Better education is associated with a longer life

The education level of a person is directly related to your health and, therefore, with the maintenance of a longer life. This is the statement that emerges from a study conducted in the United States and published in the journal PLOS ONE, whose results indicate that many deaths can be prevented by raising the educational level of people.

To reach the conclusion that the low education shortens life, the researchers first calculated the number of deaths among people who had not completed high school, and then, the deaths that would have occurred among those same people if they had the same mortality figures as the group that had completed this stage of education. The difference between both figures is the number of lives that potentially could have been saved. The conclusions were that, if in 2010, the American boys and girls who had not finished high school would have finished it, 145,243 lives could have been saved.


Educational level influences health

Although a part of the association between deaths and education can be casual, a maximum in Public Health relates the educational level of a person with his or her state of health, since thanks to a greater knowledge of diseases and their prevention it can lead to healthy behaviors, which are not adopted when they are unknown above all in terms of nutrition and drugs.

Specifically, the study has revealed that people with a higher educational level, carry a diet healthy, they exercise more regularly and consume less drugs. And in addition, in case of illness, the patient presents a greater continuity in the treatments prescribed by the doctors.


Education saves healthcare costs

If the conclusions of this study were put into practice in Spain, Social Security would save many costs, taking into account that today the percentage of young people who stop studying after finishing ESO is 21.9%, a figure that doubles the average of the EU.

All over the world, the reality is that 10% of children do not receive even the most basic education, that is, primary education. According to UNICEF, if all the children in the world could simply learn to read, 171 million fewer people would live in absolute poverty.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: A Little More Education Could Lead To A Longer Life - HER Daily Dose


Interesting Articles

How to solve the 9 most common couple conflicts

How to solve the 9 most common couple conflicts

There is the "love forever" and a "happy marriage", but the two realities are filled with moments of uncertainty, pain, even anger. Those who achieve this challenge are those couples who know how...

Vitamins and minerals in pregnancy

Vitamins and minerals in pregnancy

Vitamin needs increase during pregnancy, so it is common to recommend vitamin supplements to avoid various nutritional deficiencies. Even so, it must be borne in mind that fat-soluble vitamins (A, E,...

When to apply cold or heat in a painful area

When to apply cold or heat in a painful area

Cold and heat calm pain and are one of the main non-pharmacological measures to alleviate it. But, when to use the cold and when the heat? Both relieve for their anti-inflammatory capacity, but cold...

3 tips to choose studies and a profession

3 tips to choose studies and a profession

Soon the school year will end and the students who finish ESO will have to decide if they study the Baccalaureate and in what specialty, if they attend some intermediate cycle of Vocational Training...

Bessere Bildung ist mit einem längeren Leben verbunden

Die Bildungsniveau einer Person ist direkt auf Ihre Gesundheit bezogen und deshalb mit der Aufrechterhaltung eines längeren Lebens. Dies ist die Aussage, die aus einer in den USA durchgeführten Studie hervorgeht, die in der Zeitschrift PLOS ONE veröffentlicht wurde und deren Ergebnisse darauf hindeuten, dass viele Todesfälle durch eine Erhöhung des Bildungsniveaus der Menschen verhindert werden können.

Um zu dem Schluss zu gelangen, dass die niedrige Ausbildung verkürzt das LebenDie Forscher berechneten zunächst die Anzahl der Todesfälle unter Menschen, die die High School nicht abgeschlossen hatten, und dann die Todesfälle, die bei den gleichen Personen aufgetreten wären, wenn sie dieselben Sterblichkeitszahlen hätten wie die Gruppe, die diese Bildungsstufe abgeschlossen hatte. Der Unterschied zwischen beiden Zahlen ist die Anzahl der Leben, die möglicherweise gerettet werden könnten. Die Schlussfolgerung lautete, dass, wenn die amerikanischen Jungen und Mädchen, die die High School nicht abgeschlossen hätten, 2010 die Schule beendet hätten, 145.243 Menschenleben gerettet worden wären.


Das Bildungsniveau beeinflusst die Gesundheit

Obwohl ein Teil der Assoziation zwischen Todesfällen und Bildung zufällig sein kann, bezieht sich ein Maximum in Public Health auf das Bildungsniveau einer Person mit ihrem Gesundheitszustand, da sie dank a mehr Wissen über Krankheiten und ihre Prävention es kann zu gesunden Verhaltensweisen führen, die nicht angenommen werden, wenn sie vor allem hinsichtlich Ernährung und Drogen unbekannt sind.

Insbesondere hat die Studie gezeigt, dass Menschen mit einem höheren Bildungsniveau eine Diät mitführen Gesund trainieren sie regelmäßiger und konsumieren weniger Drogen. Darüber hinaus weist der Patient im Krankheitsfall eine größere Kontinuität in den von den Ärzten verordneten Behandlungen auf.


Bildung spart Gesundheitskosten

Wenn die Schlussfolgerungen dieser Studie in Spanien in die Praxis umgesetzt würden, würde die Sozialversicherung viele Kosten einsparen, wenn man bedenkt, dass heute der Prozentsatz der Jugendlichen, die nach Abschluss der ESO aufhören zu lernen, 21,9% beträgt Durchschnitt der EU.

Auf der ganzen Welt ist die Realität, dass 10% der Kinder nicht einmal die grundlegendste Grundbildung, dh Grundschulbildung, erhalten. Laut UNICEF würden 171 Millionen weniger Menschen in absoluter Armut leben, wenn alle Kinder der Welt einfach lesen lernen könnten.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Onur Güntürkün: Wissenschaft und Kulturen


Interessante Artikel

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Die dritte Generation des Touran beträgt 13 Zentimeter länger als die vorherige Version, hat sieben Sitze Serie und hat eine Größerer Kofferraum Es stellt sich heraus a Familienauto Dies muss für...