Our degree of empathy influences our happiness

The human being is a social animalHe does not know how to live without relating to others. That is why he is constantly interacting with other people, interpersonal relationships that have a lot to do with the level of happiness that we can reach according to a University College of London. That is, the people we deal with throughout our day influence our mood.

This study reveals that, for example, inequality negatively affects our happiness, although this difference is beneficial for us. And is that the relationship we have with people around us, or that we are throughout the day, decisively influences our mood.


Empathy, the key to happiness

The researchers in this study followed the behavior of 47 volunteers, to those who asked them to solve activities in small groups. In one of these exercises, participants were asked if they would share an expense with a person they had just met. In a second experiment, the components participated in a game where you could win or lose money.

At the end of that game they were told the amount of money that another subject had obtained in the same game. On some occasions the other person had made the same amount of money, in others, the reward was higher or lower. After the conclusion of each test participants were asked about their level of happiness to see how they had influenced these games.


Those responsible found that economic inequality among participants caused dissatisfaction in volunteers in different ways, in case of earning less money than others, envy was more present happiness. But also when you got more reward than others, your sense of well-being was reduced. In this case it was the feeling of guilt responsible for not allowing these people to feel good emotionally.

In this way the researchers appreciated two behaviors: on the one hand, the researchers who voluntarily gave away half of their money at the first meeting did not show signs of envy after earning less in the second experiment. But instead they more easily felt guilt if they got a bigger reward.

On the other hand, those participants who chose to keep the money from the beginning did not feel guilty if they obtained more than other players, but they did experience envy if the others achieved higher profits than they did. The results show that there is a direct relationship between generosity and the way in which inequality influences the subjective feeling of happiness.


Other ways of working in our happiness

Although the relationship with other people also influences our happiness, on a personal level we can also work to benefit our emotional level. Some measures help greatly improve our mood, here are a few tips to apply in your day to day:

1. Exercise regularly. Exercising for at least 30 minutes a day of sports is a good way to keep sadness and stress away. There are experts who say that practicing a physical activity has the same effectiveness as taking an antidepressant.

2. Start the day with a good breakfast. Start the day with a good breakfast helps to have energy, think and perform successfully all the activities that occur on a daily basis.

3. Invest in experiences not in things. One study showed that 75% of people felt happier if they used their money for trips, courses and classes. Only 34% said they were better emotionally when buying things.

4. Wear shoes that do not hurt. If the feet are much easier to be in a bad mood, it is important to feel comfortable from the bottom up and for that it is best to use good shoes.

5. Arrange and feel attractive Who does not like to look in the mirror and look beautiful? For this it is always good to dedicate some time and get ready to meet whenever the person on the other side of the mirror is the prettiest we have seen.

Damián Montero

Video: The Secret To Increasing Your Empathy | The Science of Empathy


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Unser Einfühlungsvermögen beeinflusst unser Glück

Der Mensch ist ein soziales TierEr weiß nicht, wie er leben soll, ohne sich auf andere zu beziehen. Deshalb interagiert er ständig mit anderen Menschen, zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen, die viel mit dem Niveau von zu tun haben Glück das können wir laut einem University College of London erreichen. Das heißt, die Menschen, mit denen wir im Laufe des Tages zu tun haben, beeinflussen unsere Stimmung.

Diese Studie zeigt, dass zum Beispiel die Ungleichheit sich negativ auf unsere auswirkt Glück, obwohl dieser Unterschied für uns von Vorteil ist. Und ist es so, dass die Beziehung, die wir zu den Menschen um uns herum haben oder die wir den ganzen Tag über bestehen, unsere Stimmung entscheidend beeinflusst.


Empathie, der Schlüssel zum Glück

Die Forscher dieser Studie folgten dem Verhalten von 47 Freiwilligean diejenigen, die sie gebeten haben, Aktivitäten in kleinen Gruppen zu lösen. In einer dieser Übungen wurden die Teilnehmer gefragt, ob sie mit einer Person, die sie gerade getroffen haben, eine Ausgabe teilen würden. In einem zweiten Experiment nahmen die Komponenten an einem Spiel teil, bei dem Sie dies tun konnten Geld gewinnen oder verlieren.

