Intergenerational conflicts, tips for solving them

Living together in a family is never perfect. There will always be situations in which points of view collide and a conflict arises between members of the household. Especially when there is a generation gap between parents and children that cause arguments that can raise the tone until unwanted limits.

These intergenerational conflicts tend to become more intense during the adolescence, stage in which children go through a stage of change in which the feeling of rebellion manifests itself. Knowing how to handle these situations will make the link between the members of the family grow and transform discussions into dialogues with which to improve coexistence.


Take the teenager's distance

The first step to solve generational conflicts is to accept what the adolescence. This stage passes through the estrangement of the children, due to the presence of a feeling of rebellion that makes the young people clash habitually with the parents' criteria. Once this situation is understood, the next step is always to be willing to dialogue and never forget that whoever is on the other side is a member of the family.

"Often teenagers, fathers and mothers misinterpret the reactions, interactions and emotions of the other side, and translating the meanings of things helps them to have more benevolent visions of each other," he explains. Gregorio Gullón, responsible for the Mediation Service between parents, mothers and their adolescent sons and daughters of the Union of
Family Associations, UNAF.


Parents have to understand on the one hand that their children they have grownor and that they deserve a certain degree of autonomy to function in their day to day. On the other hand, they must also make the adolescents understand that they still do not have the necessary knowledge to solve certain problems. Give confidence to young people in certain situations, but without forgetting that in others it is the parents who have to fulfill their role.

Resolution of the conflict

As always the dialogue It is the best tool to avoid these family conflicts. Sitting down to talk with the teenager when something starts to go wrong is important, these are some of the steps to follow in these situations:

- Know the problem. The first step is to know what happens to the adolescent, what happens to him to be in this situation and to have this feeling. Perhaps a scuffle with a partner or a sense of social isolation for not allowing him to go to a party is the origin of this situation.


- Raise the vision of parents. Without underestimating the adolescent's version, parents should offer their own vision and try to bring both positions closer together. In this way, the child is also given the opportunity to know what his parents think.

- Approach positions and propose alternatives. Once both positions have been put in common, the ideal is to put them together and find solutions that take into account both visions. For example, perhaps the son can go to the party of his friends, but under the conditions that his parents are the ones who take him and who is at home at a certain time.

- Do not sacrifice for the happiness of the children. Teens may give answers like "you do not love me and that's why you do not allow me to do that" or "you just want to see me unhappy." Do not give in to these answers and parents must stand firm.

- Remind them that they have support. Once the conflict is resolved, parents should encourage their children to come to them when they feel that way again. Making them see that they have support at home for when they feel bad and that they sit down to talk, resolves problems.

Damián Montero

Video: Solving Communication Issues within Families - Professional Caregiver Webinar


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

Generationenübergreifende Konflikte, Tipps zu deren Lösung

Das Zusammenleben in einer Familie ist niemals perfekt. Es wird immer Situationen geben, in denen Ansichten miteinander kollidieren und ein Konflikt zwischen den Mitgliedern des Haushalts entsteht. Vor allem, wenn es zwischen den Eltern und Kindern einen Generationsunterschied gibt, der zu Auseinandersetzungen führt, die den Ton erst anheben können unerwünschte Grenzen.

Diese Konflikte zwischen den Generationen neigen dazu, sich im Laufe der JugendalterEine Phase, in der Kinder eine Phase des Wandels durchlaufen, in der sich das Gefühl der Rebellion manifestiert. Wenn Sie wissen, wie mit diesen Situationen umzugehen ist, wird die Verbindung zwischen den Familienmitgliedern wachsen und Diskussionen in Dialoge verwandeln, mit denen die Koexistenz verbessert werden kann.


Nimm den Abstand des Teenagers

Der erste Schritt zur Lösung von Generationskonflikten besteht darin, das zu akzeptieren, was die Jugendalter. Dieses Stadium durchläuft die Entfremdung der Kinder, da ein Gefühl der Rebellion vorhanden ist, das die Jugendlichen dazu bringt, gewohnheitsmäßig mit den Kriterien der Eltern zusammenzustoßen. Sobald diese Situation verstanden ist, besteht der nächste Schritt immer darin, zum Dialog zu gehen und nie zu vergessen, dass derjenige, der auf der anderen Seite ist, ein Mitglied der Familie ist.

