Perfection in children

Wanting our tasks and duties to go well is good and reasonable, but perfection in children, understood as the attitude of focusing only on being excellent in their work and facing others, causes them to fall into excessive and debilitating behavior: perfectionism

It is good to want to do things well and put effort into it, but perfectionism takes this to extremes, which causes an exasperating and destructive behavior.

We all know some perfectionist: people who strive in their appearance up to the last detail, who demand a lot at work; maniacs with order and cleanliness, who can not stand that others do not act as they would like ... or maybe we ourselves are the ones who present that behavior.


The perfectionist lives, to a great extent, to "do things" very well done and that leads him, quite frequently, to a remarkable suffering of his own and in his environment.

Characteristics of the perfectionist

There are many traits that define a perfectionist person, but we can summarize them in the following points:

- Fixes unrealizable or unrealistic goals or objectives, and establishes disproportionate expectations of achievement, both with respect to themselves and to others.
- Insatiable need for personal achievement and triumph in those areas defined as the goal of progress.
- Extreme competitiveness for the attainment of his purposes.
- Focus your objectives in certain areas (weight, housework, sports form ...)
- Constant self-criticism and difficulty accepting criticism from others.
- Need for approval on the part of others.
- Tireless need to win in those areas defined as the goal of progress.
- Tendency to delay the completion of tasks for fear of failing.


Work and study: the obsession with success

In a society as competitive as ours, it is common for young people to shine the obsession with success. They are required a lot: make a brilliant career, find the ideal partner, get a good job * so many expectations in them leads to many boys and girls end up showing a perfectionist behavior in their tasks. They think that they will be valued for their achievements and, therefore, live focused on obtaining them.

It happens then that the perfectionist confuses means and ends (as also happens in other areas of life). Before any work or learning activity, the perfectionist loses the horizon in his work, the purpose for which he works, and engages in very specific aspects of the task. Live to work, and do not work to live. Being work or studies a means to live, the perfectionist is clouded the existential scenario focusing on how it performs, how they value or value it, in that it did not reach the proposed goals because of the volume of work, its quality or time employed in doing it.


In addition, the perfectionist ends up paying a very high price: he lives anguished, tense, afraid to make mistakes and does not enjoy achievements.

The perfectionist: a problem for others

To make matters worse, the perfectionist is not the only one affected by his problem: it also harms the people who move around him. They demand that others reach levels they can hardly reach, and they often want to change the way they are or act as friends or as a couple, because it does not seem "right" to them.

They also distrust that others can do things well, so they want to control everything continually and often speak in bad manners to their colleagues or treat them as useless. All this can cause great suffering to the people who surround the perfectionist, since they feel continually put to the test and are unable to reach where they have set the bar. And in the end, a person who wants to be perfect ends up showing that not only is not, but also ends up giving problems and generating frustration and aversion around him.

Teresa Pereda
Advisors: Doctor Manuel Álvarez and Domingo García-Villamisar, psychologist. Book authors The perfectionist syndrome.

You may also like:

- Beat perfectionism: 7 solutions for perfectionists

- The perfectionist, is it born or is it made?

- 8 secrets to succeed in an oral exam

Video: Perfection is the Wrong Direction | Isabella Fons | [email protected]


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Perfektion bei Kindern

Wenn wir wollen, dass unsere Aufgaben und Pflichten gut laufen, ist dies gut und vernünftig, aber Perfektion bei Kindern, verstanden als die Einstellung, sich nur auf ihre Arbeit zu konzentrieren und sich anderen zu stellen, führt dazu, dass sie in übermäßiges und schwächeres Verhalten fallen: Perfektionismus

Es ist gut, die Dinge gut machen zu wollen und sich bemühen zu wollen, aber der Perfektionismus bringt dies zum Extrem, was zu einem ärgerlichen und destruktiven Verhalten führt.

Wir alle kennen einige Perfektionist: Menschen, die sich in ihrem Äußeren bis ins letzte Detail bemühen, die bei der Arbeit viel verlangen; Maniacs mit Ordnung und Sauberkeit, die es nicht ertragen können, dass andere sich nicht so verhalten, wie sie möchten ... oder vielleicht sind wir selbst diejenigen, die dieses Verhalten zeigen.


Der Perfektionist lebt zu einem großen Teil davon, "Dinge zu tun", sehr gut gemacht, und dies führt ihn häufig zu einem bemerkenswerten Leiden, das er selbst und in seiner Umgebung hat.