Am Ende dieses Spiels wurde ihnen der Geldbetrag mitgeteilt, den ein anderes Subjekt im selben Spiel erhalten hatte. In einigen Fällen hatte die andere Person den gleichen Geldbetrag erzielt, in anderen Fällen war die Belohnung höher oder niedriger. Nach Abschluss jedes Tests wurden die Teilnehmer nach ihrem Glücksgrad gefragt, wie sie diese Spiele beeinflusst haben.


Die Verantwortlichen stellten fest, dass die wirtschaftliche Ungleichheit unter den Teilnehmern auf unterschiedliche Weise Unzufriedenheit bei den Freiwilligen auslöste. Wenn sie weniger Geld verdienen als andere, war Neid das gegenwärtige Glück. Aber auch wenn Sie mehr als andere Belohnungen erhielten, wurde Ihr Wohlbefinden reduziert. In diesem Fall war es das Schuldgefühl, das dafür verantwortlich war, dass sich diese Menschen emotional nicht wohl fühlten.

Auf diese Weise schätzten die Forscher zwei Verhaltensweisen: Zum einen zeigten die Forscher, die freiwillig die Hälfte ihres Geldes beim ersten Treffen verschenkten, keine Anzeichen von Neid, nachdem sie im zweiten Experiment weniger verdient hatten. Stattdessen fühlten sie sich leichter Schuld, wenn sie eine größere Belohnung bekamen.

Auf der anderen Seite fühlten sich die Teilnehmer, die sich entschieden, das Geld von Anfang an zu behalten, nicht schuldig, wenn sie mehr als andere Spieler bekamen, aber sie erlebten Neid, wenn die anderen höhere Gewinne erzielten als sie. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass zwischen Großzügigkeit und dem Einfluss der Ungleichheit auf das subjektive Glücksgefühl ein direkter Zusammenhang besteht.


Andere Arbeitsweisen in unserem Glück

Obwohl die Beziehung zu anderen Menschen auch unser Glück beeinflusst, können wir auf persönlicher Ebene auch für unsere emotionale Ebene arbeiten. Einige Maßnahmen helfen, unsere Stimmung deutlich zu verbessern. Hier einige Tipps, die Sie täglich anwenden können:

1. Regelmäßig trainieren. Wenn Sie sich mindestens 30 Minuten pro Tag sportlich betätigen, können Sie Traurigkeit und Stress fernhalten. Es gibt Experten, die sagen, dass die Ausübung einer körperlichen Aktivität die gleiche Wirksamkeit hat wie die Einnahme eines Antidepressivums.

2. Beginnen Sie den Tag mit einem guten Frühstück. Beginnen Sie den Tag mit einem guten Frühstück, um alle Aktivitäten, die täglich stattfinden, mit Energie zu versorgen, zu denken und erfolgreich zu arbeiten.

3. Investiere in Erfahrungen, nicht in Dinge. Eine Studie zeigte, dass 75% der Menschen sich glücklicher fühlten, wenn sie ihr Geld für Reisen, Kurse und Kurse verwendeten. Nur 34% gaben an, dass sie beim Kauf von Waren emotional besser waren.

4. Tragen Sie Schuhe, die nicht weh tun. Wenn es den Füßen viel leichter fällt, schlecht gelaunt zu sein, ist es wichtig, sich von unten nach oben wohl zu fühlen und dafür ist es am besten, gute Schuhe zu verwenden.

5. Arrangieren und attraktiv fühlen Wer möchte nicht gerne in den Spiegel schauen und schön aussehen? Dafür ist es immer gut, sich etwas Zeit zu widmen und sich darauf vorzubereiten, wann immer die Person auf der anderen Seite des Spiegels die Schönste ist, die wir gesehen haben.

Damián Montero

Video: Die Wahrheit: Ende der Illusion - Hörbuch (Stefan Molyneux) - Das Buch das DEIN LEBEN verändert


Interessante Artikel