Hospitalized children: how does their stay in the hospital affect them?

The hospitalization of a child It is always a difficult situation mainly for him, but also for his parents, siblings and other relatives. To find out how the stay in a hospital affects children, the Study on pain in hospitalized children, of the Grünenthal Foundation, has deepened the state of mind of hospitalized children.

But also in the fact of hospitalization, in the vision that children have of it, and especially in the emotional balance of children hospitalized during the course of their hospitalization, and their perception of pain and resources to alleviate it.

And it is to know in depth how a stay in a hospital can affect a child is the key to finding the channels of action to be able to help them. The objective is to minimize hospitalized children the possible traumas that can cause them both their illness and the treatment in a hospital center.


In this way, the study also highlights the importance of information for hospitalized children: knowing previously what is going to happen to them with their illness cushions the pain of 62% of the children, since it gives them some peace of mind. However, only half of children have been informed about the possibility of pain during their stay in the hospital, according to the report.

The importance of the mother in the hospital

Among the sanitary practices to which hospitalized children are subjected during their income, injections (punctures, punctures, etc.) they are the ones that awaken more fear among the little ones, and the instinctive reactions they cause are "hand sweat", "gut pain" and different nervous states such as worry, sadness and anger.


The role of the mother is essential to alleviate the stay of the children in the hospital, since, among all the relatives, it remains the main companion, in 69% of the cases, of the sick child, above the father (20 %) and grandparents (5%).

For deal with the pain, The resources used by hospitalized children are fundamentally: distraction (including sleep), request for help and relaxation. When they feel pain, 39% of children think that it is due to some symptom of their illness, while the 35% interpret it as a sign of healing, however only 15% associates both concepts.

How does the stay in the hospital affect the children?

Hospitalization always affects children emotionally, so that one in three children hospitalized is considered "somewhat worried", one in four with "something of fear" or sad; one in eight feels "somewhat angry".


But overall, the little ones feel emotionally well during their stay in the hospital, they say they are comfortable with the hospital staff because they are close and affectionate, they usually live their stay in the hospital as a passenger and value their playful and social part (volunteering, hospital classroom, activities, interacting with other children ...).

So, for hospitalized children, not everything is bad in the hospital: 94% affirm that what More likes the hospital is the treatment received (especially to children previously admitted), television (first-entry), school and games; The least liked are the punctures and food (especially those subject to periodic treatment).

Isabel Martínez

Video: Helping a child cope with a long hospitalization


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Kinder im Krankenhaus: Wie wirkt sich ihr Aufenthalt im Krankenhaus auf sie aus?

Die Krankenhausaufenthalt eines Kindes Es ist immer eine schwierige Situation, hauptsächlich für ihn, aber auch für seine Eltern, Geschwister und andere Verwandte. Um herauszufinden, wie der Aufenthalt in einem Krankenhaus Kinder beeinflusst, Studie über Schmerzen bei hospitalisierten Kindern, von der Grünenthal-Stiftung, hat die Einstellung von hospitalisierten Kindern vertieft.

Aber auch in Bezug auf den Krankenhausaufenthalt, in der Vision, die Kinder von ihr haben, und insbesondere in Bezug auf das emotionale Gleichgewicht von Kindern, die während des Krankenhausaufenthalts hospitalisiert werden, und in Bezug auf ihre Wahrnehmung von Schmerz und Ressourcen, um sie zu lindern.

Und es ist gründlich zu wissen, wie ein Krankenhausaufenthalt ein Kind beeinflussen kann, um die Handlungsmöglichkeiten zu finden, die ihnen helfen können. Das Ziel ist zu minimieren Kinder im Krankenhaus die möglichen Traumata, die sowohl ihre Krankheit als auch die Behandlung in einem Krankenhaus verursachen können.


Auf diese Weise zeigt die Studie auch die Bedeutung von Informationen für Kinder im Krankenhaus: Zu wissen, was mit ihrer Krankheit passiert, dämpft den Schmerz von 62% der Kinder, da es ihnen ein beruhigendes Gefühl gibt. Dem Bericht zufolge ist jedoch nur die Hälfte der Kinder über die Möglichkeit von Schmerzen während des Krankenhausaufenthalts informiert worden.

Die Bedeutung der Mutter im Krankenhaus

Unter den sanitäre Praktiken denen hospitalisierte Kinder während ihres Einkommens ausgesetzt sind, Injektionen (Punktionen, Punktionen usw.) Sie sind es, die bei den Kleinen mehr Angst wecken, und die instinktiven Reaktionen, die sie auslösen, sind "Handschweiß", "Bauchschmerzen" und verschiedene nervöse Zustände wie Sorgen, Traurigkeit und Wut.


Die Rolle der Mutter ist wichtig, um den Aufenthalt der Kinder im Krankenhaus zu erleichtern, da sie unter allen Angehörigen in 69% der Fälle der Hauptbegleiter des kranken Kindes über dem Vater ist (20 %) und Großeltern (5%).

Für mit den Schmerzen umgehen, Die Ressourcen von hospitalisierten Kindern sind im Wesentlichen: Ablenkung (einschließlich Schlaf), Bitte um Hilfe und Entspannung. Wenn sie Schmerzen empfinden, glauben 39% der Kinder, dass dies auf ein Symptom ihrer Krankheit zurückzuführen ist 35% interpretieren es als Zeichen der Heilungjedoch verbinden nur 15% beide Konzepte.

Wie wirkt sich der Aufenthalt im Krankenhaus auf die Kinder aus?

Der Krankenhausaufenthalt betrifft Kinder immer emotional, so dass jedes dritte hospitalisierte Kind als "etwas besorgt" betrachtet wird, jedes vierte mit "etwas Angst" oder traurig. jeder achte fühlt sich "etwas wütend".


Aber im Allgemeinen Die Kleinen fühlen sich während ihres Aufenthaltes emotional wohl Sie sagen, dass sie sich im Krankenhaus wohl fühlen, weil sie eng und anhänglich sind. Sie leben normalerweise als Passagier im Krankenhaus und schätzen ihren spielerischen und sozialen Teil (Freiwilligenarbeit, Krankenhausunterricht, Aktivitäten, Interaktion mit anderen Kindern ...).

Für hospitalisierte Kinder ist also nicht alles im Krankenhaus schlecht: 94% bestätigen das, was Mehr mag das Krankenhaus die Behandlung erhalten (vor allem für zuvor zugelassene Kinder), Fernsehen (Ersteintritt), Schule und Spiele; Am unbeliebtesten sind die Punktionen und das Essen (insbesondere diejenigen, die regelmäßig behandelt werden).

Isabel Martínez

Interessante Artikel

Der Kauf im Supermarkt, eine Gelegenheit zu lernen

Der Kauf im Supermarkt, eine Gelegenheit zu lernen

Der Moment von mirr zum Supermarkt, um den Kauf zu tätigen Für Familien kann es schwierig sein: Kinder langweilen sich manchmal in Gängen und werden nervös. Was zu tun Die Lösung muss nicht zufällig...

Wie man Muttermilch extrahiert und konserviert

Wie man Muttermilch extrahiert und konserviert

Es gibt verschiedene Gründe, aus denen eine Mutter einen Antrag stellen kann Nehmen Sie Ihre eigene Milch, um sie Ihrem Baby durch die Flasche zu geben. Diese Entscheidung, ob von erstmaligen Müttern...