Merkmale des Perfektionisten

Es gibt viele Eigenschaften, die eine perfektionistische Person definieren, aber wir können sie in den folgenden Punkten zusammenfassen:

- Behebt nicht realisierbare oder unrealistische Ziele oder Ziele und stellt unverhältnismäßige Leistungserwartungen sowohl gegenüber sich selbst als auch gegenüber anderen auf.
- Unersättliches Bedürfnis nach persönlichem Erfolg und Erfolg in den Bereichen, die als Ziel des Fortschritts definiert sind.
- Extreme Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zur Erreichung seiner Zwecke.
- Konzentrieren Sie Ihre Ziele auf bestimmte Bereiche (Gewicht, Hausarbeit, Sportform ...)
- Ständige Selbstkritik und Schwierigkeiten, Kritik von anderen zu akzeptieren.
- Notwendigkeit einer Genehmigung von anderen.
- Unermüdliches Bedürfnis zu gewinnen in den Bereichen, die als Ziel des Fortschritts definiert sind.
- Tendenz, die Erledigung von Aufgaben zu verzögern aus Angst zu versagen.


Arbeiten und Lernen: Obsession mit Erfolg

In einer Gesellschaft, die so wettbewerbsfähig ist wie unsere, ist es üblich, dass junge Menschen die Besessenheit mit Erfolg glänzen. Sie sind sehr gefragt: eine brillante Karriere machen, den idealen Partner finden, einen guten Job finden * so viele Erwartungen in ihnen führen dazu, dass viele Jungen und Mädchen in ihren Aufgaben ein perfektionistisches Verhalten zeigen. Sie glauben, dass sie für ihre Errungenschaften geschätzt werden und deshalb live darauf ausgerichtet sind, sie zu erreichen.

Es kommt dann vor, dass der Perfektionist Mittel und Zwecke verwirrt (wie dies auch in anderen Lebensbereichen der Fall ist). Vor jeder Arbeit oder Lernaktivität verliert der Perfektionist den Horizont in seiner Arbeit, den Zweck, für den er arbeitet, und beschäftigt sich mit ganz bestimmten Aspekten der Aufgabe. Lebe, um zu arbeiten, und arbeite nicht, um zu leben. Der Perfektionist ist als Arbeitsmittel oder als ein Mittel zum Leben getrübt. Das existenzielle Szenario ist getrübt und konzentriert sich auf seine Leistung, ihren Wert oder Wert, indem er die vorgeschlagenen Ziele aufgrund des Arbeitsvolumens, der Qualität oder der Zeit nicht erreicht beschäftigt es zu tun.


Außerdem zahlt der Perfektionist einen sehr hohen Preis: Er lebt ängstlich, angespannt, ängstlich, Fehler zu machen und genießt keine Leistungen.

Der Perfektionist: ein Problem für andere

Zu allem Überfluss ist der Perfektionist nicht der einzige, der von seinem Problem betroffen ist: Er schadet auch den Menschen, die sich um ihn herum bewegen. Sie verlangen, dass andere ein Niveau erreichen, das sie kaum erreichen können, und sie möchten oft ändern, wie sie sind, oder als Freunde oder als Paar agieren, weil es ihnen nicht "richtig" erscheint.

Sie trauen auch nicht, dass andere die Dinge gut machen können, deshalb wollen sie ständig alles kontrollieren und sprechen oft mit ihren Kollegen auf schlechte Weise oder behandeln sie als nutzlos. All dies kann den Menschen, die den Perfektionisten umgeben, großes Leid zufügen, da sie sich ständig auf die Probe gestellt fühlen und nicht in der Lage sind, das zu erreichen, wo sie die Messlatte gesetzt haben. Und am Ende zeigt eine Person, die perfekt sein will, dass sie nicht nur nicht ist, sondern auch Probleme bereitet und Frustration und Abneigung um sie herum erzeugt.

Teresa Pereda
Berater: Doktor Manuel Álvarez und Domingo García-VillamisarPsychologe Buchautoren Das Perfektionismus-Syndrom.

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Beat Perfektionismus: 7 Lösungen für Perfektionisten

- Der Perfektionist, ist er geboren oder wurde er geschaffen?

- 8 Geheimnisse für eine mündliche Prüfung

Video: Kinder auf der Überholspur - Bildung um jeden Preis


Interessante Artikel

Ehrgeizig, ist es positiv und negativ?

Ehrgeizig, ist es positiv und negativ?

Ehrgeiz ist gesund und positiv wenn er Projekte entwickelt und als Motor arbeitet, der uns einlädt, sich zu verbessern, zu wachsen oder Fortschritte zu machen, dh Konformismus und Mittelmäßigkeit...