Why we celebrate Father's Day and what is its history

The Father's day It has been celebrated for years around the world, but usually on different dates. ¿You know the origin of this beautiful party to thank the parents for their work? We tell you when the story that celebrated the first Father's Day, and why in Spain is precisely March 19.

The history of Father's Day

As they say, the celebration of Father's Day was born in 1910 in the United States. It was a daughter, Sonora Smart Dodd, who invented it almost without knowing it when she wanted to thank your father for all the effort he had made to educate her and see her grow up on a farm in the state of Washington.


So, it was the Mother's Day of 1909 when Sonora was told "Why not have a day for parents too? " and proposed to celebrate on the birthday of his personal hero, his father: on June 5. However, he did not find much support in that this was the precise date and the same Sonora encouraged his friends to celebrate when they wanted.

It was in 1924 when President Calvin Coolidge declared it national celebration, although it was not until 1966 that President Lyndon B. Johnson proclaimed the third Sunday in June as the date for the celebration of Father's Day in the United States.

Father's Day in Spain

The history of this ephemeris in Spain, however, is different. Spain celebrates Father's Day together with Andorra, Belgium, Bolivia, Croatia, Honduras, Italy, Mozambique and Portugal, among others, on March 19. The Day of San Jose.


How much history was it in 1948 when a teacher named Manuela Vicente Ferrero decided to hold a day in her school to congratulate the parents for their work in the education of their children. The idea was his, although also encouraged by other parents: they wanted a celebration like Mother's Day.

So, he decided to celebrate this day on March 19, San José Day, that is, the day of the father of Jesus Christ, according to the Christian tradition. The reason was to consider Joseph as a model of a father and a Christian family head, humble and hardworking.

The truth is that the celebration, which included mass, delivery of gifts and a small children's festival, delighted in the area and soon spread, even going out in newspapers of the time, in which Manuela herself wrote to encourage other schools to celebrate this festive day. Even in 1951 they interviewed this teacher at Radio Nacional to tell the "story" of this celebration.


As we read these stories, we observed how both in Spain and the United States this celebration was born of the desire to congratulate and thank the parents for their work with the children. It was some time later when the dye of the gifts was added.

In Spain, for example, the party soon had the support of the mythical Galerias Preciados and El Corte Inglés, which soon spread throughout the country, becoming popular and becoming a national holiday in which children gave gifts and surprises to the parents and in which, also in many occasions, it took advantage to make plans in family. As we continue doing today.

Angela R. Bonachera

You may also like:

- March 19, plans for Father's Day

- Emotional video for Father's Day

- Parents involved: the new role of dad

- How to establish trust between parents and children

- 10 mistakes that parents make with our children

<

Video: Father's Day Celebration - Father'S Day Story For Kids || Stories - Celebration


Interesting Articles

Electronic books for children, at what age?

Electronic books for children, at what age?

Technological advances are influencing and even changing the way new generations read. Paper books are no longer the only access to information and literature. Today there is e-books, computers and...

How the LOMCE affects teachers

How the LOMCE affects teachers

With the recently released LOMCE Education Law -for the time being applied in the 1st, 3rd and 5th years of Primary Education and Basic Education-, there are many changes in the educational landscape...

10 false myths about sport

10 false myths about sport

Repeatedly health experts advise Do sport from the first ages of life. The benefits of physical activity are very numerous for our health, but nevertheless the exercise is sometimes subject to false...

5 steps to raise a good child, according to Harvard

5 steps to raise a good child, according to Harvard

If your child is outstanding, or if he is a top scorer in your school's soccer league, it is likely that there will be a good celebration at home afterwards. But, when do you do something good for...

Warum feiern wir den Vatertag und was ist seine Geschichte?

Die Vatertag Es wird seit Jahren auf der ganzen Welt gefeiert, aber normalerweise zu unterschiedlichen Terminen. ¿Sie kennen den Ursprung dieser schönen Party den Eltern für ihre Arbeit danken Wir erzählen Ihnen, wann die Geschichte, die den ersten Vatertag gefeiert hat und warum in Spanien genau der 19. März ist.

