The secret to studying effortlessly and achieving high performance

Watching some children and teenagers while they study, can be a good exercise to know what we are talking about when searching the secret to study effortlessly and achieve high performance: continuous movements, not focusing on the book more than a few minutes in a row, looking up every time, getting out of the chair frequently, certain periods of absence ...

Perhaps not all children and adolescents study as well, but it seems that the incidence of attention and concentration problems is increasing. Each time it is harder for them to focus to concentrate and give the attention the brain needs to study and achieve high performance.

We could define concentration as "a state of self-forgetfulness in which attention is completely absorbed and focused so much, that it is limited almost only to the narrow fringe of perception related to the task we are carrying out". With concentration we are serene and absorbed in what we do.


The oasis of effort: study concentrated

As pointed out by Daniel Goleman, the concentration makes us enter a kind of oasis in which, once in it, with little effort of will we maintain a high performance. We find ourselves engaged in a task, without intrusive thoughts that distract us. It is a state in which even the hardest work can be entertaining and rewarding, instead of strenuous and exhausting.

We all have experiences of this kind. If we like to build boats, for example, it would be impossible to finish one if we did not dedicate intense moments, ignoring if we are hungry, what they put on TV or the time that passes ... And this, in the studios, has important consequences because to the extent that our children are able to concentrate and maintain attention they will learn in a more effective way.


Intelligent, but ... lazy?

In order to learn and obtain good academic results, it is not enough to be intelligent, as is checked daily in the institutes. Many parents are also aware of this problem because they clearly see that their children are smart, perhaps with a higher than average coefficient, but there is no one who ties them to the table, or they lose interest in what they study. Indeed, intelligence is an important and basic capacity, but it is necessary for young people to put it into operation, otherwise it is not learned. And, on the contrary, experience shows that maybe not so smart children can get more success in life simply because they had to try harder since childhood, and that meant good training.

The capacity for concentration involves effort, making use of the will; It is something that can be trained, although it is also true that this ability is acquired from childhood. Achieving that oasis to study, which we talked about above (others speak of entering a capsule or bubble), can be definitive when it comes to academic results. An oasis that can be something physical: the best place (which is not in front of the television, nor the sofa), the best environment (lighting, comfort) and eliminating all possible distractors (music, calls, noises, other books different on top of the table, etc.).


5 types of attention

Concentration is not the same as attention, a more psychological concept, but supposes it. It is worth distinguishing the different types of attention:

1. Selective attention. It is the ability to respond to the essential aspects of a task or situation and ignore those irrelevant. In learning, it is important to spend time on the subjects and sections of each subject that are worthwhile, for example, instead of wasting time with information of little importance. In addition, we must bear in mind that, throughout a class, there are many different stimuli that you have to learn to ignore, because if you pay attention you can lose the thread of the subject: classmates, jokes, behavior of the teacher, what you see through the window *

2. Divided attention. This kind of attention is given when, in the face of an overload of stimuli, the resources we have are distributed. Is the ability to attend more than one stimulus at a time and is the one used in the performance of school work, when you have to consult several sources, for example. It is similar to how a computer works with several open windows, each of them carrying out a process, with a common goal.

3. Sustained attention. Ability to maintain attention for a period of time. It is a basic capacity, because the study is an activity that requires time, on the one hand, and, in addition, it is not usually the most rewarding that can be done, on the other.

4. Alternating attention. Ability to attend with mental flexibility, when necessary. Without this ability, students could block themselves when they had to move from a more humanistic activity to a more mathematical one.

5.Involuntary care Involuntary attention tends to be passive and emotional and is related to the appearance of a new stimulus, strong and significant: it is what is said when something "catches your attention". But it disappears almost immediately with repetition or monotony. When controlled voluntarily, these obstacles can be overcome.

However, we must bear in mind that in general, the attention is not unlimited. Thirty or forty minutes in a row, intense and productive, is more than enough. The programmed rest guarantees the effort and the following attention, provided that it is not excessively long and so crazy that it produces an irremediable deconcentration.

Ignacio Iturbe

Video: Achieve Effortless Educational Success Subliminal Messages Theta Binaural


Interesting Articles

5 tricks for a perfect snack

5 tricks for a perfect snack

There is a misconception about the need to distribute the meals in five takes to guarantee energy for the whole day. However, this distribution has other benefits, such as avoiding chopping between...

