Being an optimist increases life expectancy

Thinking that everything will be fine and acting with confidence when difficulties arise is the most effective psychology option since it helps our body and mind to function better. It has been shown to be an optimistic person helps increase life expectancy more than other means such as quitting smoking or lowering cholesterol levels.

Seeing each day with its best face lengthens life expectancy more than the reduction and control of cholesterol and smoking. The most optimistic people tend to suffer fewer diseases. If we are happier, we can live even 5 years longer than those who are not..

"Optimistic people usually maintain a healthier life, they take care of themselves more, appreciate and value how important life is, "explains the professor of Behavioral Sciences at the University of Oviedo, José Antonio Flórez Sánchez.


The crisis has increased between 5 and 8 percent the rate of mental illness:anxiety, depression, sleep disorders and suicides. But happiness has to do with oneself. Even in the worst situations we can be happy. The possession of goods is not happiness, qualifies the professor.

Benefits of optimism

- Better emotional health. Optimistic people have a better emotional response to the circumstances, which translates into less cortisol concentrations, cause of stress, and more dopamine and serotonin, the neurotransmitters involved in emotional well-being.


- Greater personal achievementsRecent studies have shown that optimistic people perform better than those who are not.

- Longer life expectancy. Optimistic people usually have a longevity greater in five years to those who have a more pessimistic life.

How to boost optimism

- Set realistic goals, in this way you will help increase your level of self-confidence and motivation once your goals are achieved after the effort.

- Have an adequate balance between the challenges you propose and your abilities. We must face challenges that involve an effort in our life but that we can overcome.

- Manage defeats correctly. Know the consequences of our actions, know the resources and manage the defeats analyzing and setting new goals.


Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Positive attitude could increase life span


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Optimist zu sein erhöht die Lebenserwartung

Zu denken, dass alles gut wird und wenn Schwierigkeiten auftreten, ist die effektivste psychologische Option, da es unserem Körper und Geist hilft, besser zu funktionieren. Es wurde gezeigt, dass es ist Eine optimistische Person hilft, die Lebenserwartung zu erhöhen mehr als andere Mittel wie das Aufhören mit dem Rauchen oder die Senkung des Cholesterinspiegels.

Jeder Tag mit seinem besten Gesicht zu sehen verlängert die Lebenserwartung mehr als die Reduktion und Kontrolle von Cholesterin und Rauchen. Die optimistischsten Menschen neigen dazu, weniger Krankheiten zu haben. Wenn wir glücklicher sind, können wir sogar 5 Jahre länger leben als diejenigen, die es nicht sind..

"Optimistische Leute behaupten normalerweise a gesünderes LebenSie kümmern sich um sich selbst, schätzen und schätzen, wie wichtig das Leben ist ", erklärt der Professor für Verhaltenswissenschaften an der Universität Oviedo, José Antonio Flórez Sánchez.


Die Krise hat die Rate psychischer Erkrankungen zwischen 5 und 8 Prozent erhöht:Angstzustände, Depressionen, Schlafstörungen und Selbstmorde. Aber das Glück hat mit sich selbst zu tun. Selbst in den schlimmsten Situationen können wir glücklich sein. Der Besitz von Gütern ist kein Glück, qualifiziert der Professor.

Vorteile des Optimismus

- Bessere emotionale Gesundheit. Optimistische Menschen haben eine bessere emotionale Reaktion auf die Umstände, was sich in weniger auswirkt Cortisol-KonzentrationenUrsache von Stress und mehr Dopamin und Serotonindie Neurotransmitter, die am emotionalen Wohlbefinden beteiligt sind.


- Höhere persönliche ErfolgeNeueste Studien haben gezeigt, dass optimistische Menschen bessere Leistungen erbringen als diejenigen, die dies nicht tun.

- Längere Lebenserwartung. Optimistische Menschen haben in der Regel eine um fünf Jahre längere Lebenserwartung als diejenigen, die ein pessimistischeres Leben führen.

Wie kann man den Optimismus steigern?

- Setzen Sie sich realistische ZieleAuf diese Weise tragen Sie dazu bei, Ihr Selbstbewusstsein und Ihre Motivation zu steigern, sobald Ihre Ziele nach der Anstrengung erreicht werden.

- Sorgen Sie für ein angemessenes Gleichgewicht zwischen den von Ihnen vorgeschlagenen Herausforderungen und Ihren Fähigkeiten. Wir müssen uns Herausforderungen stellen, die Anstrengungen in unserem Leben erfordern, die wir jedoch überwinden können.

- Verwalten Sie Niederlagen richtig. Erkennen Sie die Konsequenzen unseres Handelns, kennen Sie die Ressourcen und verwalten Sie die Niederlagen, indem Sie neue Ziele analysieren und festlegen.


Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Cynthia Kenyon: Experiments that hint of longer lives


Interessante Artikel

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Beim Betreten eines Klassenzimmers für frühkindliche Erziehung wird leicht wahrgenommen, dass Jungen und Mädchen in den ersten Schuljahren durch eine Vielzahl von Aktivitäten lernen, in denen es...