Social isolation in children, why it happens and how to prevent it?

The importance of having friends has been explained in many studies. The human being is Social By nature, this means that you can not live without the company of other individuals. Friendships are that family that one chooses and with which great moments are shared. However, sometimes children or adolescents do not have one of these groups.

The fact that a child does not have their own group of friends is already a warning symptom. It can often be thought that this isolation is due to a case of harassment or because of the rejection of the child's personality. But what happens when it is he who opts for this way of life? What can parents do to help their children and develop their social side? On this subject it deals Kenneth H Rubin in one of his works for the University of Maryland.


The origin of the isolation

Rubin is clear in his approach: behind the social isolation in children is always hidden a problem that has been dragging for a long time. In some cases, this decision is made in the face of low self-esteem, which resorts to avoiding contact with other individuals as a method of protection. That is to say, the son thinks that he will be rejected and for that reason he locks himself in his own world.

In other cases, the origin can be much More serious. An example is that the child has symptoms of depression, a serious disorder that causes the child to be isolated from the rest of the world. Another cause that deserves all the attention from parents is the possibility of a social phobia that requires, as well as depression, attention by a specialist.


From the National Institute of Mental Health United States Social phobia is defined as a strong fear of being judged by others and feeling shame. This panic can be as serious as making it difficult to go to school, or to carry out daily activities that require contact with other children.

People who have social phobia are afraid of doing everyday things in front of other individuals. Most of the patients With this problem they know that they should not be so afraid, but they can not control it. A feeling that worsens their situation, so they end up avoiding places or events where they think they might be forced to do something that makes them feel ashamed.

Treatment of social isolation

The treatment of social isolation involves the passage through several stages in the smallest. Different points that have as a last objective to make the child overcome their fears and can foster their relationship with other individuals:


- Know why the child feels this shame. Why does the child feel he does something wrong, what motivates these feelings?

- Work on the change of thought. The child must accept what he is like, with his good things and his bad things. Work to change the latter and bet heavily on the former. We all have something great to offer, we must get the children to find what it is.

- Ask for help when you feel weak. Relapses are inevitable, at this time you have to give support to children and invite them not to get carried away by these bad thoughts.

Damián Montero

Video: The Power of Beyond Differences: Ending Social Isolation Through Student Leadership


Interesting Articles

Skoda Fabia Combi. Capable and orderly

Skoda Fabia Combi. Capable and orderly

We only need to look inside our vehicle to know what kind of family we are and how much we store in the car. The new Fabia Combi adapts to our needs and prepares for the arrival of suitcases, drinks...

Generosity, tricks to teach children

Generosity, tricks to teach children

Teaching a child to be generous is not easy, especially considering that children are in a stage of natural selfishness and do not know how to put themselves in the place of those around them. These...

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

When parents discover that their children are using drugs, initial reactions often include feelings of guilt, anger, shame or even not wanting to accept reality. In the middle of this gale of...

Soziale Isolation bei Kindern, warum passiert sie und wie kann sie verhindert werden?

Die Wichtigkeit, Freunde zu haben, wurde in vielen Studien erläutert. Der Mensch ist sozial Das bedeutet von Natur aus, dass Sie nicht ohne die Gesellschaft anderer Personen leben können. Freundschaften sind die Familie, die man wählt und mit denen große Momente geteilt werden. Manchmal haben Kinder oder Jugendliche jedoch keine dieser Gruppen.

Die Tatsache, dass ein Kind keine eigene Gruppe von Freunden hat, ist bereits ein Warnsymptom. Es ist oft anzunehmen, dass diese Isolation auf einen Fall von Belästigung oder auf die Ablehnung der Persönlichkeit des Kindes zurückzuführen ist. Aber was passiert, wenn er sich für diese Lebensweise entscheidet? Was können Eltern tun, um ihren Kindern zu helfen und ihre soziale Seite zu entwickeln? Zu diesem Thema geht es Kenneth H Rubin in einem seiner Werke für die University of Maryland.


