Increased exposure to environmental pollution increases the risk of childhood asthma

Life in the big cities leads to several health problems. From the increase of stress levels due to the accelerated pace of life to others related to the physical state. The great presence of cars and other emitting elements harmful gases causes pollution levels to increase, which can lead to the appearance of diseases such as asthma.

This is determined by a review of several cases of childhood asthma performed by Global Health of Barcelona (ISGlobal) and the University of Leeds. In this work we have tried to demonstrate how a greater exposure to environmental contamination in children makes them more likely to develop this respiratory condition.


Increase in childhood asthma

Those responsible for this study reveal that there are approximately 334 million of asthmatics, a number in which children's cases stand out. The number of children suffering from this respiratory condition has grown alarmingly since the 1950s without stopping this trend. At this point the researchers wanted to see to what extent the increase in air pollution caused by traffic in large cities has had something to do.

To verify this hypothesis, the researchers reviewed 4,000 studies epidemiological studies carried out between 1999 and September 2016. Data from 41 of these works were also analyzed, especially those that were carried out in recent years. What was sought was a relationship between the place of housing and environmental pollution in this area of ​​residence, and the presence or absence of childhood asthma.


Harmful elements

According to Haneen Khreis, a researcher at the University of Leeds, thanks to this review, it has been possible to cross data from multiple cases and establish a "association between exposure to air pollution and the development of childhood asthma. "

This new research shows that exposure during childhood to harmful elements emitted by vehicles, such as nitrogen dioxide, NO2, black carbon or soot and suspended particles PM2.5 and PM10, increases the chances of developing asthma.

"Our analysis shows that the strongest effects are associated with exposures to black carbon, a specific marker in the exhaust pipes of vehicles and a pollutant related to diesel engines," says the doctor Khreis who also points out that "more research is needed to draw definitive conclusions". These new studies should include, in your opinion, the exploration of contaminants that go beyond the exhaust pipes.


Another of the researchers of this work, Mark Nieuwenhuijsen, says that it is necessary to adopt measures to preserve the long-term health of younger generations. This professional warns that already in 2015 approximately 70% of the world population lived in large cities, where their exposure to these pollutants was constant.

Damián Montero

Video: Polluted Environments Kill 1.7 million Children Each Year


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Eine erhöhte Belastung durch Umweltverschmutzung erhöht das Risiko für Asthma bei Kindern

Das Leben in den Großstädten führt zu verschiedenen gesundheitlichen Problemen. Von der Zunahme des Stressniveaus aufgrund des beschleunigten Lebenszyklus bis zu anderen, die mit dem physischen Zustand zusammenhängen. Die große Präsenz von Autos und anderen emittierenden Elementen schädliche Gase verursacht eine Zunahme der Verschmutzung, was zu Auftreten von Krankheiten wie z Asthma.

Dies wird durch eine Überprüfung mehrerer Fälle von festgestellt Asthma bei Kindern durchgeführt von Global Health of Barcelona (ISGlobal) und der University of Leeds. In dieser Arbeit haben wir versucht zu zeigen, wie eine erhöhte Umweltbelastung bei Kindern dazu führt, dass sie diese Atemwegserkrankung eher entwickeln.


Asthma bei Kindern zugenommen

Die Verantwortlichen für diese Studie zeigen, dass es ungefähr gibt 334 Millionen von Asthmatikern, eine Reihe, in der Kinderfälle auffallen. Die Zahl der Kinder, die an dieser Atemwegserkrankung leiden, ist seit den fünfziger Jahren alarmierend gestiegen, ohne diesen Trend zu stoppen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt wollten die Forscher herausfinden, inwieweit die durch den Verkehr in Großstädten verursachte Zunahme der Luftverschmutzung etwas zu tun hat.

Um diese Hypothese zu überprüfen, überprüften die Forscher 4.000 Studien epidemiologische Studien, die zwischen 1999 und September 2016 durchgeführt wurden. Die Daten von 41 dieser Arbeiten wurden ebenfalls analysiert, insbesondere diejenigen, die in den letzten Jahren durchgeführt wurden. Gesucht wurde ein Zusammenhang zwischen Wohnort und Umweltverschmutzung in diesem Wohngebiet und dem Vorhandensein oder Fehlen von Asthma bei Kindern.


Schädliche Elemente

Laut Haneen Khreis, Forscher an der University of Leeds, war es dank dieser Überprüfung möglich, Daten aus mehreren Fällen zu kreuzen und ein "Vereinigung zwischen Luftverschmutzung und Asthma bei Kindern. "

Diese neue Forschung zeigt, dass die Exposition in der Kindheit durch schädliche Elemente, die von Fahrzeugen emittiert werden, wie Stickstoffdioxid, NO2, schwarzer Kohlenstoff oder Ruß und suspendierte Partikel PM2.5 und PM10erhöht die Wahrscheinlichkeit, an Asthma zu erkranken.

"Unsere Analyse zeigt, dass die stärksten Auswirkungen mit der Exposition gegenüber Ruß, einem spezifischen Marker in den Abgasrohren von Fahrzeugen und einem mit Dieselmotoren verbundenen Schadstoff verbunden sind", sagt der Arzt Khreis Er weist auch darauf hin, dass "mehr Forschung erforderlich ist, um endgültige Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen". Diese neuen Studien sollten Ihrer Meinung nach die Untersuchung von Schadstoffen einschließen, die über die Auspuffrohre hinausgehen.


Ein weiterer Forscher dieser Arbeit, Mark Nieuwenhuijsensagt, dass es notwendig ist, Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um die langfristige Gesundheit jüngerer Generationen zu erhalten. Dieser Fachmann warnt, dass bereits im Jahr 2015 rund 70% der Weltbevölkerung in Großstädten lebten, in denen die Belastung mit diesen Schadstoffen konstant war.

Damián Montero

Video: Allergien – wenn der Körper rebelliert (2017)


Interessante Artikel

Theatervorteile für Kinder

Theatervorteile für Kinder

Das Kindertheater ist eine der beliebtesten außerschulischen Aktivitäten für Kinder. Um Theater zu machen, ist es nicht notwendig, dass ein Star in der Familie geboren wird, es reicht aus, wenn das...