Depression in adolescents: how to detect and treat it

The Spanish Association of Pediatrics, AEP, estimates that around the 4% of adolescents in our country suffer from some type of depressive process. Depression has serious effects on the life of the adolescent who is caught in this situation during a time of change in which he is often lost. A condition that can alter your academic life and make you end up isolated in this world of sadness and melancholy that is so difficult to leave.

Why depression occurs

One of the most frequently asked questions in parents is: 'why is my son depressed? ' Often adults can not understand the reasons why suddenly a teenager is so sad and dull. Pediatricians warn that the causes for these problems to appear are very diverse and can cover several reasons, from the genetic predisposition, up to environmental factors.


The probability that a teenager suffers from depression is multiplied by four when someone in your family has suffered from these problems. Pediatricians also claim that such tragic events In the lives of young people, such as the loss of a loved one, family breakdown, difficulties in school or bullying can also end up affecting their state of mind and end up leading to a depressive process.

How to detect depression in adolescents

On many occasions, parents are slow to realize that their children have depression. However, if you appreciate some changes in attitude of adolescents, it is possible to detect this problem in its early stages. The AEP reminds parents of these variations as the most important:


- Irritability, anything bothers him and therefore he has serious anger-Sadness, frequent and repeated crying over the days.

- Feelings of futility, the teenager thinks it is useless.

- He does not laugh anymore Both with what he used to do and his attitude towards the activities that he used to like, he has taken a negative tone.

- Regular tiredness, even when he sleeps the necessary hours.

- It does not happen that much time with your friends, he retires into his world and avoids going out with his friends.

- It is blamed of all the bad things that happen at home.

- He complains that he painful areas of the body and there is no medical evidence of problems.

- Suddenly starts to take off bad grades and has difficulty concentrating.


- Less appetite. It can also happen on the contrary since many teenagers find comfort in food.

How to treat depression

If any of these symptoms or several of them have been observed, the parents will first have to talk to the adolescent. Find a time to sit with him and explain to him that will always find support in the family, with whom you can vent and tell all your feelings. It is also convenient to remind him that he is not to blame for the ills that happen around him and that he can not live with that feeling.

The next step will be to make an appointment with a specialist so that this is the one who speaks with the child and see to what extent the adolescent is affected by this depression. It will be this doctor who decides the correct treatment, and the sooner this begins, less will be complicated This problem and less negative effects will have on the young person's life.

This treatment will depend on the age of the adolescent, the number of symptoms present and whether or not there has been family background. The drugs that are used to treat these problems are usually the SSRI type antidepressants, selective inhibitors of serotonin reuptake, which are very safe. You can also resort to the Cognitive-behavioral-type psychotherapy.

This treatment is based on the idea that erroneous negative thoughts trigger behaviors of the same sign, and are responsible for the symptoms depressed The goal is to discover those ideas and correct them, to modify the behavior. It can be done individually or in groups, and its duration is usually 2 or 3 months.

Damián Montero

Video: Teen Depression & Suicide: Facebook Live Web Chat


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

Depression bei Jugendlichen: wie man sie erkennt und behandelt

Die Spanische Vereinigung für PädiatrieAEP schätzt, dass rund um die 4% Jugendliche in unserem Land leiden an irgendeiner Art von depressiver Prozess. Depressionen haben gravierende Auswirkungen auf das Leben eines Jugendlichen, der in einer Situation der Veränderung, in der er häufig verloren geht, in dieser Situation erwischt wird. Eine Bedingung, die Ihr akademisches Leben verändern kann und Sie isoliert in diese Welt der Trauer und Melancholie bringen kann, die so schwer zu verlassen ist.

Warum kommt es zu Depressionen?

Eine der am häufigsten gestellten Fragen bei Eltern ist: Warum ist mein Sohn? niedergedrückt? ' Oft können Erwachsene die Gründe nicht verstehen, warum ein Teenager plötzlich so traurig und langweilig ist. Kinderärzte warnen davor, dass die Ursachen für diese Probleme sehr unterschiedlich sind und verschiedene Ursachen haben können genetische Veranlagungbis zu Umweltfaktoren.


Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass ein Teenager an Depressionen leidet, wird mit vier multipliziert, wenn jemand in Ihrer Familie unter diesen Problemen gelitten hat. Kinderärzte behaupten das auch solche tragischen Ereignisse Im Leben junger Menschen, wie der Verlust eines geliebten Menschen, können Familienzusammenbruch, Schwierigkeiten in der Schule oder Mobbing auch ihren Geisteszustand beeinträchtigen und zu einem depressiven Prozess führen.

Wie man Depressionen bei Jugendlichen erkennt

In vielen Fällen erkennen Eltern langsam, dass ihre Kinder an Depression leiden. Wenn Sie jedoch einige schätzen Veränderungen in der Einstellung Bei Jugendlichen ist es möglich, dieses Problem in einem frühen Stadium zu erkennen. Das AEP erinnert Eltern an diese Variationen als die wichtigsten:


- Reizbarkeitalles stört ihn und deshalb hat er ernste Wut-Traurigkeit, die über die Tage häufig und wiederholt weint.

- Gefühle von NutzlosigkeitDer Teenager hält es für nutzlos.

- Er lacht nicht mehr Sowohl mit dem, was er getan hat, als auch mit seiner Einstellung zu den Aktivitäten, die er früher gern tat, hat er einen negativen Ton angenommen.

- Regelmäßige Müdigkeit, auch wenn er die notwendigen Stunden schläft.

- So viel passiert nicht Zeit mit deinen FreundenEr zieht sich in seine Welt zurück und vermeidet es, mit seinen Freunden auszugehen.

- Es wird beschuldigt von all den schlechten Dingen, die zu Hause passieren.

- Er beschwert sich, dass er schmerzhafte Körperbereiche und es gibt keine medizinischen Beweise für Probleme.

- Plötzlich fängt der Start an schlechte Noten und hat Schwierigkeiten, sich zu konzentrieren.


- Weniger Appetit. Es kann auch im Gegenteil passieren, da viele Teenager in der Nahrung Trost finden.

Wie behandelt man Depressionen?

Wenn eines oder mehrere dieser Symptome beobachtet wurden, müssen die Eltern zuerst mit dem Jugendlichen sprechen. Finden Sie eine Zeit, sich mit ihm zu setzen und ihm das zu erklären wird immer Unterstützung finden in der Familie, mit der Sie alle Ihre Gefühle lüften und erzählen können. Es ist auch bequem, ihn daran zu erinnern, dass er nicht für die Übel verantwortlich gemacht wird, die um ihn herum passieren, und dass er mit diesem Gefühl nicht leben kann.

Im nächsten Schritt vereinbaren Sie einen Termin mit einem Spezialist so dass dies derjenige ist, der mit dem Kind spricht und sehen, inwieweit der Jugendliche von dieser Depression betroffen ist. Dieser Arzt entscheidet über die richtige Behandlung, und je früher diese beginnt, weniger wird kompliziert sein Dieses Problem und weniger negative Auswirkungen werden sich auf das Leben des Jugendlichen auswirken.

Diese Behandlung hängt vom Alter des Jugendlichen ab, von der Anzahl der auftretenden Symptome und davon, ob dies aufgetreten ist oder nicht Familiengeschichte. Die Medikamente, die zur Behandlung dieser Probleme verwendet werden, sind normalerweise die SSID-Antidepressiva, selektive Inhibitoren der Serotonin-Wiederaufnahme, die sehr sicher sind. Sie können auch auf die Psychotherapie des kognitiven Verhaltens.

Diese Behandlung basiert auf der Idee, dass fehlerhafte negative Gedanken Verhalten des gleichen Zeichens auslösen und sind verantwortlich für die Symptome niedergedrückt Ziel ist es, diese Ideen zu entdecken und zu korrigieren, um das Verhalten zu ändern. Es kann einzeln oder in Gruppen durchgeführt werden und dauert normalerweise 2 oder 3 Monate.

Damián Montero

Video: Leute mit versteckter Depression tun diese 6 Dinge | Tippformativ


Interessante Artikel

Die Diät für Jugendliche: grundlegend beim Lernen

Die Diät für Jugendliche: grundlegend beim Lernen

Wie beeinflussen sie?Fütterung in der Fähigkeit, Jugendliche zu kennen und zu verstehen? Studien zeigen, dass Diäten, die reich an gesättigten Fetten sind, die kognitive Entwicklung von Jugendlichen...