Der Ursprung der Isolation

Rubin ist klar in seinem nähern: Hinter der sozialen Isolation bei Kindern verbirgt sich immer ein Problem, das sich schon lange hinzieht. In einigen Fällen wird diese Entscheidung angesichts eines geringen Selbstwertgefühls getroffen, bei dem der Kontakt mit anderen Personen als Schutzmethode vermieden wird. Das heißt, der Sohn glaubt, dass er abgelehnt wird und schließt sich deshalb in seine eigene Welt ein.

In anderen Fällen kann der Ursprung viel sein ernsthafter. Ein Beispiel ist, dass das Kind Symptome einer Depression hat, eine schwere Erkrankung, die dazu führt, dass das Kind vom Rest der Welt isoliert wird. Ein weiterer Grund, der die ganze Aufmerksamkeit der Eltern verdient, ist die Möglichkeit einer sozialen Phobie, die neben einer Depression auch die Aufmerksamkeit eines Spezialisten erfordert.


Aus dem Nationales Institut für psychische Gesundheit Vereinigte Staaten Soziale Phobie wird als starke Angst definiert, von anderen beurteilt zu werden und sich zu schämen. Diese Panik kann ebenso schwerwiegend sein wie den Schulbesuch oder die täglichen Aktivitäten, die den Kontakt mit anderen Kindern erfordern.

Menschen mit sozialer Phobie haben Angst, Dinge des Alltags vor anderen Menschen zu tun. Die meisten der Patienten Mit diesem Problem wissen sie, dass sie keine Angst haben sollten, aber sie können sie nicht kontrollieren. Ein Gefühl, das ihre Situation verschlechtert. So vermeiden sie Orte oder Ereignisse, an denen sie der Meinung sind, dass sie gezwungen werden, etwas zu tun, das sie schämen würde.

Behandlung der sozialen Isolation

Die Behandlung sozialer Isolation beinhaltet den Durchgang durch mehrere Stufen im kleinsten. Verschiedene Punkte, die ein letztes Ziel haben, das Kind dazu zu bringen, seine Ängste zu überwinden und die Beziehung zu anderen Individuen zu fördern:


- Wissen, warum das Kind diese Schande empfindet. Warum hat das Kind das Gefühl, etwas falsch zu machen, was motiviert diese Gefühle?

- Arbeiten Sie an der Änderung des Denkens. Das Kind muss akzeptieren, was es ist, mit seinen guten und schlechten Dingen. Arbeiten Sie daran, das Letztere zu ändern und setzen Sie stark auf das Erstere. Wir alle haben etwas Großartiges zu bieten, wir müssen die Kinder dazu bringen, herauszufinden, was es ist.

- Bitten Sie um Hilfe, wenn Sie sich schwach fühlen. Rückfälle sind unvermeidlich, zu dieser Zeit müssen Sie die Kinder unterstützen und sie einladen, sich nicht von diesen schlechten Gedanken mitreißen zu lassen.

Damián Montero

Video: KenFM im Gespräch mit: Paul Schreyer ("Die Angst der Eliten")


Interessante Artikel

Wie soll man vor der Stufe von Nein handeln?

Wie soll man vor der Stufe von Nein handeln?

Die negative Einstellung des Kindes ist eine logische Antwort auf das Gefühl der Selbstentdeckung und Selbstbestätigung. Daher ist das „Nein-Stadium“ an sich nicht negativ. Ja, es ist die Art und...

10 Tipps, um die Rückkehr in die Schule vorzubereiten

10 Tipps, um die Rückkehr in die Schule vorzubereiten

Die Ferien enden, die Zeit, um spät aufzustehen, zu spielen und zu baden. Kinder und Eltern erwarten die Ankunft des Monats September. Nach drei Monaten nähert sich die Rückkehr zur Schuleund die...

Die 7 Geheimnisse einer dauerhaften Liebe

Die 7 Geheimnisse einer dauerhaften Liebe

Ist es möglich eine Liebe zum Leben? Ist das Ideal im Herzen von Frauen und Männern möglich? Wenn wir uns an das halten, was uns die Fernsehserie oder die Filme zeigen, ist das Übliche eine Nacht...