5 steps to raise a good child, according to Harvard

If your child is outstanding, or if he is a top scorer in your school's soccer league, it is likely that there will be a good celebration at home afterwards. But, when do you do something good for others? According to the study carried out by Rick Weissbourd, a psychologist at Harvard University, only one in five children believe that their parents are concerned that their children are good people, above their academic achievements or their happiness.

Personal achievements or happiness are not the most important

Weissbourd's initiative to create a 5 step guide to raise a good child, has gone around the world. The project Making Caring Common ("Making solidarity common") conducted at Harvard University has led a survey of 10,000 high school and high school students about the values ​​that were most important to them. The students were from 33 different schools from all over the United States and from different social classes and races. The 80 percent of these children considered that personal achievements or happiness were the most important.


Although in the past parents and educators have assured that they value goodness more than personal achievements, it is evident that children do not believe them. When asked if they were reflecting their parents' priorities, the students answered affirmatively. In fact, the vast majority agreed with the phrase "my parents are more proud to get good grades than to be a supportive member in my community."

The problem is that, according to Weissbourd, when educating children with these priorities, there is a higher risk of "harmful behaviors, such as being cruel, disrespectful or dishonest." According to several studies, 50 percent of students admit having copied in one exam and 75 percent have copied the homework. In addition, living in accordance with this standard causes stress and depression.


As much as we explain to our children that be kind and help those who need it is important, the message they receive is that the priority is to get good grades and be happy, even at the expense of others or to sacrifice such important values ​​as charity and honesty.

How to raise a good child in 5 steps, according to Harvard

To change this educational model and for the children to learn to put their priorities in order, Weissbourd provides us with the guidance to raise a good child in five steps.

1. Be concerned about others your priority.Children need to learn the balance between their happiness and that of others. They need to hear you say that helping others and being good is the number one priority. A key part of getting them to internalize this is to subject them to important ethical expectations, such as keeping their promises, even if it makes them unhappy. Do not worry, they will not be for a long time. In the long run this will help them in their relationships with others and, therefore, to achieve full happiness. To help them reorganize their priorities, try this:


- Change "the most important thing is to be happy" for "you be good".

- Make sure that you address others with respect.

- When you interact with other adults in your life, emphasize the importance of kindness. For example, ask your teachers if you help others in class.

2. Make it easy for your children to practice kindness and gratitude.Several studies show that people who usually express their gratitude are usually more willing to help and are more generous, compassionate and forgiving; and also more healthy and happy! As in all good habits, the important thing is repetition. Try this:

- Do not reward him for every good act like setting the table. The child is expected to help at home normally, and to be good with his family and neighbors. Reward only good works that are exceptional.

- Talk with your child about good or bad actions you may have witnessed. Work with your children kindness.

- Make giving thanks become a habit at meals, at bedtime or in the car. Give thanks together for those who have helped you during the day.

3. Teach your children to have perspective.Most children care about their family and friends. The goal, however, is for our son to learn to care about someone outside his circle, such as a new child in class, the school custodian, or even someone who lives in another country. It is important that children learn the perspective of the people with whom they live and those of the most needy. To get it, try this:

- Make sure your child is kind and grateful to the people he meets on a daily basis, such as the bus driver or waitress.

- Encourage him to care for the needy. Give him ideas such as comforting a classmate with whom others are involved.

- Use the newspaper or television to teach him the problems children face in other countries.

4. Be an example of morality.Children learn values ​​by observing how the people around them act. We need to practice honesty, justice and charity so that our children can learn it from us. To learn how we want you to behave with others, try this:

- Try to volunteer once a month and, if possible, be accompanied by your child.

- Pose your child an ethical dilemma like "Should I invite my neighbor to my birthday if my best friend does not like him?". Teach him how you would solve it, guiding you by the good values ​​that you are teaching him.

5. Help them handle negative or destructive feelings.Sometimes, even if our children want to help others, an anger, shame or envy can get in their way. We need to teach them to handle these negative feelings so that they do not prevent them from worrying about others. Try this:

- Ask your child to stop for a moment and take a deep breath. That inspires through the nose, expires through the mouth and that counts to five. Show it when it's quiet. When you get angry or upset, put it into practice. In the long run, it will do so automatically and you can express your frustration without letting it affect your behavior.

Marga Wesolowski

Video: How to raise successful kids -- without over-parenting | Julie Lythcott-Haims


Interesting Articles

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Given the insistent recommendation to include in the daily diet, both children and adults, a greater amount of fruits and vegetables, many people do not notice the difference that may be in consuming...

