The benefits of learning assertiveness for children

Assertiveness has been defined by experts as "the ability to assert ones own rights, without being manipulated and without manipulating others." The assertive person knows his own rights, defends them, respects others, and does not only think about winning in a dispute or conflict, but to achieve agreements beneficial to both parties.

In today's society, adults are often immersed in situations of competitiveness, rivalries and interpersonal tensions that force us to put into play, increasingly, the techniques of conflict resolution and positive communication that we know through experience. our readings or courses that we have been able to do.


We also have a baggage of personal and social skills that are the result of the experiences and messages that were transmitted to us by the elderly around us. Now we are the ones who have the responsibility of guiding the youngest in their social development, and educating them according to the most appropriate patterns of interpersonal behavior. Among them is to be assertive.

Characteristics of an assertive person

Assertiveness is linked to a healthy self-esteem and is learned through practice, it is not innate. To develop it we must recognize the characteristics of an assertive person:

1. The assertive person knows how to say "NO" or show his position towards something:
- Manifesting, without feeling bad about it, his own position on a subject, request, demand.
- Expressing a reasoning to explain and / or justify their position, feelings, request.
- Expressing understanding towards the postures, feelings and demands of the other.


2. Can react to an attack:
- Expressing their opinions with serenity and firmness.
- Asking for clarification if there is something that is not clear.

3. Know how to ask favors when necessary and express feelings:
- Express gratitude, affection, admiration ...
- Express dissatisfaction, pain, bewilderment ...

Benefits of being an assertive person

1. A person has an assertive behavior when defending his own interests, He expresses his opinions freely and does not allow others to manipulate him. On the other hand, it is considered with the way of thinking and feeling of others.

2. The advantage of being assertive is that you can get what you want without causing disruption to others. Being assertive you can act in favor of your own interests without feeling guilty or wrong about it; the extreme docility, the verbal attack or the reproach are no longer necessary, inadequate forms of action that create pain and stress.


On the contrary, the interpersonal behaviors opposed to assertiveness are:

1. Aggressive behavior: This type of behavior encourages the fight, the accusation and the threat, attacking others regardless of their feelings. The advantage of this kind of behavior is that people do not dare to confront the aggressive person, the disadvantage is that they do not want to have it close.

2. Passive behavior: A person displays passive behavior when he allows others to take advantage of it, when he does not defend his interests and when he does everything he is told no matter what he thinks or feels about it. The advantage of behaving like a passive person is that you rarely get a direct rejection from others; The disadvantage is that the person feels manipulated and ends up accumulating a heavy burden of resentment and irritation.

You have to be clear and convey the fact that both the style of aggressive behavior and the passive, usually do not serve to achieve what you want.

Ana Barrantes. Author of the blog Neuropsychology and Learning

To know more:
Neuropsychology and Learning Blog: I do not understand, you do not understand me

You may also like:

- Ideas to teach assertiveness to children

- The influence of emotions on the behavior of children

- Assertiveness: how to say no

- How to boost children's self-esteem

Video: Let Your Kids Say No! Teaching Assertive Language Skills


Interesting Articles

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Although it does not have a good reputation, children need a degree of discipline that does not oppose educating in freedom or affection. The value of discipline will be the key to success in all...

10 tips to care for atopic skin

10 tips to care for atopic skin

The atopic dermatitis, very common in children, is produced by a deficit in the production of ceramides from the skin. Ceramides are a family of natural lipids, thanks to them the cells are held...

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

The consumption of drugs such as alcohol, joints or pills can potentially be the most destructive activity in which our adolescent children can be involved. All drugs affect the health of people and...

Die Vorteile von Durchsetzungsvermögen lernen für Kinder

Durchsetzungsvermögen wurde von Experten als "die Fähigkeit definiert, eigene Rechte durchzusetzen, ohne manipuliert zu werden und ohne andere zu manipulieren." Die durchsetzungsfähige Person kennt ihre eigenen Rechte, verteidigt sie, respektiert andere und denkt nicht nur daran, Streitigkeiten oder Konflikte zu gewinnen, sondern auch für beide Parteien vorteilhafte Vereinbarungen.

In der heutigen Gesellschaft tauchen Erwachsene häufig in Situationen von Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Rivalitäten und zwischenmenschlichen Spannungen auf, die uns zwingen, zunehmend die Techniken der Konfliktlösung und der positiven Kommunikation einzusetzen, die wir durch Erfahrung kennen. unsere Lesungen oder Kurse, die wir machen konnten.


Wir haben auch ein Bündel an persönlichen und sozialen Fähigkeiten, die das Ergebnis der Erfahrungen und Botschaften sind, die uns die älteren Menschen um uns herum übermittelt haben. Jetzt sind wir diejenigen, die die Verantwortung haben, die jüngsten in ihrer sozialen Entwicklung zu führen und sie gemäß den am besten geeigneten Mustern zwischenmenschlichen Verhaltens zu erziehen. Unter ihnen ist durchsetzungsfähig zu sein.

