Polio cases have been reduced by 99% in 15 years

Universal vaccination has significantly reduced the incidence of many diseases. One of them is poliomyelitis, an infectious disease that attacks the nervous system causing paralysis in a few hours, and sometimes, the death of the patient by paralyzing the respiratory muscles. Now, thanks to vaccination, cases of polio have been reduced by 99 percent, from the estimated 350,000 cases in 1988 to the 416 reported in 2013 worldwide.

Europe, free of poliomyelitis

On the occasion of the celebration of the World Day of the fight against Poliomyelitis, on October 24, the World Health Organization (WHO), recalls that one out of every 200 poliomyelitis infections produces irreversible paralysis, mostly of the legs , and 5% -10% of these cases die due to paralysis of the respiratory muscles.


Currently, thanks to the vaccination campaigns against polio, we can speak of a polio-free Europe since 2002, as well as control of the disease in the most developed countries.

In Spain polio has been controlled since 1904. The last case of polio dates from 1988 and was caused by a wild poliovirus. In 2005, a case of polio produced by a poliovirus that derived from the oral vaccine of a Moroccan child in his country was detected. The child suffered from a severe immunodeficiency and developed a paralytic condition.

As for the vaccine, the combined injectable vaccine is currently administered in Spain. It is present in the official vaccination calendar of all the autonomous communities. This vaccine is injected in 4 doses before one and a half years of age. Vaccination coverage covers more than 90% in all the Autonomous Communities since 1966, in 2014 the percentage of primary vaccination coverage was 96.6% and the percentage of reinforcement vaccination coverage of 94.8%.


However, there is also another type of oral polio vaccine that can be administered by anyone, including volunteers.

Poliomyelitis, a disease without a cure that can be eradicated

Although polio is a disease that still has no cure, it can be eradicated thanks to the vaccine, since the virus dies if it does not find an unvaccinated person to infect.

Precisely, it was in 1988 when the WHO launched the Global Initiative for the Eradication of Polio and 5 years later, in 2013, approved the Strategic Plan for the Eradication of Polio. Its objective was that all countries introduce in their vaccination programs a dose of IPV (injectable polio vaccine) that complements the two previous doses of the oral vaccine (OPV). In addition to achieving the reduction of cases worldwide by 99 percent, this year, Nigeria, has added this list of polio-free countries, although WHO has not yet issued an official communication.


In addition, vaccination and efforts to eradicate the disease are accompanied by significant economic savings. According to recent estimates, in the next 20 years it is expected to save at least 30,000 to 50,000 million euros, mainly in low-income countries.

Polio and infection among children

The main symptoms of polio are fever, tiredness, headache, vomiting, stiff neck and pain in the limbs. It especially affects children under 5 years of age and it is easily transmitted as it is transmitted from person to person, via fecal-oral route and sometimes through contaminated water or food, which means that once a child is infected, the The rest of the unvaccinated children run the risk of contracting the virus. Concretely, this is what has happened in Ukraine, a country where WHO has announced the transmission of two children for polio and the threat of an outbreak, since vaccination coverage reaches only 50 percent of children.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: A polio-free world with everyone's commitment


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Polio-Fälle wurden in 15 Jahren um 99% reduziert

Die Universalimpfung hat das Auftreten vieler Krankheiten erheblich reduziert. Eine davon ist die Poliomyelitis, eine Infektionskrankheit, die das Nervensystem in wenigen Stunden angreift und zu Lähmungen und manchmal zum Tod des Patienten durch Lähmung der Atemmuskulatur führt. Dank Impfungen konnte die Zahl der Polio-Fälle jetzt von den geschätzten 350.000 im Jahr 1988 auf die 416 Fälle im Jahr 2013 um 99 Prozent reduziert werden.

Europa, frei von Poliomyelitis

Anlässlich der Feier des Welttages der Bekämpfung der Poliomyelitis am 24. Oktober erinnert die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) daran, dass bei jeder von 200 Poliomyelitis-Infektionen irreversible Lähmungen, hauptsächlich der Beine, auftreten und 5% bis 10% dieser Fälle sterben aufgrund einer Lähmung der Atemmuskulatur.


Dank der Impfkampagnen gegen Kinderlähmung können wir derzeit von einem poliofreien Europa seit 2002 sowie von der Bekämpfung der Krankheit in den am meisten entwickelten Ländern sprechen.