Die Geschichte des Vatertags

Wie sie sagen, Die Feier des Vatertags wurde 1910 in den Vereinigten Staaten geboren. Es war eine Tochter, Sonora Smart Dodd, die sie fast ohne es zu wissen erfunden hat, als sie sich bei Ihrem Vater für all die Anstrengungen bedanken wollte, die er unternommen hatte, um sie zu erziehen und sie auf einer Farm im Staat Washington aufwachsen zu sehen.


So war es das Muttertag von 1909, als Sonora gesagt wurde "Warum nicht auch einen Tag für die Eltern haben? " und schlug vor, am Geburtstag seines persönlichen Helden, seines Vaters, zu feiern: am 5. Juni. Er fand jedoch nicht viel Unterstützung, da es sich um das genaue Datum handelte und dieselbe Sonora ermutigte seine Freunde zu feiern, wann sie wollten.

Es war 1924, als Präsident Calvin Coolidge es erklärte nationale FeierObwohl Präsident Lyndon B. Johnson erst 1966 den dritten Sonntag im Juni als Datum für die Feier des Vatertags in den Vereinigten Staaten proklamierte.

Vatertag in Spanien

Die Geschichte dieser Ephemeride in Spanien ist jedoch anders. Spanien feiert am 19. März zusammen mit Andorra, Belgien, Bolivien, Kroatien, Honduras, Italien, Mosambik und Portugal den Vatertag. Der Tag von San Jose.


Wie viel Geschichte war es im Jahr 1948, als eine Lehrerin namens Manuela Vicente Ferrero beschloss, einen Tag in ihrer Schule zu veranstalten, um der Universität zu gratulieren Eltern für ihre Arbeit in der Erziehung ihrer Kinder. Die Idee war seine, wenn auch von anderen Eltern ermutigt: Sie wollten eine Feier wie den Muttertag.

Also beschloss er, diesen Tag weiter zu feiern 19. März, Tag von San José, das ist der Tag des Vaters Jesu Christi gemäß der christlichen Tradition. Der Grund war, Joseph als Modell eines Vaters und eines christlichen Familienoberhauptes zu betrachten, bescheiden und fleißig.

Die Wahrheit ist, dass die Feier, die eine Messe, die Lieferung von Geschenken und ein kleines Kinderfest umfasste, sich in der Gegend entzückte und bald verbreitete und sogar in Zeitungen der damaligen Zeit erschien, in denen Manuela selbst schrieb, um andere Schulen zu fördern diesen festlichen Tag zu feiern. Noch 1951 befragten sie diesen Lehrer bei Radio Nacional, um die "Geschichte" dieser Feier zu erzählen.


Während wir diese Geschichten lesen, haben wir beobachtet, wie sowohl in Spanien als auch in den Vereinigten Staaten diese Feier aus dem Wunsch entstand, zu gratulieren Ich danke den Eltern für ihre Arbeit mit den Kindern. Es war einige Zeit später, als der Farbstoff der Geschenke hinzugefügt wurde.

In Spanien beispielsweise wurde die Partei bald von den legendären Galerias Preciados und El Corte Inglés unterstützt, die sich bald im ganzen Land ausbreiteten, populär wurden und zu einem Nationalfeiertag wurden, an dem Kinder Geschenke und Geschenke machten Überraschungen für die Eltern und bei denen es auch in vielen Fällen gelungen war, Pläne in der Familie zu machen. So machen wir heute weiter.

Angela R. Bonachera

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- 19. März, Pläne für den Vatertag

- Emotionales Video zum Vatertag

- Beteiligte Eltern: die neue Rolle des Vaters

- Wie man Vertrauen zwischen Eltern und Kindern aufbaut

- 10 Fehler, die Eltern mit unseren Kindern machen

<

Video: Was ist Christi Himmelfahrt?


Interessante Artikel

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Sei ein Anführer Es bedeutet, über eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten zu verfügen, die es ermöglichen, eine Gruppe von Personen auf organisierte Weise zu führen ein gemeinsames Ziel...

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Unbeholfen, langsam, problematisch ... sind nur einige der Begriffe, mit denen Kinder definiert werden, die an bestimmten Lernproblemen leiden. Sie sind nicht in der Lage, mit der gleichen...