The whooping cough vaccine for all pregnant women

Several autonomous communities, including Andalusia and Madrid, will include as of January 2016 the pertussis vaccine for all pregnant women in the official vaccination calendar. Currently, only seven Autonomous Communities, including Catalonia, Asturias, the Basque Country, Navarre, Valencia, Extremadura and the Canary Islands, administer this vaccine to pregnant women.

The whooping cough vaccine, effective protection for newborns

The vaccine is the most effective protection measure against whooping cough for newborn babies, who are not given the vaccine until two months of age. During this time, whooping cough can become a serious illness for these newborn babies, causing even death, as happened recently in the month of September to a baby of fifteen days, at the Virgen del Rocío hospital in Seville.


According to experts, whooping cough vaccine is safe during pregnancy and is effective for the baby from birth to administration of the first dose after two months.

To begin administering it to pregnant women, readjustments should be made in the childhood immunization schedule, because currently the National Health Service lacks sufficient vaccines to cover the immunization of all pregnant women.

For this reason, children of 6 years will stop receiving their last dose. So that for children and babies, the doses of the whooping cough vaccines are maintained at two, four, six and eighteen months, but the recall at six years is temporarily suspended, so it will be necessary to readjust the infant immunization schedule.


The cases of pertussis in newborns are much more serious potentially than in children of 6 or 7 years, who already have four doses of this vaccine.

The pertussis vaccine for pregnant women, when and how

As of January 2016, all pregnant women can receive the whooping cough vaccine in the third trimester of pregnancy, specifically, between week 28 and week 36 of pregnancy. Immunization in pregnant women has forced to make a readjustment in the calendar of childhood vaccination in the face of the worldwide shortage of whooping cough vaccine. Some laboratories such as GSK and Sanofi have indicated that in one or two years they will be able to reestablish the supply of this vaccine.

Currently, whooping cough affects 7,17 cases in Spain per 100,000 inhabitants. It is a very contagious bacterial disease, which presents symptoms similar to those of a cold with persistent cough, and is transmitted when coughing or sneezing.


The Spanish Association of Pediatrics (AEP) is in favor of vaccination against whooping cough for all pregnant women and has claimed that, in the face of the shortage problems that this vaccine presents, the vaccination of 6-year-old children is delayed to allocate these doses to the future mothers.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Pregnancy calendar week to week

Click on each petal or circle to see the content of your week or trimester of pregnancy respectively.

Video: Whooping Cough Vaccine In Pregnancy


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Der Keuchhusten-Impfstoff für alle schwangeren Frauen

Mehrere autonome Gemeinschaften, darunter Andalusien und Madrid, werden ab Januar 2016 den Pertussis-Impfstoff für alle schwangeren Frauen in den offiziellen Impfkalender aufnehmen. Derzeit verabreichen nur sieben Autonome Gemeinschaften, darunter Katalonien, Asturien, das Baskenland, Navarra, Valencia, Extremadura und die Kanarischen Inseln, diesen Impfstoff schwangeren Frauen.

Der Keuchhusten-Impfstoff, wirksamer Schutz für Neugeborene

Der Impfstoff ist die effektivste Schutzmaßnahme gegen Keuchhusten bei Neugeborenen, denen der Impfstoff erst im Alter von zwei Monaten verabreicht wird. In dieser Zeit kann Keuchhusten für diese Neugeborenen zu einer ernsthaften Erkrankung werden, die sogar zum Tod führt, wie es kürzlich im Monat September bei einem fünfzehn Tage alten Baby im Virgen del Rocío-Krankenhaus in Sevilla der Fall war.


Experten zufolge ist Keuchhusten-Impfstoff während der Schwangerschaft sicher und für das Baby von Geburt an bis zur Verabreichung der ersten Dosis nach zwei Monaten wirksam.

Um mit der Verabreichung an schwangere Frauen zu beginnen, sollten Anpassungen im Immunisierungsprogramm für Kinder vorgenommen werden, da dem nationalen Gesundheitsdienst derzeit keine ausreichenden Impfstoffe für die Immunisierung aller schwangeren Frauen zur Verfügung stehen.

Aus diesem Grund erhalten Kinder von 6 Jahren nicht mehr die letzte Dosis. So wird bei Kindern und Babys die Dosis der Keuchhusten-Impfstoffe bei zwei, vier, sechs und achtzehn Monaten gehalten, aber die Rückrufaktion bei sechs Jahren wird vorübergehend ausgesetzt, so dass dies erforderlich sein wird Passen Sie den Impfplan für Säuglinge erneut an.


Die Pertussis-Fälle bei Neugeborenen sind potenziell viel schwerwiegender als bei Kindern im Alter von 6 oder 7 Jahren, die bereits vier Impfdosen erhalten haben.

Der Pertussis-Impfstoff für schwangere Frauen, wann und wie

Ab Januar 2016 können alle Schwangeren im dritten Schwangerschaftstrimenon, insbesondere zwischen der 28. und 36. Schwangerschaftswoche, den Keuchhusten-Impfstoff erhalten. Die Impfung bei schwangeren Frauen hat sich angesichts des weltweiten Mangels an Keuchhusten-Impfstoff gezwungen, den Kalender der Impfungen in der Kindheit neu einzustellen. Einige Laboratorien wie GSK und Sanofi haben angegeben, dass sie in einem oder zwei Jahren die Versorgung mit diesem Impfstoff wieder herstellen können.

Derzeit sind in Spanien pro 100.000 Einwohner 7,17 Fälle von Keuchhusten betroffen. Es ist eine sehr ansteckende bakterielle Erkrankung, die Symptome einer Erkältung mit anhaltendem Husten aufweist und beim Husten oder Niesen übertragen wird.


Der spanische Verband für Pädiatrie (AEP) befürwortet die Impfung gegen Keuchhusten bei allen schwangeren Frauen und behauptet, dass die Impfung von 6-jährigen Kindern angesichts der von diesem Impfstoff herrschenden Mangelprobleme mit der Zuteilung dieser Dosen verzögert wird die zukünftigen Mütter.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Schwangerschaftskalender Woche für Woche

Klicken Sie auf jedes Blütenblatt oder Kreis, um den Inhalt Ihrer Schwangerschaftswoche bzw. des Schwangerschaftstrimesters anzuzeigen.

Video: Impfen in der Schwangerschaft


Interessante Artikel

So funktioniert das Gehirn Ihres Babys

So funktioniert das Gehirn Ihres Babys

Die frühes Lernen Es ist keine Laune von Pädagogen und Lehrern. Es ist eine greifbare und effektive Realität, von dem Moment an, in dem die Baby Gehirn, seine enormen Möglichkeiten und seine...

Für einen Spaziergang mit dem Baby

Für einen Spaziergang mit dem Baby

Beenden mit dem Baby gehen Es ist eine sehr nützliche Routine. In diesen kleinen Momenten können Sie nicht nur alles wissen, was Sie umgibt, sondern auch Ihren Horizont erweitern und sich körperlich,...