Childhood orthodontics: when and how to correct the alignment of the teeth

On many occasions, the parents or the general dentist may feel that the child is going to need "dental device" when observing that the teeth are coming out crooked or crowded due to lack of space. But other times, the "suspicions" are not so obvious. It is the case of wrong bites They also need a corrective treatment. After six years, it is advisable to have a good dental check-up with a dentist specialist in orthodontics.

The Orthopedic treatment (placement of the bones of the mouth) and of Orthodontics (placement of teeth) is not just an aesthetic problem: "My son has crooked teeth, how ugly he is. We're going to put it on. "No parent can predict this diagnosis, because whoever is handsome or not is not the main reason to put on a dental appliance.


A perfectly aligned dentition, a good condition of the parts and some jaws correctly placed in their cranial structure, prevent many health problems. "The mouth is a means of transmitting many diseases and not taking care of it can lead to pathologies in other devices (respiratory, circulatory, etc.)," ​​says Dr. Natalia Solo de Zaldivar, a dentist and orthodontist.

Oral health: first visits to the orthodontist

The first visits with the oral health specialist should be carried out after 4 years and continue with the reviews approximately every six months or once a year. In these appointments, the state of the teeth (caries, enamel defects, etc.) and surrounding tissues (mucosa, gums, braces, etc.) will be evaluated. In addition, the child or patient will be taught the correct brushing technique.


It is this specialist who, as a general rule, will alert us to a possible defect of the denture or bite and will advise us to go to the orthodontist to determine if the child needs the so-called "dental device" or not. Orthodontics means in Greek "straight teeth".

When and at what age do you have to put braces or dental appliances?

There are some initial suspicions that may indicate that the child should be seen by an orthodontist: exit of a definitive tooth without having dropped the milk, or because someone "has left twisted", or several permanent teeth are crowded due to lack of space etc. But other times, there are no such obvious evidence: "There are children with teeth perfectly aligned but with an occlusion (bite) incorrect.This dysfunction must be corrected," says this specialist.

After a detailed study, carried out by the orthodontist (clinical history, x-rays, models), the specialist determines whether the child needs orthopedic or orthodontic treatment. It is not only the teeth that are placed, but also the jaws (upper and lower), that is, the bones where the denture is implanted. Do not forget that the mouth is part of the cranial structure. If a patient has their jaws misplaced with respect to their cranial structure, they must be put in place with a dental appliance. The correct placement of the bones of the mouth also prevents many diseases.


The device can be set from which the child start changing pieces (6 years) but in general, it is not convenient before 8 years, when the upper and lower incisors have already left. "We must keep in mind the dental replacement, that is, when the milk teeth fall and the definitive ones erupt." After six years, it is convenient to monitor the bite (if the final teeth have room to leave and position) because there are children They come late and the adjustment of the jaws and teeth becomes more complicated, "says Dr. Natalia Solo de Zaldivar.

Jaime Márquez
Advice: Dr. Natalia Solo from Zaldivar, medical dentist, orthodontic specialist.

Video: Correct Under Bites - No Surgery, No Braces


Interesting Articles

One in five mothers give birth through cesarean

One in five mothers give birth through cesarean

Childbirth is a complicated process. While being in the hands of a team of professionals avoids many problems. However, all these undesirable situations can not always be avoided and an unforeseen...

Tips for maintaining good eating habits in summer

Tips for maintaining good eating habits in summer

Summer vacations arrive, rest time and in which responsibilities are relaxed. Not only in the educational field or in the work of the home, the feeding It is also out of control in the presence of...

Orange tourism: beyond the cultural journey

Orange tourism: beyond the cultural journey

The tourist looks for new ways to travel, adapt and experiment. Within this new line of search for new experiences in travel, which pretend to be and be, rather than visiting, the new orange tourism,...

Scale models for children: scale model

Scale models for children: scale model

In the market there are models for all tastes and hobbies: from boats, airplanes, dollhouses, buildings, trains, etc. It is an activity in which you can participate the whole family and that will...

Kieferorthopädie im Kindesalter: wann und wie die Ausrichtung der Zähne zu korrigieren ist

In vielen Fällen haben die Eltern oder der allgemeine Zahnarzt das Gefühl, dass das Kind dies tun wird "zahnärztliches Gerät" brauchen bei der Beobachtung, dass die Zähne aus Platzmangel krumm oder voll werden. In anderen Fällen sind die "Verdächtigungen" jedoch nicht so offensichtlich. Es ist der Fall von falsche Bisse Sie benötigen auch eine Korrekturbehandlung. Nach sechs Jahren ist es ratsam, eine gute zahnärztliche Untersuchung bei einem Zahnarzt durchzuführen, der sich auf Kieferorthopädie spezialisiert hat.

Die Orthopädische Behandlung (Platzierung der Mundknochen) und von Kieferorthopädie (Platzierung von Zähnen) ist nicht nur ein ästhetisches Problem: "Mein Sohn hat krumme Zähne, wie hässlich er ist. Wir werden es anziehen. "Kein Elternteil kann diese Diagnose vorhersagen, denn wer gut aussehend ist oder nicht, ist nicht der Hauptgrund, ein zahnärztliches Gerät aufzusetzen.


