Traumatic events in childhood have an impact on adolescent health

There are situations that are not pleasant for anyone and that are hard to assimilate. For example, the death of a loved one or a serious economic misstep marks anyone and requires a mature mind to be able to overcome to this context. Therefore, the smallest, although it may seem that they do not understand what is happening, they are marked by these setbacks.

And not only emotionally as many have indicated studies. An investigation of the University of Washington has found a link between the traumatic events experienced in childhood and health problems during adolescence. One more reason to attend to the little ones when they go through situations that would mark anyone.


Regulation of emotions

The study of the University of Washington brought together 119 children between 3 and 6 years old. All these participants were followed over time to see how the children evolved based on the experiences that passed during the duration of the investigation. To this end, the situations through which they all passed were analyzed, placing emphasis on tragic contexts such as natural disasters, the death of a family member or hard economic setbacks in the family.

At the same time the children underwent tests to analyze the activity of their brain regarding the regulation of emotions. During the years that this research lasted, several of these tests were conducted in which it was shown that children who went through adverse situations were unable to handle the stress, something that ended up influencing mental and physical health.


This means that when reaching more advanced ages, as in adolescence, young people were unable to manage the typical stress of this stage: changes in the body, greater demands in the study, etc. Something that caused that these individuals did not know how to face these faces that arrived with time, letting themselves be carried away by the stress and all the effects it has for health.

Manage stress

You can not avoid situations traumatic, but you can teach young people to manage stress once they are teenagers. Here are some tips for this purpose:

- Attend to the notices. Stress is produced by the accumulation of tasks or adverse situations, in both cases there are always previous symptoms that can make us prepare the mind for this context.


- Teach to relativize. Stress makes people see problems bigger than they really are. Children should be taught to relativize everything and always value the context.

- The reality is what it is. Situations of stress make many think in hypothetical contexts, something that eludes the problems and young people feel stressed by seeing themselves like this and not as they have imagined.

- Relaxation techniques. Breathing belly, a piece of relaxing music, close your eyes and count to 10. There are many techniques, teach some to young people can help them.

- Go out on the street. Either to take a walk or to do some exercise, but sometimes leaving the 4 walls causes the level of stress to be reduced.

Damián Montero

Video: Complex Trauma and its Effects on Child Development


Interesting Articles

When my son is not bad enough to stay at home

When my son is not bad enough to stay at home

Not all diseases require a child to stay at home. In some cases, prevention is only required to prevent the spread of the disease to others. Knowing something about how some diseases spread and...

The brain and the body development of children

The brain and the body development of children

At four years old we are still helpless creatures compared to other species, even those closest to us. Why is our childhood so long? One of the reasons why the childhood of humans is so long compared...

EduCaixa implements Big Data in schools

EduCaixa implements Big Data in schools

Digital data are present in our day to day and children must learn from childhood to use them with conscience. For this reason, EduCaixa has launched the first educational intelligence program of...

Traumatische Ereignisse in der Kindheit haben Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit von Jugendlichen

Es gibt Situationen, die für niemanden angenehm sind und schwer zu assimilieren sind. Zum Beispiel markiert der Tod eines geliebten Menschen oder ein schwerwiegender wirtschaftlicher Fehltritt jeden und erfordert einen reifen Geist, um dazu in der Lage zu sein überwinden zu diesem Kontext. Die Kleinsten, auch wenn sie den Eindruck haben, dass sie nicht verstehen, was passiert, sind sie durch diese Rückschläge gekennzeichnet.

Und nicht nur emotional, wie viele angedeutet haben Studios. Eine Untersuchung der Universität von Washington hat einen Zusammenhang zwischen den traumatischen Ereignissen in der Kindheit und gesundheitlichen Problemen in der Adoleszenz gefunden. Ein Grund mehr, sich um die Kleinen zu kümmern, wenn sie Situationen durchmachen, die jeden kennzeichnen würden.


Regulierung von Emotionen

Die Studie der University of Washington zusammengeführt 119 Kinder zwischen 3 und 6 Jahre alt. Alle diese Teilnehmer wurden im Laufe der Zeit beobachtet, um zu sehen, wie sich die Kinder aufgrund der während der Ermittlungen durchgeführten Erfahrungen entwickelten. Zu diesem Zweck wurden die Situationen, durch die sie alle gingen, analysiert, wobei tragische Zusammenhänge wie Naturkatastrophen, der Tod eines Familienmitglieds oder schwere wirtschaftliche Rückschläge in der Familie im Vordergrund standen.

Gleichzeitig wurden die Kinder Tests unterzogen, um die Aktivität ihres Gehirns hinsichtlich der Regulierung von Emotionen zu analysieren. In den Jahren, in denen diese Forschung andauerte, wurden mehrere dieser Tests durchgeführt, bei denen gezeigt wurde, dass Kinder, die durch widrige Situationen gegangen waren, nicht in der Lage waren Stressetwas, das letztendlich die geistige und körperliche Gesundheit beeinflusste.


Dies bedeutet, dass Jugendliche im fortgeschrittenen Alter, wie in der Adoleszenz, dies nicht tun konnten handhaben der typische Stress dieser Phase: Veränderungen im Körper, höhere Anforderungen in der Studie usw. Etwas, das dazu führte, dass diese Individuen nicht wussten, wie sie mit den mit der Zeit angekommenen Gesichtern umgehen sollten, und sich von den Menschen mitreißen lassen Stress und alle Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit.

Stress bewältigen

Sie können Situationen nicht vermeiden traumatisch, aber Sie können jungen Leuten beibringen, mit dem Stress umzugehen, wenn sie erst Teenager sind. Hier sind einige Tipps für diesen Zweck:

- Beachten Sie die Hinweise. Stress entsteht durch die Anhäufung von Aufgaben oder nachteiligen Situationen. In beiden Fällen gibt es immer frühere Symptome, die den Geist auf diesen Kontext vorbereiten können.


- Lehren Sie, um zu relativieren. Stress lässt die Probleme größer erscheinen, als sie wirklich sind. Kindern sollte beigebracht werden, alles zu relativieren und den Kontext immer zu schätzen.

- Realität ist was es ist. Stresssituationen lassen viele in hypothetischen Kontexten denken, etwas, das sich den Problemen entzieht, und junge Menschen fühlen sich gestresst, wenn sie sich so sehen und nicht so, wie sie es sich vorgestellt haben.

- Entspannungstechniken. Atmen Sie Bauch, ein Stück entspannende Musik, schließen Sie Ihre Augen und zählen Sie bis 10. Es gibt viele Techniken, die jungen Leuten beibringen, wie sie ihnen helfen können.

- Geh raus auf die Straße. Entweder zum Spazierengehen oder zum Üben, aber manchmal, wenn Sie die 4 Wände verlassen, wird der Stress reduziert.

Damián Montero

Video: Dem Inneren Kind Halt geben: Ängsten und Panikattacken mit The Work und innerer Kindarbeit begegnen


Interessante Artikel

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Üben Sport hat viele gesundheitliche Vorteile und viele Eltern, die sich dieser Vorteile bewusst sind, weisen auf alle Sportarten aller Art hin, dank der Tatsache, dass es heute in jeder Schule oder...