Caring for grandchildren helps prevent Alzheimer's

The grandparents they are those uncovered heroes who help maintain a home, even if they do not live in it. A phone call, and these relatives will go to the home to take care of the grandchildren, making it easier for parents to reconcile work and parenthood. A clear example that the concept of family is much broader than that of father, mother, children and brothers.

But science has shown that not only do parents benefit from the fact that grandparents take care of your grandchildren. Older people also obtain positive results from these activities and not only to strengthen the bond with these relatives. Participating in the upbringing of these children also helps prevent Alzheimer's and increases their life expectancy.


Important reduction of the possibilities

Caring for grandchildren has been shown to be an important way to prevent Alzheimer's and other types of dementias. This is indicated by a study published in the magazine Women's Health Aging Project. The objective of this research was to analyze the cognitive activity of 180 Australian women and ask about the time they spent taking care of these little ones.

Those grandmothers who took care of their children once a week had a lower risk of contracting diseases neurodegenerative as Alzheimer's. The investigators assure that the care of a child requires the application of activities that help to prevent this type of dementias. At the same time participation in this upbringing involves a constant mental exercise such as teaching the lyrics of a song or going over the numbers together.


In short, participation in the upbringing of grandchildren helps grandparents exercise their brains and avoid the neuronal degeneration that leads to this type of dementias such as Alzheimer's. Of course, the authors warn that these results have only been found in older people who performed this care in short periods of time and that those who had custody of their grandchildren or spend more than five days a week taking care of them are more likely to contract this type of neurological diseases.

Physical benefits

The care of the grandchildren not only prevents the developing of dementias such as Alzheimer's. It also helps to keep away physical illnesses such as osteoporosis. One of the best ways to prevent this disease is the practice of exercise. However, many older people who reach a certain age tend to focus on a more sedentary lifestyle. The lack of work after retirement and the feeling of tiredness cause grandparents to minimize their physical activity and prefer to stay at home.


This is where the family has to act and encourage grandparents to Not stay at home and to go out to the street to move. At this point the grandchildren are a great help to get the elderly up. Children are an inexhaustible source of energy that can be spread by making these people go out to enjoy this quality time with their little relatives.

The practice of this exercise contributes to the prevention of osteoporosis since with these practices bones and muscles are activated and move. Experts recommend at least 20 minutes a day of walking as a practice to keep this disease away and the care of the grandchildren can be a good option to meet them. Taking walks with them, participating in their games or picking them up at school will keep grandparents standing while the children are left in the care of someone they trust and will surely enjoy.

Damián Montero

Video: Caring for grandchildren may reduce risk of Alzheimer's


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Die Pflege der Enkelkinder hilft, Alzheimer zu verhindern

Die Großeltern Sie sind die aufgedeckten Helden, die helfen, ein Zuhause zu erhalten, auch wenn sie nicht darin leben. Ein Anruf, und diese Angehörigen gehen in die Wohnung, um sich um die Enkelkinder zu kümmern und Eltern die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Elternschaft zu erleichtern. Ein klares Beispiel dafür, dass der Begriff der Familie viel weiter ist als der von Vater, Mutter, Kindern und Brüdern.

Die Wissenschaft hat jedoch gezeigt, dass nicht nur Eltern davon profitieren Großeltern Kümmere dich um deine Enkelkinder. Ältere Menschen erzielen durch diese Aktivitäten auch positive Ergebnisse und stärken nicht nur die Bindung zu diesen Angehörigen. Die Teilnahme an der Erziehung dieser Kinder trägt auch zur Vorbeugung von Alzheimer bei und erhöht deren Lebenserwartung.


Wichtige Einschränkung der Möglichkeiten

Die Fürsorge für Enkelkinder hat sich als ein wichtiger Weg erwiesen, um Alzheimer und andere Demenzerkrankungen zu verhindern. Dies zeigt eine in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichte Studie Alterungsprojekt für die Gesundheit der Frauen. Ziel dieser Forschung war es, die kognitive Aktivität von 180 australischen Frauen zu analysieren und nach der Zeit zu fragen, die sie damit verbracht haben, sich um diese Kleinen zu kümmern.