Ein perfekt ausgerichtetes Gebiss, ein guter Zustand der Teile und einige Kiefer, die korrekt in ihrer Schädelstruktur platziert sind, verhindern viele gesundheitliche Probleme. "Der Mund ist ein Mittel, um viele Krankheiten zu übertragen, und wenn man sich nicht darum kümmert, kann dies zu Pathologien bei anderen Geräten (Atemweg, Kreislauf usw.) führen", sagt Dr. Natalia Solo de Zaldivar, Zahnärztin und Kieferorthopäde.

Mundgesundheit: erste Besuche beim Kieferorthopäden

Die ersten Besuche beim Mundgesundheitsspezialisten sollten nach 4 Jahren durchgeführt werden und die Überprüfungen ungefähr alle sechs Monate oder einmal jährlich fortsetzen. Bei diesen Terminen wird der Zustand der Zähne (Karies, Schmelzdefekte usw.) und des umgebenden Gewebes (Schleimhaut, Zahnfleisch, Zahnspangen usw.) bewertet. Zusätzlich wird dem Kind oder Patienten die richtige Putztechnik beigebracht.


Es ist dieser Spezialist, der uns in der Regel auf einen möglichen Defekt der Prothese oder des Bisses aufmerksam macht und uns rät, zum Kieferorthopäden zu gehen, um festzustellen, ob das Kind das sogenannte "Dentalgerät" benötigt oder nicht. Kieferorthopädie bedeutet im Griechischen "gerade Zähne".

Wann und in welchem ​​Alter müssen Zahnspangen oder zahnärztliche Instrumente eingesetzt werden?

Es gibt einige Anfangsverdachtungen, die darauf hindeuten, dass das Kind von einem Kieferorthopäden gesehen werden sollte: Ausgang eines endgültigen Zahns, ohne die Milch fallen zu lassen, oder weil jemand "verdreht geblieben" ist oder weil mehrere bleibende Zähne mangels Zahn überfüllt sind Raum etc. Aber zu anderen Zeiten gibt es keine offensichtlichen Beweise: "Es gibt Kinder mit perfekt ausgerichteten Zähnen, aber mit einer falschen Okklusion (Biss). Diese Funktionsstörung muss korrigiert werden", sagt der Spezialist.

Nach einer ausführlichen vom Kieferorthopäden durchgeführten Studie (Anamnese, Röntgenbilder, Modelle) entscheidet der Facharzt, ob das Kind eine orthopädische oder kieferorthopädische Behandlung benötigt. Es werden nicht nur die Zähne platziert, sondern auch die Kiefer (oben und unten), dh die Knochen, in die die Prothese implantiert wird. Vergessen Sie nicht, dass der Mund Teil der Schädelstruktur ist. Wenn der Kiefer eines Patienten in Bezug auf seine Schädelstruktur falsch platziert ist, muss er mit einem zahnärztlichen Gerät eingesetzt werden. Die korrekte Platzierung der Mundknochen verhindert auch viele Krankheiten.


Das Gerät kann eingestellt werden von welchem Kind fängt an, Stücke zu ändern (6 Jahre) Im Allgemeinen ist es jedoch vor 8 Jahren nicht günstig, wenn die oberen und unteren Schneidezähne bereits verlassen wurden. „Wir müssen den Zahnersatz berücksichtigen, das heißt, wenn die Milchzähne fallen und die endgültigen ausbrechen.“ Nach sechs Jahren ist es ratsam, den Biss zu überwachen (wenn die endgültigen Zähne Platz haben), weil Kinder vorhanden sind Sie kommen zu spät und die Anpassung der Kiefer und Zähne wird komplizierter ", sagt Dr. Natalia Solo de Zaldivar.

Jaime Márquez
Hinweis: Dr. Natalia Solo aus Zaldivar, Zahnarzt, Kieferorthopäde.

Video: GERADE ZÄHNE OHNE ZAHNSPANGE | Meine Erfahrung damit.


Interessante Artikel

Fünf günstige Babybadewannen, ideal zum Kaufen

Fünf günstige Babybadewannen, ideal zum Kaufen

Das Baby kommt an und plötzlich merkt man die Menge neue Objekte, die Sie zu Hause benötigen: die Wiege, der Wickeltisch, der Kinderwagen und natürlich die Badewanne für das Badritual. Wissen Sie...

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar

Der psychologische Missbrauch im Paar Es ist eine Art von Gewalt mit sehr ernsten und gefährlichen Folgen, die normalerweise selbst für die Missbrauchten, die sich schuldig fühlen, entwertet usw....

9 Schlüssel, um den Schlaf des Babys zu verbessern

9 Schlüssel, um den Schlaf des Babys zu verbessern

Es ist logisch, dass wir, obwohl unser Sohn sehr klein ist, ihn daran gewöhnen wollen, während der Ruhezeiten ruhig zu bleiben. Es ist anstrengend, die Nächte wach zu verbringen, daher kommt es zu...