"Oft interpretieren Teenager, Väter und Mütter die Reaktionen, Interaktionen und Emotionen der anderen Seite falsch, und die Bedeutung der Dinge zu übersetzen, hilft ihnen, sich gegenseitig besser zu begreifen", erklärt er. Gregorio Gullónverantwortlich für den Vermittlungsdienst zwischen Eltern, Müttern und ihren jugendlichen Söhnen und Töchtern der Union of
Familienverbände, UNAF.


Eltern müssen auf der einen Seite verstehen, dass ihre Kinder Sie sind gewachsenoder und dass sie ein gewisses Maß an Autonomie verdienen, um im Alltag zu funktionieren. Auf der anderen Seite müssen sie den Jugendlichen auch vermitteln, dass sie noch nicht über das nötige Wissen verfügen, um bestimmte Probleme zu lösen. Geben Sie jungen Menschen in bestimmten Situationen Vertrauen, ohne jedoch zu vergessen, dass in anderen die Eltern ihre Rolle erfüllen müssen.

Lösung des Konflikts

Wie immer das Dialog Es ist das beste Werkzeug, um diese familiären Konflikte zu vermeiden. Sich mit dem Teenager zu unterhalten, wenn etwas schief geht, ist wichtig. Dies sind einige der Schritte, die in diesen Situationen zu befolgen sind:

- Kennen Sie das Problem. Der erste Schritt ist zu wissen, was mit dem Jugendlichen passiert, was mit ihm passiert, in dieser Situation zu sein und dieses Gefühl zu haben. Vielleicht ist ein Streit mit einem Partner oder ein Gefühl der sozialen Isolation der Grund, warum er nicht zu einer Party gehen darf.


- Erwecken Sie die Vision der Eltern. Ohne die Version des Jugendlichen zu unterschätzen, sollten Eltern ihre eigene Vision anbieten und versuchen, beide Positionen einander näher zu bringen. Auf diese Weise erhält das Kind auch die Möglichkeit zu erfahren, was seine Eltern denken.

- Positionen anfahren und Alternativen vorschlagen. Wenn beide Positionen gemeinsam sind, besteht das Ideal darin, sie zusammenzustellen und Lösungen zu finden, die beide Visionen berücksichtigen. Zum Beispiel kann der Sohn vielleicht zur Party seiner Freunde gehen, aber unter den Bedingungen, dass seine Eltern ihn nehmen und zu einer bestimmten Zeit zu Hause sind.

- Opfere nicht für das Glück der Kinder. Teenager geben vielleicht Antworten wie "Du liebst mich nicht und deshalb erlaubst du mir das nicht" oder "Du willst mich einfach nur unglücklich sehen". Geben Sie diesen Antworten nicht nach, und die Eltern müssen fest bleiben.

- Erinnern Sie sie daran, dass sie Unterstützung haben. Sobald der Konflikt gelöst ist, sollten Eltern ihre Kinder dazu ermutigen, zu ihnen zu kommen, wenn sie sich wieder so fühlen. Wenn sie sehen, dass sie zu Hause Unterstützung haben, wenn sie sich schlecht fühlen und sich zusammensetzen, werden Probleme gelöst.

Damián Montero

Video: La Educación Prohibida Pdisrael HD


Interessante Artikel

Mit Ihrem Baby auf der Hut vor der Hitze!

Mit Ihrem Baby auf der Hut vor der Hitze!

Der Sommer ist da und mit ihm die hohen Temperaturen. Babys von wenigen Monaten fühlen sich normalerweise unwohl bei übermäßiger Hitze. Um gegen das Wetter zu kämpfen, können wir immer auf ein paar...

Postpartum Depression betrifft auch Männer

Postpartum Depression betrifft auch Männer

Ein Leben in die Welt zu bringen ist eine lohnende Erfahrung für Mütter und Väter. Es gibt jedoch Zeiten, in denen diese Situation die Eltern überfordert und letztendlich dazu führt, dass sie in...