All the benefits of learning to play an instrument

That our children study music It has more benefits than we believe. Training to acquire these skills has positive effects on both the development of intelligence and motor skills.

This is explained by a study conducted by the University of Vermont entitled "Can playing pieces of Tchaikovsky improve brain activity of children?" This work has analyzed closely 230 children between 6 and 8 years to try to find the relationship between the practice of some musical instrument and some positive alteration in his cerebral cortex.

Positive alteration of music in the cerebral cortex

The authors were pleasantly surprised to see that their theory it was correct. When analyzing the cases in which the children played a musical instrument, they could verify that there was indeed a positive alteration within the cerebral cortex. Specifically, in the area responsible for people's motor skills.


According to the authors, this alteration is explained if we take into account the coordination between mind and hands to be able to play a musical instrument. The practice of these activities favors that senses such as sight and touch are combined in an impressive way to get that simply look at a score and seeing the note that must be executed, the fingers already know how to stand.

Playing a musical instrument also has positive effects in the mental and emotional fields. According James Hudziak, director of this work, this practice favors "the working memory, the organization and planning, the processing of emotions and the inhibition of aggressive impulses". This neurologist sums up his study in one sentence: "practicing daily with a violin can help a child with psychological disorders more than a child. pill bottle".


Playing an instrument makes you smarter

Another work published in the Journal of Neuroscience shows an investigation in which a six-year-old child was taught to play an instrument during a period of 15 months.

By the end of this process, these children had experienced changes in their brain structure. The areas for process information they had grown and the neural connections in these areas worked much better than before beginning this investigation. In fact these improvements had occurred only months later of having started this therapy.

After completing the study, the researchers discovered that these children had improved language skills, memory, behavior or spatial intelligence (fundamental in tasks as complicated as solving a mathematical operation).


Damián Montero

Video: How playing an instrument benefits your brain - Anita Collins


Interesting Articles

The decision-making dilemma, and what would you do?

The decision-making dilemma, and what would you do?

The main ingredient of the art of accompanying children in the process of becoming healthy and emotionally strong, able to risk choosing and taking responsibility for their decisions is the affective...

The complexes of teenage girls

The complexes of teenage girls

It is very common for teenage girls have physical complexes Some are dissatisfied with the size or shape of their nose; others feel too flat; others complain about their holsters, their silhouette,...

Learning to eat: how to educate the senses

Learning to eat: how to educate the senses

Normally, we consider that food is a matter of taste, but it is much more. It is clear that we all have preferences for some flavors, for a type of food, or for a particular style of food. Children...

The benefits of the school canteen in children

The benefits of the school canteen in children

That our children eat in the school dining room It is often an obligation, especially when we have difficulties to reconcile work and personal life. But not only are they good for parents'...

Alle Vorteile des Lernens eines Instruments

Dass unsere Kinder lernen Musik Es hat mehr Vorteile als wir glauben. Das Erlernen dieser Fähigkeiten hat positive Auswirkungen auf die Entwicklung der Intelligenz und der motorischen Fähigkeiten.

Dies wird durch eine Studie der Universität von Vermont mit dem Titel "Kann das Spielen von Teilen von Tschaikowsky die Gehirnaktivität von Kindern verbessern?" Diese Arbeit wurde genau analysiert 230 Kinder zwischen 6 und 8 Jahren, um die Beziehung zwischen der Praxis einiger zu finden Musikinstrument und einige positive Veränderung in seiner Großhirnrinde.

Positive Veränderung der Musik in der Großhirnrinde

Die Autoren waren angenehm überrascht, als sie ihre Theorie sahen es war richtig. Bei der Analyse der Fälle, in denen die Kinder ein Musikinstrument spielten, konnten sie nachweisen, dass tatsächlich eine positive Veränderung in der Großhirnrinde vorlag. Insbesondere in dem Bereich, der für die motorischen Fähigkeiten der Menschen verantwortlich ist.


Nach Ansicht der Autoren wird diese Änderung erklärt, wenn wir das berücksichtigen Koordination zwischen Geist und Händen in der Lage sein, ein Musikinstrument zu spielen. Die Ausübung dieser Aktivitäten begünstigt, dass die Sinne wie Sehen und Berühren auf eindrucksvolle Weise kombiniert werden, um einfach eine Partitur zu sehen und die Note zu sehen, die ausgeführt werden muss, wissen die Finger bereits wie man steht.

Das Spielen eines Musikinstruments wirkt sich auch positiv auf die mentalen und emotionalen Bereiche aus. Nach James HudziakAls Leiter dieser Arbeit begünstigt diese Praxis "das Arbeitsgedächtnis, die Organisation und Planung, die Verarbeitung von Emotionen und die Hemmung aggressiver Impulse". Dieser Neurologe fasst seine Studie in einem Satz zusammen: "Das tägliche Üben mit einer Geige kann einem Kind mit psychischen Störungen mehr helfen als einem Kind. Pille Flasche".


Ein Instrument zu spielen macht Sie intelligenter

Eine andere im Journal of Neuroscience veröffentlichte Arbeit zeigt eine Untersuchung, bei der ein sechsjähriges Kind in einem Zeitraum von 2000 bis 1955 ein Instrument spielen lernte 15 Monate.

Am Ende dieses Prozesses hatten diese Kinder Veränderungen in ihrer Gehirnstruktur erlebt. Die Bereiche für Prozessinformationen Sie waren gewachsen und die neuronalen Verbindungen in diesen Bereichen funktionierten viel besser als vor Beginn dieser Untersuchung. Tatsächlich waren diese Verbesserungen nur eingetreten Monate später mit dieser Therapie begonnen zu haben.

Nach Abschluss der Studie stellten die Forscher fest, dass diese Kinder Sprachkenntnisse, Gedächtnis, Verhalten oder räumliche Intelligenz verbessert hatten (grundlegend für Aufgaben, die ebenso kompliziert sind wie das Lösen einer mathematischen Operation).


Damián Montero

Video: E Bass lernen - Die Einführung in das Instrument


Interessante Artikel

Vor- und Nachteile des Mitschlafens

Vor- und Nachteile des Mitschlafens

In den Augen der meisten Menschen ist es gefährlich, mit einem Baby zu schlafen. Wir haben alle von jemandem gehört, der im Bett seiner Eltern gestorben ist. Was ist, wenn ich ihn zerquetsche? Was...