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

The Postpartum girdles are, like the 'normal' strips, products that They serve to stylize the figure of women, in this case after the changes produced in your belly after delivery. Beyond the pros...

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

Most young people would like to have a magical recipe or a crystal ball to ver the future and be able to decide what career to study after finishing Baccalaureate. And we would like to provide it to...

Why you should not use baby walker

Why you should not use baby walker

When the babies they start to walk Many parents may consider the need for cBuy a walker. That object that many will have had when they were children and that allowed children to "walk" while...

Das Geheimnis, um mühelos zu lernen und Höchstleistungen zu erzielen

Wenn Sie Kindern und Jugendlichen beim Lernen zusehen, kann dies eine gute Übung sein, um zu wissen, worüber wir bei der Suche sprechen das Geheimnis, um mühelos zu studieren und eine hohe Leistung zu erzielen: ununterbrochene Bewegungen, nicht mehr als ein paar Minuten hintereinander auf das Buch fokussiert, jedes Mal aufblicken, häufig vom Stuhl aufstehen, bestimmte Abwesenheitszeiten ...

Vielleicht studieren nicht alle Kinder und Jugendlichen, aber es scheint, dass das Auftreten von Aufmerksamkeits- und Konzentrationsproblemen zunimmt. Es ist für sie immer schwieriger, sich auf die Konzentration zu konzentrieren und die Aufmerksamkeit zu erhalten, die das Gehirn für das Lernen und die Erzielung einer hohen Leistung benötigt.

Wir könnten Konzentration als "einen Zustand der Selbstvergessenheit definieren, in dem die Aufmerksamkeit vollständig absorbiert und so konzentriert ist, dass sie sich fast nur auf den engen Rand der Wahrnehmung beschränkt, der mit der von uns ausgeführten Aufgabe zusammenhängt". Mit Konzentration sind wir gelassen und absorbiert in dem, was wir tun.


Die Oase der Anstrengung: konzentriertes Lernen

Wie Daniel Goleman feststellt, führt die Konzentration dazu, dass wir uns in eine Art Oase begeben, in der wir, wenn wir einmal mit wenig Willenskraft darin sind, eine hohe Leistung aufrechterhalten. Wir befinden uns in einer Aufgabe, ohne aufdringliche Gedanken, die uns ablenken. Es ist ein Zustand, in dem selbst die härteste Arbeit unterhaltsam und lohnend sein kann, anstatt anstrengend und anstrengend zu sein.

Wir haben alle Erfahrungen dieser Art. Wenn wir zum Beispiel Boote bauen möchten, wäre es unmöglich, eines zu beenden, wenn wir keine intensiven Momente widmen würden und ignorieren würden, ob wir hungrig sind, was sie im Fernsehen senden oder die Zeit, die vergeht ... Und dies hat sich in den Studios getan Wichtige Konsequenzen, da unsere Kinder in dem Maße, in dem sie sich konzentrieren und aufrechterhalten können, effektiver lernen.


Intelligent, aber ... faul?

Um zu lernen und gute akademische Ergebnisse zu erzielen, reicht es nicht aus, intelligent zu sein, wie es in den Instituten täglich überprüft wird. Viele Eltern sind sich dieses Problems auch bewusst, weil sie klar erkennen, dass ihre Kinder schlau sind, vielleicht mit einem überdurchschnittlichen Koeffizienten, aber es gibt niemanden, der sie an den Tisch bindet, oder sie verlieren das Interesse an dem, was sie studieren. Intelligenz ist zwar eine wichtige und grundlegende Fähigkeit, aber junge Menschen müssen sie in Betrieb nehmen, sonst wird sie nicht gelernt. Und im Gegenteil, die Erfahrung zeigt, dass vielleicht nicht so kluge Kinder mehr Erfolg im Leben haben können, nur weil sie sich seit ihrer Kindheit stärker bemühen mussten und das ein gutes Training bedeutete.

Die Fähigkeit zur Konzentration erfordert Anstrengung, den Willen zu nutzen; Es ist etwas, das trainiert werden kann, obwohl es auch wahr ist, dass diese Fähigkeit von Kindheit an erworben wird. Das Erreichen dieser Oase zum Studieren, über die wir oben gesprochen haben (andere sprechen von Eintritt in eine Kapsel oder Blase), kann für die akademischen Ergebnisse entscheidend sein. Eine Oase, die etwas Physisches sein kann: Der beste Ort (der sich nicht vor dem Fernseher oder das Sofa befindet), die beste Umgebung (Beleuchtung, Komfort) und die Beseitigung aller möglichen Störfaktoren (Musik, Anrufe, Geräusche, andere Bücher) der Tabelle usw.).