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Many times, fashion movies also become the trend in a wide range of sectors, especially the 'merchandasing', with toys as the maximum exponent. This has happened in Spain, where the movie Star Wars...

The use of digital tablets for learning

The use of digital tablets for learning

Although the use ofDigital tablets may present certain disadvantages for children, to carry out activities in the school improves the learning of the students, according to the 87% of the teachers...

How to act in front of a couple discussion

How to act in front of a couple discussion

"I've been trying to explain for many years that there are attitudes towards life and ways of behaving that I do not like and that make me suffer. I'm tired, it does not seem to know and it does...

Laut Harvard 5 Schritte, um ein gutes Kind großzuziehen

Wenn Ihr Kind herausragend ist oder in der Fußballliga Ihrer Schule ein Topscorer ist, ist es wahrscheinlich, dass danach zu Hause eine gute Feier stattfindet. Aber wann tun Sie anderen etwas Gutes? Laut der Studie des Psychologen Rick Weissbourd an der Harvard University Nur jedes fünfte Kind glaubt, dass seine Eltern besorgt sind, dass ihre Kinder gute Menschen sindüber ihren akademischen Leistungen oder ihrem Glück.

Persönliche Leistungen oder Glück sind nicht das Wichtigste

Weissbourds Initiative zur Schaffung eines Anleitung in 5 Schritten, um ein gutes Kind aufzuziehenist um die Welt gegangen. Das Projekt Pflege gemeinsam machen ("Solidarität gemeinsam machen") an der Harvard University führte eine Umfrage unter 10.000 Schülern der High School und High School zu den Werten durch, die für sie am wichtigsten waren. Die Schüler kamen aus 33 verschiedenen Schulen aus den gesamten Vereinigten Staaten und aus verschiedenen sozialen Klassen und Rassen. Die 80 Prozent diese Kinder dachten das persönliche Erfolge oder Glück waren am wichtigsten.


Obwohl Eltern und Erzieher in der Vergangenheit versichert haben, dass sie das Gute mehr als persönliche Errungenschaften wertschätzen, ist es offensichtlich, dass Kinder ihnen nicht glauben. Auf die Frage, ob sie die Prioritäten ihrer Eltern widerspiegelten, antworteten die Schüler positiv. Tatsächlich stimmte die große Mehrheit der Aussage zu: "Meine Eltern sind mehr stolz darauf, gute Noten zu erhalten, als ein unterstützendes Mitglied in meiner Gemeinschaft zu sein."

Das Problem ist, dass laut Weissbourd bei der Erziehung von Kindern mit diesen Prioritäten ein höheres Risiko besteht, dass "schädliche Verhaltensweisen wie grausame, respektlose oder unehrliche Verhaltensweisen" auftreten. Laut mehreren Studien geben 50 Prozent der Studenten zu, in einer Prüfung kopiert zu haben, und 75 Prozent haben die Hausaufgaben kopiert. Wenn Sie nach diesem Standard leben, führt dies zu Stress und Depressionen.


So viel, wie wir unseren Kindern das erklären Sei nett und hilf denen, die es brauchen, ist wichtigDie Botschaft, die sie erhalten, ist, dass es vorrangig darum geht, gute Noten zu erhalten und glücklich zu sein, auch auf Kosten anderer, oder indem sie wichtige Werte wie Wohltätigkeit und Ehrlichkeit opfern.

Wie man ein gutes Kind in fünf Schritten aufzieht, so Harvard

Um dieses Bildungsmodell zu ändern und die Kinder lernen zu lernen, ihre Prioritäten in Ordnung zu bringen, gibt Weissbourd die Anleitung, in fünf Schritten ein gutes Kind aufzuziehen.

1. Sorgen Sie sich um andere, Ihre Priorität.Kinder müssen das Gleichgewicht zwischen ihrem Glück und dem anderer lernen. Sie müssen hören, dass Sie anderen helfen und gut sein müssen. Um sie dazu zu bringen, dies zu verinnerlichen, ist es wichtig, sie wichtigen ethischen Erwartungen zu unterwerfen, beispielsweise das Einhalten ihrer Versprechen, auch wenn sie dadurch unglücklich sind. Mach dir keine Sorgen, sie werden nicht lange bestehen. Auf lange Sicht wird dies ihnen in ihren Beziehungen zu anderen helfen und somit das volle Glück erreichen. Versuchen Sie Folgendes, um sie bei der Neuordnung ihrer Prioritäten zu unterstützen:


- Ändern Sie "das Wichtigste ist, glücklich zu sein" für "Sie sind gut".

- Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie andere mit Respekt ansprechen.

- Wenn Sie mit anderen Erwachsenen in Ihrem Leben interagieren, betonen Sie die Wichtigkeit der Freundlichkeit. Fragen Sie zum Beispiel Ihre Lehrer, ob Sie anderen im Unterricht helfen.

2. Machen Sie es Ihren Kindern leicht, Freundlichkeit und Dankbarkeit zu üben.Mehrere Studien zeigen, dass Menschen, die normalerweise ihre Dankbarkeit ausdrücken, in der Regel eher hilfsbereit und großzügiger, mitfühlender und nachsichtig sind; und auch gesünder und glücklicher! Wie bei allen guten Gewohnheiten ist Wiederholung wichtig. Probieren Sie das aus:

- Belohnen Sie ihn nicht für jede gute Tat, als würden Sie den Tisch setzen. Von dem Kind wird erwartet, dass es normalerweise zu Hause hilft und gut mit seiner Familie und seinen Nachbarn ist. Belohnen Sie nur gute Werke, die außergewöhnlich sind.

- Sprechen Sie mit Ihrem Kind über gute oder schlechte Handlungen, die Sie beobachtet haben. Arbeite mit deiner Kindheit.

- Lassen Sie sich beim Essen, beim Schlafengehen oder im Auto zur Gewohnheit werden. Danken Sie gemeinsam für diejenigen, die Ihnen tagsüber geholfen haben.

3. Bringen Sie Ihren Kindern die Perspektive.Die meisten Kinder kümmern sich um ihre Familie und Freunde. Das Ziel ist jedoch, dass unser Sohn lernt, sich um jemanden außerhalb seines Kreises zu kümmern, wie ein neues Kind in der Klasse, den Schulverwalter oder sogar jemanden, der in einem anderen Land lebt. Es ist wichtig, dass Kinder die Perspektive der Menschen, mit denen sie leben, und denen der Bedürftigsten lernen. Um es zu bekommen, probiere es aus:

- Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr Kind den Menschen, denen es täglich begegnet, wie dem Busfahrer oder der Kellnerin, freundlich und dankbar ist.

- Ermutigen Sie ihn, sich um die Bedürftigen zu kümmern. Geben Sie ihm Ideen, wie zum Beispiel einen Klassenkameraden zu trösten, mit dem andere involviert sind.

- Verwenden Sie die Zeitung oder das Fernsehen, um ihm die Probleme der Kinder in anderen Ländern zu zeigen.

4. Sei ein Beispiel für Moral.Kinder lernen Werte, indem sie beobachten, wie sich die Menschen um sie herum verhalten. Wir müssen Ehrlichkeit, Gerechtigkeit und Nächstenliebe üben, damit unsere Kinder dies von uns lernen können. Um zu erfahren, wie wir möchten, dass Sie sich mit anderen verhalten, versuchen Sie Folgendes:

- Versuchen Sie sich einmal im Monat freiwillig zu engagieren und wenn möglich von Ihrem Kind begleitet zu werden.

- Stellen Sie Ihrem Kind ein ethisches Dilemma wie "Soll ich meinen Nachbarn zu meinem Geburtstag einladen, wenn mein bester Freund ihn nicht mag?" Bringe ihm bei, wie du es lösen würdest, und leite dich durch die guten Werte, die du ihm beibringst.

5. Helfen Sie ihnen, mit negativen oder destruktiven Gefühlen umzugehen.Manchmal, auch wenn unsere Kinder anderen helfen möchten, kann Wut, Scham oder Neid ihnen im Weg stehen. Wir müssen ihnen beibringen, mit diesen negativen Gefühlen umzugehen, damit sie sich nicht vor anderen Sorgen machen. Probieren Sie das aus:

- Bitten Sie Ihr Kind, kurz anzuhalten und tief Luft zu holen. Das inspiriert durch die Nase, läuft durch den Mund ab und das zählt bis fünf. Zeig es, wenn es still ist. Wenn Sie wütend oder verärgert sind, setzen Sie es in die Praxis um. Auf lange Sicht geschieht dies automatisch und Sie können Ihre Frustration ausdrücken, ohne dass dies Ihr Verhalten beeinflusst.

Marga Wesolowski

Video: Sofort Mehr Selbstbewusstsein Ausstrahlen


Interessante Artikel