Effects of maternal depression on the baby

After 9 months of waiting, finally, the baby is born and the mother feels sad. Why? An emotional slump where there should be happiness in having given birth, is the signal that indicates something is not right. And is thatOne in two women who have just given birth feel the so-called postpartum depression or baby blues.

Maternal depression is a mild and transient depression caused by several factors such as: hormonal changes, physical fatigue, biological factors, trauma, loss and stress, which should not be confused with postpartum sadness.

How postpartum depression affects the baby

There is a link between mother and child, and the symptoms of depression in mothers can affect the establishment of affective bonds between both, affecting the cognitive, emotional and physical development of the baby. When suffering from depression, the mother can reach:


- Not being emotionally available to cover all the needs of the baby.

- Having difficulties when interpreting the baby's messages properly and, therefore, giving wrong answers to their needs.

- Not knowing how to take care of the baby's health.

Fight maternal depression

The discomfort after childbirth, the visits, the crying baby These are some things that can overwhelm the mother during these days. Although the best thing is not to worry too much, since the symptoms usually remit after 7 or 10 days. Even so, there are a series of guidelines you can follow to help combat them from the beginning:

- Do not worry about losing weight. It is normal for mothers to be overwhelmed when losing weight and recover their previous size after pregnancy. It will take a while to recover the previous weight. Do not diet unless recommended by your doctor. If you do, Thins without stress.


- Trust your doctor. Any task to be performed with the baby becomes a stressful situation for the mother. From breastfeeding, cutting the baby's nails, curing the cord everything can become a mountain, but if you count on your doctor, you will help that the doubts do not invade you and to move away the restlessness.

- Eat nuts. The nuts are very rich in magnesium: essential mineral that will help to recover strength and to raise the mood.

- Increase consumption of bluefish. They are a great source of Omega-3, beneficial against anemia and depression.

Causes postpartum depression

Postpartum depression is a normal reaction, and there are several reasons for this sudden drop in mood:

- Tiredness after the stress suffered by childbirth.

- The concern for the responsibility acquired and the fear of not doing it well. The best way to avoid these fears and fears is the information and preparation received during pregnancy.


- Hormonal change. It is the most influential cause. After childbirth the level of two hormones that have provided energy during pregnancy, progesterone and estrogen are altered, and this sudden drop can affect mood as it does in the days before menstruation. Increase the mood is easy, another hormone, oxytocin, appears to bring comfort to the breast or simply to caress and pamper the baby.

Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Coping with Anxiety and Depression During Pregnancy


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Auswirkungen einer Depression der Mutter auf das Baby

Nach 9 Monaten Wartezeit ist das Baby endlich geboren und die Mutter ist traurig. Warum? Ein emotionaler Einbruch, in dem es glücklich sein sollte, geboren zu werden, ist das Signal, dass etwas nicht stimmt. Und ist dasJede zweite Frau, die gerade geboren hat, spürt die sogenannte postpartale Depression oder den Baby-Blues.

Mütterliche Depression ist eine leichte und vorübergehende Depression Ursache sind verschiedene Faktoren wie hormonelle Veränderungen, körperliche Erschöpfung, biologische Faktoren, Trauma, Verlust und Stress, die nicht mit der postpartalen Traurigkeit verwechselt werden sollten.

Wie wirkt sich eine Depression nach der Geburt auf das Baby aus?

Es gibt eine Verbindung zwischen Mutter und Kind, und die Symptome der Depression bei Müttern können die Herstellung affektiver Bindungen zwischen beiden beeinflussen und die kognitive, emotionale und körperliche Entwicklung des Babys beeinträchtigen. Bei Depressionen kann die Mutter erreichen:


- Nicht emotional verfügbar zu sein, um alle Bedürfnisse des Babys abzudecken.

- Schwierigkeiten haben, die Botschaften des Babys richtig zu interpretieren, und daher falsche Antworten auf ihre Bedürfnisse geben.