5 Arten von Aufmerksamkeit

Konzentration ist nicht das Gleiche wie Aufmerksamkeit, ein eher psychologisches Konzept, nimmt es aber an. Es lohnt sich, die verschiedenen Arten der Aufmerksamkeit zu unterscheiden:

1. Selektive Aufmerksamkeit Es ist die Fähigkeit, auf die wesentlichen Aspekte einer Aufgabe oder Situation zu reagieren und diese irrelevant zu ignorieren. Beim Lernen ist es wichtig, sich mit den Themen und Abschnitten eines jeden Themas zu beschäftigen, die sich beispielsweise lohnen, anstatt Zeit mit Informationen von geringer Bedeutung zu verschwenden. Darüber hinaus müssen wir bedenken, dass es in einer Klasse viele verschiedene Reize gibt, die Sie ignorieren müssen, denn wenn Sie darauf achten, können Sie den Faden des Themas verlieren: Klassenkameraden, Witze, Verhalten des Lehrers, was Sie durch das Fenster sehen *

2. Geteilte Aufmerksamkeit. Diese Art der Aufmerksamkeit ist gegeben, wenn die Ressourcen, die wir haben, angesichts einer Reizüberflutung verteilt werden. Ist die Fähigkeit, mehr als einen Stimulus gleichzeitig zu besuchen, und wird in der Schularbeit verwendet, wenn Sie beispielsweise mehrere Quellen konsultieren müssen. Es ist vergleichbar mit der Funktionsweise eines Computers mit mehreren offenen Fenstern, von denen jedes einen Prozess ausführt und ein gemeinsames Ziel hat.

3. Anhaltende Aufmerksamkeit. Fähigkeit, die Aufmerksamkeit für eine gewisse Zeit aufrechtzuerhalten. Es ist eine grundlegende Fähigkeit, weil das Studium einerseits eine Tätigkeit ist, die Zeit erfordert, und andererseits ist es in der Regel nicht die lohnendste, die man machen kann.

4. Abwechselnde Aufmerksamkeit. Fähigkeit, bei Bedarf mit geistiger Flexibilität teilzunehmen. Ohne diese Fähigkeit könnten sich die Schüler selbst blockieren, wenn sie von einer humanistischeren zu einer eher mathematischen Aktivität wechseln mussten.

5Unfreiwillige Pflege Unwillkürliche Aufmerksamkeit ist tendenziell passiv und emotional und hängt mit dem Auftreten eines neuen, starken und bedeutsamen Stimulus zusammen: Es wird gesagt, wenn etwas "Ihre Aufmerksamkeit erregt". Es verschwindet jedoch fast sofort mit Wiederholung oder Monotonie. Wenn sie freiwillig kontrolliert werden, können diese Hindernisse überwunden werden.

Wir müssen jedoch bedenken, dass die Aufmerksamkeit im Allgemeinen nicht unbegrenzt ist. Dreißig oder vierzig Minuten in Folge, intensiv und produktiv, ist mehr als genug. Die programmierte Pause garantiert die Anstrengung und die folgende Aufmerksamkeit, vorausgesetzt, sie ist nicht übermäßig lang und so verrückt, dass sie eine unaufhaltsame Dekonzentration erzeugt.

Ignacio Iturbe

Video: Oliver Geisselhart Mental- und Gedächtnisexperte


Interessante Artikel

Spielzeug für Kinder von 18 bis 24 Monaten

Spielzeug für Kinder von 18 bis 24 Monaten

Wenn das Kind 18 Monate alt ist, hat es eine vollständige Mobilität, die ihm neue Erkundungsmöglichkeiten in Bezug auf seine Umgebung und größere Unabhängigkeit bietet. Es wird also sein in der Lage,...

Fairplay im Fußball: Freundschaft und Kameradschaft

Fairplay im Fußball: Freundschaft und Kameradschaft

Fußball ist ein Mannschaftssport, der Leidenschaften weckt und Millionen Anhänger auf der ganzen Welt hat. Die FIFA war sich der Popularität dieses Sports bewusst und entwickelte ein Programm mit dem...