden, um sie anderen Kindern zu geben, die sie möglicherweise brauchen. Wir helfen ihnen dabei, Großzügigkeit und Mitgefühl gegenüber anderen zu fördern. Und wenn sie sie selbst erretten können und das glückliche Gesicht desjenigen sehen, der sie empfängt, besser!

Die Gefahr, nur Spielzeug zu verschenken

Wenn wir unsere Umgebung beobachten, werden wir feststellen, dass jedes Kind bereits ein Spielzeugmagazin hat, in dem es alles markiert hat, was er gerne hätte. Sicherlich haben sie den Magi bereits den Brief geschrieben, in dem sie alles geben, was sie dieses Jahr ihnen geben wollen, ja, Solange sie sich gut benommen haben!

Und die Geschichte wiederholt sich. Der lang erwartete Tag kommt und wir sehen, wie die Jüngsten sich aufregen, Geschenke öffnen, eines nach dem anderen, ohne zu viel Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zu ziehen. Es ist wichtig, sich zu öffnen und zu sehen, dass dies alles ist, wonach sie gefragt haben, mit etwas Glück das behält seine Aufmerksamkeit ein wenig mehr, aber ein paar Tage später sehen wir, wie die Räume Spielzeug füllen und mehr Spielzeug, das nach Weihnachten verlassen wird und Erwachsene ein bittersüßes Gefühl bekommen.

Und so, ohne es zu merken und mit den besten Absichten, vermitteln wir unseren Kindern, dass das Wichtigste materielle Dinge sind, dass sie, wenn sie sich während des Jahres gut benehmen, am Ende ihren Lohn haben werden; Die Spielzeuge tun auf diese Weise, dass sie die Dinge nicht wertschätzen, und auch nicht die Anstrengung, die erforderlich ist, um sie zu erlangen.

Rocío Navarro Psychologe Direktor von Psicolari, integrale Psychologie

Video: MIRACULOUS - Titelsong | Disney Channel Songs


Interessante Artikel

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Es gibt neue oder unbekannte Begriffe innerhalb der Cyberabhängigkeit und das hat mit der mobilen Sucht zu tun Wissen wir was es ist Nomophobie und Mobilfia? Die Nomophobie ist die Angst vor Angst,...