The main causes of death among adolescents

The traffic accidents, HIV / AIDS and suicides they are the main causes of death among adolescents. According to a report by the World Health Organization (WHO), in 2012 they died worldwide 1.3 million teenagers

Among the main causes of death are also respiratory infections, violence, diarrhea, drowning, meningitis, epilepsy and immune, endocrine or blood diseases.

The Depression is the leading cause of disability between 10 and 19 years old. After the depression are traffic accidents, anemia, HIV / AIDS, self-harm, back or neck pain, diarrhea, anxiety disorders, asthma or respiratory infections.


The main concern is traffic accidents, which are the leading cause of death and the second cause of disability or illness in adolescence, with a higher incidence in males, which triples the death rate of young women. To combat them, the WHO recommends favoring access to public transport, tightening speed limits and alcohol consumption or determining safe pedestrian zones in the school and academic environment.

Descent of deaths due to pregnancy

On a positive note, the report shows a decline in deaths related to pregnancy or complications during delivery. In Southeast Asia it has fallen by 57 percent, while in the Mediterranean region the fall has been 50 percent, and in East Africa, it has fallen by 37 percent. In spite of these advances, maternal mortality continues to occupy the second place among the causes of death among 15 to 19 year-old girls worldwide, surpassed only by suicide.


HIV deaths increase

HIV-related deaths continue to grow among adolescents, especially in Africa, even though HIV-related deaths are declining at other ages.
However, the deaths of adolescents have decreased by up to 90 percent in Africa thanks to infant immunization programs between 2000 and 2012. Respiratory tract infections or diarrhea now occupy the second and fourth place among the causes of death among children. Young people between 10 and 14 years old. And if meningitis is added to them, all these pathologies account for 18 percent of all deaths in this age group, when in 2000 they accounted for 19 percent of all deaths.

The survey shows that one in four teenagers does not get enough exercise and that in some countries 1 in 3 young people is obese. The WHO recommends at least one hour of moderate exercise a day.


Video: Top 10 Leading Causes of Death


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Die Haupttodesursachen bei Jugendlichen

Die Verkehrsunfälle, HIV / AIDS und Selbstmorde Sie sind die Haupttodesursache bei Jugendlichen. Laut einem Bericht der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) starben sie 2012 weltweit 1,3 Millionen Teenager

Zu den Haupttodesursachen gehören auch Infektionen der Atemwege, Gewalt, Durchfall, Ertrinken, Meningitis, Epilepsie sowie Immun-, endokrine oder Blutkrankheiten.

Die Depression ist die Hauptursache für Behinderung zwischen 10 und 19 Jahre alt. Nach der Depression sind Verkehrsunfälle, Anämie, HIV / AIDS, Selbstbeschädigung, Rücken- oder Nackenschmerzen, Durchfall, Angststörungen, Asthma oder Atemwegsinfektionen.


Die Hauptsorge betrifft Verkehrsunfälle, die häufigste Todesursache und die zweite Ursache für Behinderung oder Krankheit im Jugendalter, wobei die Häufigkeit bei Männern höher ist, was die Todesrate junger Frauen verdreifacht. Um sie zu bekämpfen, empfiehlt die WHO, den Zugang zu öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln zu bevorzugen, die Geschwindigkeitsbeschränkungen und den Alkoholkonsum zu verschärfen oder sichere Fußgängerzonen im schulischen und akademischen Umfeld festzulegen.

Abnahme der Todesfälle aufgrund einer Schwangerschaft

Positiv ist zu vermerken, dass der Bericht einen Rückgang der Todesfälle aufgrund von Schwangerschaft oder Komplikationen während der Entbindung zeigt. In Südostasien ist es um 57 Prozent gefallen, in der Mittelmeerregion um 50 Prozent und in Ostafrika um 37 Prozent. Trotz dieser Fortschritte nimmt die Müttersterblichkeit nach wie vor den zweiten Platz unter den Todesursachen von 15 bis 19-jährigen Mädchen weltweit ein und wird nur durch Selbstmord übertroffen.


HIV-Todesfälle nehmen zu

HIV-bedingte Todesfälle nehmen bei Jugendlichen weiter zu, insbesondere in Afrika, obwohl die HIV-bedingten Todesfälle in anderen Altersgruppen zurückgehen.
Die Zahl der Todesfälle bei Jugendlichen ist in Afrika zwischen 2000 und 2012 durch Impfprogramme für Säuglinge um bis zu 90 Prozent zurückgegangen. Infektionen der Atemwege oder Durchfall nehmen jetzt den zweiten und vierten Platz unter den Todesursachen bei Kindern ein. Jugendliche zwischen 10 und 14 Jahren. Und wenn Meningitis hinzukommt, machen alle diese Pathologien 18 Prozent aller Todesfälle in dieser Altersgruppe aus, während sie im Jahr 2000 19 Prozent aller Todesfälle ausmachten.

Die Umfrage zeigt, dass einer von vier Jugendlichen nicht genug Bewegung bekommt und in einigen Ländern jeder dritte Junge übergewichtig ist. Die WHO empfiehlt mindestens eine Stunde mäßiger Bewegung pro Tag.


Video: Bettina Wulff in Action für den Stadthelm von ABUS


Interessante Artikel

Attendis, drei Vorschläge für städtische Sommerlager

Attendis, drei Vorschläge für städtische Sommerlager

Die erwarteten Sommerferien kommen, und die Attendis-Schulen öffnen auch ihre Türen. Sie bieten drei verschiedene Vorschläge für Sommerkurse an, deren Ziel es ist, den Schülern und ihren Familien zu...

Niederlage akzeptieren: Der Wert von Sportlichkeit

Niederlage akzeptieren: Der Wert von Sportlichkeit

Wie gerne, aber was gewinnen bitter ist die Niederlage. Verlieren ist jedoch ein Teil des Lebens, und Sie sollten diese Ereignisse nicht als Versagen betrachten, sondern als einen Moment, in dem Sie...