- Nicht zu wissen, wie man sich um die Gesundheit des Babys kümmert.

Mütterliche Depression bekämpfen

Das Unbehagen nach der Geburt, die Besuche, das weinende Baby Dies sind einige Dinge, die die Mutter in diesen Tagen überwältigen können. Obwohl es das Beste ist, sich nicht allzu viele Sorgen zu machen, da die Symptome normalerweise nach 7 oder 10 Tagen wieder auftreten. Es gibt jedoch eine Reihe von Richtlinien, die Sie von Anfang an unterstützen können, um sie zu bekämpfen:

- Machen Sie sich keine Sorgen über das Abnehmen. Es ist normal, dass Mütter beim Abnehmen überwältigt werden und nach der Schwangerschaft ihre vorherige Größe erreichen. Es dauert eine Weile, bis das vorherige Gewicht wiederhergestellt ist. Nehmen Sie keine Diät vor, es sei denn, Ihr Arzt empfiehlt dies. Wenn du es tust, Verdünnt ohne Stress.


- Vertrauen Sie Ihrem Arzt. Jede mit dem Baby zu erledigende Aufgabe wird für die Mutter zu einer Stresssituation. Wenn Sie stillen, die Nägel des Babys schneiden, die Schnur heilen, kann alles zu einem Berg werden. Wenn Sie jedoch auf Ihren Arzt zählen, werden Sie helfen, dass die Zweifel nicht in Sie eindringen und die Unruhe überwinden.

- Nüsse essen. Die Nüsse sind sehr reich an Magnesium: ein essentielles Mineral, das hilft, Kraft zu tanken und die Stimmung zu heben.

- Erhöhen Sie den Verbrauch von Blaufischfleisch. Sie sind eine großartige Quelle für Omega-3-Fettsäuren und wirken gegen Anämie und Depression.

Verursacht postpartale Depression

Eine postpartale Depression ist eine normale Reaktion, und es gibt mehrere Gründe für diesen plötzlichen Stimmungsabfall:

- Müdigkeit nach dem Stress der Geburt.

- Die Sorge um die erworbene Verantwortung und die Angst, es nicht gut zu machen. Der beste Weg, diese Ängste und Ängste zu vermeiden, ist die Information und Vorbereitung während der Schwangerschaft.


- Hormonelle Veränderung. Es ist die einflussreichste Ursache. Nach der Geburt ist der Spiegel von zwei Hormonen, die während der Schwangerschaft Energie geliefert haben, Progesteron und Östrogen verändert, und dieser plötzliche Abfall kann sich auf die Stimmung wie in den Tagen vor der Menstruation auswirken. Die Stimmung zu steigern ist einfach, ein anderes Hormon, Oxytocin, scheint die Brust zu trösten oder das Baby einfach zu streicheln und zu verwöhnen.

Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Das Leiden unter depressiven Eltern


Interessante Artikel

Spiel und Werte, wie man durch Spaß lehrt

Spiel und Werte, wie man durch Spaß lehrt

Welches Kind kann nicht gerne spielen? Wenn es nicht die Verantwortlichkeiten gäbe, die sie haben, würde sicherlich der Jüngste des Hauses den ganzen Tag damit verbringen, auf diese Weise Spaß zu...

Peugeot 5008, der Familien-Minivan

Peugeot 5008, der Familien-Minivan

Der Peugeot 5008 ist als Familien-Minivan mit 5 und 7 Sitzen erhältlich und ideal für Reisen und Urlaub. Der Peugeot 5008 Minivan ist eine ideale Wahl für lange Reisen, da er sich durch...

Der Apgar-Test des Neugeborenen

Der Apgar-Test des Neugeborenen

Der Übergang des Neugeborenen vom intrauterinen zum extrauterinen Leben bringt viele Veränderungen mit sich, und es ist wichtig zu beurteilen, ob dieser Übergang normal verläuft. Diese Beurteilung...