In Spanien wurde Polio seit 1904 kontrolliert. Der letzte Fall von Polio stammt aus dem Jahr 1988 und wurde durch ein wildes Poliovirus verursacht. Im Jahr 2005 wurde ein Fall von Polio entdeckt, der von einem Poliovirus erzeugt wurde, der sich aus der oralen Impfung eines marokkanischen Kindes in seinem Land ableitete. Das Kind litt an einer schweren Immunschwäche und entwickelte einen paralytischen Zustand.

In Bezug auf den Impfstoff wird der kombinierte injizierbare Impfstoff derzeit in Spanien verabreicht. Es ist im offiziellen Impfkalender aller autonomen Gemeinschaften vertreten. Dieser Impfstoff wird vor dem Alter von eineinhalb Jahren in vier Dosen injiziert. Die Impfabdeckung umfasst in allen Autonomen Gemeinschaften seit 1966 mehr als 90%. Im Jahr 2014 betrug der Anteil der Erstimpfungen 96,6% und der Anteil der verstärkten Impffälle 94,8%.


Es gibt jedoch auch eine andere Art von Impfstoff gegen orale Polio, der von jedermann, einschließlich Freiwilligen, verabreicht werden kann.

Poliomyelitis, eine Krankheit ohne Ausheilung, die ausgerottet werden kann

Obwohl Polio eine Krankheit ist, die immer noch nicht geheilt ist, kann sie dank des Impfstoffs ausgerottet werden, da das Virus stirbt, wenn es keinen ungeimpften Menschen findet, der infiziert werden kann.

Genau genommen war es 1988, als die WHO die Globale Initiative zur Tilgung von Polio startete, und fünf Jahre später, 2013, den Strategischen Plan zur Tilgung von Polio verabschiedete. Ziel war es, dass alle Länder in ihre Impfprogramme eine IPV-Dosis (injizierbare Polio-Impfung) einführen, die die beiden vorherigen Dosen der oralen Impfung (OPV) ergänzt. Nigeria hat nicht nur die Anzahl der Fälle weltweit um 99 Prozent reduziert, sondern auch die Liste der poliofreien Länder hinzugefügt, obwohl die WHO noch keine offizielle Mitteilung veröffentlicht hat.


Darüber hinaus gehen Impfungen und Anstrengungen zur Ausrottung der Krankheit mit erheblichen wirtschaftlichen Einsparungen einher. Jüngsten Schätzungen zufolge sollen in den nächsten 20 Jahren vor allem in einkommensschwachen Ländern Einsparungen von mindestens 30.000 bis 50.000 Millionen Euro erzielt werden.

Kinderlähmung und Infektionen

Die Hauptsymptome von Polio sind Fieber, Müdigkeit, Kopfschmerzen, Erbrechen, steifer Nacken und Schmerzen in den Gliedmaßen. Betroffen sind vor allem Kinder unter 5 Jahren, und sie werden leicht übertragen, da sie von Person zu Person über den Stuhlgang und manchmal über kontaminiertes Wasser oder Nahrungsmittel übertragen werden, was bedeutet, dass, sobald ein Kind infiziert ist, die Infektion erfolgt Der Rest der ungeimpften Kinder läuft Gefahr, sich mit dem Virus zu infizieren. Konkret ist dies in der Ukraine geschehen, einem Land, in dem die WHO angekündigt hat, zwei Kinder aus Poliomyelitis zu verbreiten und einen Ausbruch drohen, da die Impfquote nur 50 Prozent der Kinder erreicht.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Top 15 Scariest YouTube Videos [With Links]


Interessante Artikel

Gibst du Spielzeug weg? Emotionen geben

Gibst du Spielzeug weg? Emotionen geben

Wussten Sie das? Gedächtnis gibt emotionalen Erinnerungen Priorität? Das ist richtig, das Gedächtnis ist selektiv und speichert bevorzugt positive Erinnerungen und solche, die uns aus verschiedenen...

Salzarme Diät, wird es immer empfohlen?

Salzarme Diät, wird es immer empfohlen?

Mythen über das Essen gibt es viele. Die Gesellschaft ist mit Gerüchten über die Ernährung überflutet und sie sagen den Menschen, was sie essen sollen und was nicht. Eines der bekanntesten ist die...

Ideen, um die Illusion in der Kindheit auszusäen

Ideen, um die Illusion in der Kindheit auszusäen

Kinder fühlen sich a Illusion natürlich für die Umwelt, die sie umgibt. Aber als Eltern müssen wir genau darauf achten, dass diese Suche nach Glück nicht durch ansteckenden Pessimismus behindert...