Merkmale einer durchsetzungsfähigen Person

Durchsetzungsvermögen ist mit einem gesunden Selbstwertgefühl verbunden und wird durch Übung gelernt, es ist nicht angeboren. Um es zu entwickeln, müssen wir die Eigenschaften einer durchsetzungsfähigen Person erkennen:

1. Die durchsetzungsfähige Person weiß, wie sie "NEIN" sagt oder ihre Position gegenüber etwas zeigt:
- Manifestieren, ohne sich dabei schlecht zu fühlen, seine eigene Position zu einem Thema, Fordern, Fordern.
- eine Begründung ausdrücken, um ihre Position, Gefühle, Forderungen zu erklären und / oder zu begründen.
- Verständnis gegenüber den Körperhaltungen, Gefühlen und Forderungen des anderen ausdrücken.


2. Kann auf einen Angriff reagieren:
- Ihre Meinungen mit Gelassenheit und Beständigkeit ausdrücken.
- Bitte um Klarstellung, wenn etwas nicht klar ist.

3. Wissen, wie man bei Bedarf Gefälligkeiten anfordert und Gefühle ausdrückt:
- Ausdrücken Dankbarkeit, Zuneigung, Bewunderung ...
- Drücke Unzufriedenheit, Schmerzen, Verwirrung aus ...

Vorteile einer durchsetzungsfähigen Person

1. Eine Person hat ein durchsetzungsfähiges Verhalten, wenn sie ihre eigenen Interessen verteidigt. Er drückt seine Meinungen frei aus und erlaubt anderen nicht, ihn zu manipulieren. Auf der anderen Seite wird mit dem Denken und Fühlen der anderen betrachtet.

2. Der Vorteil von Durchsetzungsvermögen ist, dass Sie das bekommen, was Sie wollen, ohne andere zu stören. Durchsetzungsfähig können Sie für Ihre eigenen Interessen handeln, ohne sich schuldig oder falsch zu fühlen. Die extreme Fügsamkeit, der verbale Angriff oder der Vorwurf sind nicht mehr notwendig, unzureichende Handlungsformen, die Schmerzen und Stress erzeugen.


Im Gegensatz dazu sind die zwischenmenschlichen Verhaltensweisen, die gegen Durchsetzungsvermögen sind, folgende:

1. Aggressives Verhalten: Diese Art von Verhalten fördert den Kampf, die Anklage und die Bedrohung und greift andere an, unabhängig von ihren Gefühlen. Der Vorteil dieser Art von Verhalten ist, dass die Menschen es nicht wagen, sich der aggressiven Person zu stellen, der Nachteil ist, dass sie es nicht in der Nähe haben wollen.

2. Passives Verhalten: Eine Person zeigt passives Verhalten, wenn sie es anderen erlaubt, davon Gebrauch zu machen, wenn sie ihre Interessen nicht verteidigt und wenn sie alles tut, was ihnen gesagt wird, egal was sie darüber denkt oder fühlt. Wenn Sie sich wie eine passive Person verhalten, haben Sie den Vorteil, dass Sie von anderen selten direkt abgelehnt werden. Der Nachteil ist, dass sich die Person manipuliert fühlt und am Ende eine schwere Last von Ärger und Ärger ansammelt.

Sie müssen klar sein und die Tatsache vermitteln, dass sowohl der Stil aggressiven Verhaltens als auch das passive Verhalten normalerweise nicht dazu dienen, das zu erreichen, was Sie wollen.

Ana Barrantes. Autor des Blogs Neuropsychologie und Lernen

Um mehr zu erfahren:
Neuropsychologie- und Lernblog: Ich verstehe nicht, du verstehst mich nicht

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Ideen, um Durchsetzungsvermögen für Kinder zu vermitteln

- Der Einfluss von Emotionen auf das Verhalten von Kindern

- Durchsetzungsvermögen: wie man nein sagt

- Wie kann das Selbstwertgefühl der Kinder gesteigert werden?

Video: 7 Strategien, mit denen ich 100 Bücher pro Jahr lese | Schneller lesen lernen


Interessante Artikel

Gebiss an Kindern bei Kindern, was zu tun ist

Gebiss an Kindern bei Kindern, was zu tun ist

Die Lernprozess von Kindern trägt bei vielen Gelegenheiten so viele mit sich Schläge. Obwohl dies natürlich ist, ist es auch wahr, dass sich Eltern Sorgen machen, vor allem wenn sie klein sind und...

Arbeitsstress: 7 Tasten zur Steuerung

Arbeitsstress: 7 Tasten zur Steuerung

Die Arbeitsstress Es scheint, wenn die Anforderungen uns die Fähigkeit verwehren, mit ihnen zu arbeiten und mit ihnen umzugehen oder sie unter Kontrolle zu halten, eine Realität, die laut INE-Zahlen...