Die Großmütter, die sich einmal pro Woche um ihre Kinder kümmerten, hatten ein geringeres Risiko, an Krankheiten zu erkranken neurodegenerativ als Alzheimer. Die Ermittler versichern, dass die Betreuung eines Kindes die Anwendung von Aktivitäten erfordert, die dazu beitragen, diese Art von Demenz zu verhindern. Zur gleichen Zeit beinhaltet die Teilnahme an dieser Erziehung eine ständige mentale Übung, z. B. den Text eines Liedes beizubringen oder die Zahlen gemeinsam durchzugehen.


Kurz gesagt, die Teilnahme an der Erziehung der Enkelkinder hilft den Großeltern, ihr Gehirn zu trainieren und die neuronale Degeneration zu vermeiden, die zu dieser Art von Demenzerkrankungen wie Alzheimer führt. Natürlich die Autoren warnen, dass diese Ergebnisse nur bei älteren Menschen gefunden wurden, die diese Pflege in kurzer Zeit durchgeführt haben, und dass diejenigen, die das Sorgerecht für ihre Enkelkinder hatten oder mehr als fünf Tage pro Woche für sie aufpassen, eher dazu neigen, einen solchen Typ zu bekommen neurologische Erkrankungen.

Körperliche Vorteile

Die Betreuung der Enkelkinder verhindert nicht nur das Entwicklung von Demenzen wie Alzheimer. Es hilft auch, körperliche Krankheiten wie Osteoporose fernzuhalten. Eine der besten Möglichkeiten, um diese Krankheit zu verhindern, ist die Übung. Allerdings neigen viele ältere Menschen, die ein bestimmtes Alter erreichen, zu einer eher sesshaften Lebensweise. Der Mangel an Arbeit nach der Pensionierung und das Gefühl der Müdigkeit führen dazu, dass Großeltern ihre körperliche Aktivität reduzieren und lieber zu Hause bleiben.


Hier muss die Familie handeln und Großeltern dazu ermutigen bleib nicht zu hause und auf die Straße zu gehen, um sich zu bewegen. An diesem Punkt sind die Enkelkinder eine große Hilfe, um ältere Menschen aufzurüsten. Kinder sind eine unerschöpfliche Energiequelle, die verbreitet werden kann, wenn diese Menschen dazu gezwungen werden, diese gute Zeit mit ihren kleinen Verwandten zu genießen.

Die Ausübung dieser Übung trägt zur Vorbeugung von Osteoporose bei, da bei diesen Übungen Knochen und Muskeln aktiviert werden und sich bewegen. Experten empfehlen zumindest 20 Minuten pro Tag Gehen als Praxis, um diese Krankheit fernzuhalten, und die Betreuung der Enkelkinder kann eine gute Option sein, um sie zu treffen. Wenn Sie mit ihnen spazieren gehen, an ihren Spielen teilnehmen oder sie in der Schule abholen, bleiben die Großeltern stehen, während die Kinder in der Obhut von jemandem stehen, dem sie vertrauen, und den sie sicherlich genießen werden.

Damián Montero

Video: Omas gesunde und chemiefreie Tipps - 6 gesunde und chemiefreie Tipps für Deine Gesundheit von Oma


Interessante Artikel

Mit dem Baby im Auto

Mit dem Baby im Auto

Die Fahrten mit dem Auto sind immer anstrengend, besonders wenn wir mit dem Baby reisen. Vermeiden Sie lange Reisen, machen Sie häufige Zwischenstopps, fahren Sie zu den weniger heißen Stunden raus...

Schläge auf die Zähne, wie reagieren?

Schläge auf die Zähne, wie reagieren?

Der Wunsch, neue Dinge zu entdecken und Kinder zu spielen, hört nie auf, jede Gelegenheit ist gut, wenn Sie mit Ihren Freunden aufstehen, um Spaß zu haben und Spaß zu haben. Manchmal endet diese...