From the cradle to the bed, what does it mean for the child to stop sleeping with the parents?

There are many important moments in the development of every child: learn to read, leave the diaper to start using the service or move from the cradle to your own bed. This last moment means a lot to the little ones of the house, much more than a change of the place where they sleep, it is also the point where they begin to gain some autonomy and begins to gain responsibility when taking charge of their own space.

But not only encourages autonomy and responsibility in the little ones, it also helps their sleep levels are better and their rest is encouraged. This is indicated by a study published in the magazine Pediatrics and where it is clear that those children who at a certain age slept alone had better results in this regard.


40 more minutes of rest

To verify the benefits that could have for the level of rest in the smallest sleep in their own room, those responsible for the study brought together different families with children of age to be able in their own room. On the one hand they distinguished between those who had their own bedroom and those who followed Resting next to his parents.

Along the 30 months the researchers followed closely the cases of these children. After the first 9 it was shown that those children who slept in their own room slept up to 26 minutes more than those who rested with their parents. Time that increased in children who met the sleep schedule because in these cases it increased to 40 minutes.


After 30 months the results proved that those children who had begun to sleep alone from the beginning presented up to 45 minutes more of sleep than those who had waited at 9 months to make the change from their parents' room to their own room.

Benefits of a room of your own

The fact that the child sleeps alone does not only mean that their rest levels improve. It also helps to improve many other aspects of the More smalls of the house. Values ​​that make children develop very important skills for them:

- Responsibility The room of the smallest is their territory, they must learn to manage it themselves. Picking it up, keeping it clean and other details depend on the child.

- Independence Children have their first space in their room. They choose decoration and their organization, a way to increase their independence.


- Space to develop. The children's room is a place where they can develop their own skills, from studying, to reading or playing to stimulate their imagination. Many options have to be contributed in this room.

Damián Montero

Video: Safe Sleep Guidelines for Babies


Interesting Articles

8 natural remedies to fight the symptoms of the cold

8 natural remedies to fight the symptoms of the cold

Winter is a time of year when it is very common to get colds and flu. Although both have common symptoms, they differ in that the cold is accompanied by discharge and nasal congestion, sore throat,...

Bright students also like physical education

Bright students also like physical education

A stereotype It is an idea or perception that is repeated frequently in the minds of people and that tells them what certain aspects of life are like ... even if it is not always real. Thus, for...

The schools, reluctant to admit cases of bullying

The schools, reluctant to admit cases of bullying

The bullying It is defined as intimidation and mistreatment among schoolchildren repeatedly and maintained over time, almost always far from the eyes of adults, with the intention of humiliating and...

Von der Wiege bis zum Bett, was bedeutet es für das Kind, nicht mehr bei den Eltern zu schlafen?

Es gibt viele wichtige Momente in der Entwicklung jedes Kindes: Lesen lernen, die Windel verlassen, um den Dienst zu nutzen, oder von der Wiege zum eigenen Bett gehen. Dieser letzte Moment bedeutet viel für die Kleinen des Hauses, viel mehr als nur eine Veränderung des Schlafplatzes, es ist auch der Punkt, an dem sie anfangen, etwas Autonomie zu erlangen, und beginnt, Verantwortung zu übernehmen, wenn sie sich um sie kümmern eigener Raum.

Sie fördert aber nicht nur Autonomie und Verantwortung bei den Kleinen, sondern trägt auch dazu bei, dass ihr Schlafniveau verbessert wird und ihre Erholung gefördert wird. Dies zeigt eine in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichte Studie Pädiatrie und wo klar ist, dass die Kinder, die in einem bestimmten Alter alleine schliefen, diesbezüglich bessere Ergebnisse hatten.


40 weitere Minuten Pause

Um zu überprüfen, welche Vorteile die Ruhe im kleinsten Schlaf in ihrem eigenen Zimmer haben könnte, haben die für die Studie Verantwortlichen verschiedene Familien mit Kindern im Alter zusammengebracht, um in ihrem eigenen Zimmer sein zu können. Einerseits unterschieden sie zwischen denen, die ein eigenes Schlafzimmer hatten, und denen, die folgten ausruhen neben seinen eltern.

Überall 30 Monate Die Forscher verfolgten die Fälle dieser Kinder genau. Nach den ersten 9 Jahren wurde gezeigt, dass die Kinder, die in ihrem eigenen Zimmer schliefen, bis zu 26 Minuten mehr schliefen als diejenigen, die bei ihren Eltern ruhten. Die Zeit nahm bei Kindern, die den Schlafplan einnahmen, zu, da sie in diesen Fällen auf 40 Minuten anstieg.


Nach 30 Monaten zeigten die Ergebnisse, dass sich die Kinder, die begonnen hatten, von Anfang an alleine zu schlafen, bis zu 45 Minuten mehr Schlaf als diejenigen, die nach neun Monaten gewartet hatten, um vom Elternzimmer in ihr eigenes Zimmer zu wechseln.

Vorteile eines eigenen Zimmers

Die Tatsache, dass das Kind alleine schläft, bedeutet nicht nur, dass sich seine Ruhepegel verbessern. Es hilft auch, viele andere Aspekte der kleiner des Hauses Werte, durch die Kinder sehr wichtige Fähigkeiten für sie entwickeln:

- Verantwortung Der Raum der Kleinsten ist ihr Territorium, sie müssen lernen, es selbst zu verwalten. Aufnehmen, sauber halten und andere Details hängen vom Kind ab.

- Unabhängigkeit Kinder haben ihren ersten Platz in ihrem Zimmer. Sie wählen Dekoration und ihre Organisation, um ihre Unabhängigkeit zu steigern.


- Raum zur Entwicklung. Das Kinderzimmer ist ein Ort, an dem sie ihre eigenen Fähigkeiten entwickeln können, vom Lernen über das Lesen oder Spielen, um ihre Fantasie anzuregen. In diesem Raum müssen viele Optionen hinzugefügt werden.

Damián Montero

Interessante Artikel

Wie man den Protagonismus an Familien zurückgibt

Wie man den Protagonismus an Familien zurückgibt

Die Familie ist der Ort, an dem die Begleitung vor allen Menschen stattfindet. Zu verstehen, was diese Realität bedeutet, ist der Schlüssel für die Entwicklung einer vollen Persönlichkeit, die in...

Solidarität, am häufigsten in Google 2015 gesucht

Solidarität, am häufigsten in Google 2015 gesucht

Am Ende eines jeden Jahres veröffentlicht Google seine Liste der meistgesuchten Personen, die Wörter, Ausdrücke und Fragen enthält. Die Ergebnisse dieser Suche sind für viele die beste Referenz für...